6 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

580 of 620 farmer unions are pro-farm bills. Others can block roads with their Mercs. 

You are better than that. How many members does the 580 have compared to the rest?

1 hour ago, Khota said:

You are better than that. How many members does the 580 have compared to the rest?

You want a referendum for every law passed? These reforms were published in every party’s manifesto. Congress AAP wanted the same laws  passed , privatization and even APMCs closed. Now they are sponsoring the protests. Are you blind to that or did not listen to them before elections? 

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

You want a referendum for every law passed? These reforms were published in every party’s manifesto. Congress AAP wanted the same laws  passed , privatization and even APMCs closed. Now they are sponsoring the protests. Are you blind to that or did not listen to them before elections? 

These laws were passed without any input from the farmers. If they want to cut waste start with Air India and go down the list with every PSU. Atleast farmers produce at a global price with total self sufficiency.

Keep an open mind. Not everything is about votes and winning.

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

Moreover these laws were not debated enough. We have the votes and we get to rule. Acting like Pharos.

5 hours ago, Khota said:

These laws were passed without any input from the farmers. If they want to cut waste start with Air India and go down the list with every PSU. Atleast farmers produce at a global price with total self sufficiency.

Keep an open mind. Not everything is about votes and winning.

Input from farmers ? Which farmers ? You want GOI to go to 10 crore farmers and explain the bill which 2 lakh protest against it ? 

Let’s be clear. This reform wasn’t even reform. India’s farming is incredibly backward by any standards. None of these so called reforms were new ideas. They have debated and argued for 30 years. Lack of political will has kept these important decisions in cold storage. 

The question simply is to those protesting. Do you need middlemen by law ? Do you want a free market to sell your produce ? MSP was there before and will be there later. Unfortunately once you creat a welfare state it’s hard to reverse the bad habits. 

if anyone can show me how farmer income will reduce with reforms, I will be happy to take them seriously. 

3 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

Input from farmers ? Which farmers ? You want GOI to go to 10 crore farmers and explain the bill which 2 lakh protest against it ? 

Let’s be clear. This reform wasn’t even reform. India’s farming is incredibly backward by any standards. None of these so called reforms were new ideas. They have debated and argued for 30 years. Lack of political will has kept these important decisions in cold storage. 

The question simply is to those protesting. Do you need middlemen by law ? Do you want a free market to sell your produce ? MSP was there before and will be there later. Unfortunately once you creat a welfare state it’s hard to reverse the bad habits. 

if anyone can show me how farmer income will reduce with reforms, I will be happy to take them seriously. 

Not difficult. MSP is not supported in Bihar and the farmers income is less. MSP provides some stability in the market and protects the poor farmers.

I agree you don't need middleman but they are better than the sharks they are throwing these poor farmers too. Ambani and Adnani do not have the right to run India.

Just remember farming is not a free market anywhere in the world. If they want reform start disbanding PSU and electricity boards. They get pensions and all for lifetime whereas poor farmers get nothing.

4 hours ago, Khota said:

Not difficult. MSP is not supported in Bihar and the farmers income is less. MSP provides some stability in the market and protects the poor farmers.

I agree you don't need middleman but they are better than the sharks they are throwing these poor farmers too. Ambani and Adnani do not have the right to run India.

Just remember farming is not a free market anywhere in the world. If they want reform start disbanding PSU and electricity boards. They get pensions and all for lifetime whereas poor farmers get nothing.

You have not addressed the point. How is farmers income reducing ? MSP is there whether I like it or not. You are right. All countries have MSP or subsidy or some kind. But not all countries have govts procuring, storing in down and waiting for crops to wrought. MSP is not an incentive to produce and dump crops but to support the farmers in case they struggle to sell in free markets. 

On stupid point of Adani and Ambani, lesser said the better. I don’t care who makes farmers and farming more lucrative as long as it’s done. From what I can see, there is nothing about contract farming that restricts it to one or two parties. 

i want a simple answer to simple question. How will farmers income reduce with this farm bill ? 

4 minutes ago, ravishingravi said:

You have not addressed the point. How is farmers income reducing ? MSP is there whether I like it or not. You are right. All countries have MSP or subsidy or some kind. But not all countries have govts procuring, storing in down and waiting for crops to wrought. MSP is not an incentive to produce and dump crops but to support the farmers in case they struggle to sell in free markets. 

On stupid point of Adani and Ambani, lesser said the better. I don’t care who makes farmers and farming more lucrative as long as it’s done. From what I can see, there is nothing about contract farming that restricts it to one or two parties. 

i want a simple answer to simple question. How will farmers income reduce with this farm bill ? 

Because the minimum price is not gauranteed.

Lets be absolutely honest, farming is not lucrative business else people wont be leaving the sector and moving to cities. So no doubt, something needs to be done as current rule is not fit for pirpose. Question is, Will new rules make farming relatively lucrative, I feel may be yes. Problem is safeguarding farmers land, because one thing we must be prepared for, Ambani and Adani may not go after farmers land but there will be some ass hole who will find loopholes to do land grab..

Despite all assurances, I fear those vultures as initial proposal did not factor in vultures.

1 hour ago, ravishingravi said:

Was minimum price guaranteed in previous farm bill ? If so, show me the clause 

It was gauranteed before this. Why dont they put it in writing.

Readiing in between the lines let us make these poor farmers worse off because the current rate of suicide is not bad enough.

3 hours ago, Under_Score said:

Agree, also Trust is another big issue, getting sold out to Ambani & Adani is mutual profit-ship, Modi needs them for election funding which...poor farmers can NEVER or will EVER do.

I don't have time to deal with false justification by Modi supporters on ICF, I respect the opinion of people who are suffering because of corruption in India.

This video is a collection of a common man's opinion about the current situation in India.

Some of them never question what Modi says.

1 hour ago, ravishingravi said:

Was minimum price guaranteed in previous farm bill ? If so, show me the clause 

$30 million for 30 mnt appearance by Beyonce. No one in west also have that kind of money. This is not how the wealth distribution in India should be.

14 minutes ago, Khota said:

$30 million for 30 mnt appearance by Beyonce. No one in west also have that kind of money. This is not how the wealth distribution in India should be.

deflection.

6 hours ago, Khota said:

$30 million, what kind of performance did she give?  Geez!