19 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

3 months after online application?

Worst part is that if you go to centre in Ranchi, they tell you that it will take 1 month to get it updated normally, but can be done in 1 day for 200 rupees. :facepalm:

When I was in Hyderabad, I was able to get it done in 15 mins, no questions asked.

Well that is what you need to do as a good honest citizen. Give all your biometric details so that anyone who is willing to purchase your details can track every single thing you purchased and where you have bank accounts. But updating address? you need to wait 3 months saaar.

On 8/10/2021 at 5:25 PM, Trichromatic said:

I requested for address update for my Aadhar card online 1 month back. Status is still in progress. What should I do?

Can't go to aadhar centre.

Got updated address today. 

Damn, will post my issues on ICF from next time. More than a month, nothing happened. Posted on ICF and resolved within 24 hrs.

10 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

Next question - How do I change language online? Currently it's English + Telugu combination. Want it in Hindi and English.

It could be a state thingy by default , I have mine in Kannada, never requested it

3 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

It could be a state thingy by default , I have mine in Kannada, never requested it

I had it in Hindi-English. When I went to adhaar centre in hyderabad to update my phone number, they changed it to telugu-english online and I didn't notice it. 

Btw, are you in India? You seem to be online all the time.

10 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

I had it in Hindi-English. When I went to adhaar centre in hyderabad to update my phone number, they changed it to telugu-english online and I didn't notice it. 

Btw, are you in India? You seem to be online all the time.

No, want to be.

logged in, so it shows online. 

10 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

“rich” to qualify for BPL ration cards (Below Poverty line) 

what about people who get 2-3 lakhs per annum. are they BPL or are they "rich"

On 8/11/2021 at 10:09 PM, Real McCoy said:

Do people who earn more than 1 lakh per annum qualify as "rich"

You dont file IT returns if you're earning 1 lakh..2.5 lakhs is minimum limit to file IT returns.

12 hours ago, urbestfriend said:

You dont file IT returns if you're earning 1 lakh..2.5 lakhs is minimum limit to file IT returns.

are you saying these people should not get ration cards.

2 hours ago, Real McCoy said:

are you saying these people should not get ration cards.

In karnataka, there are two ration cards..One for APL ( above poverty line) which any one can have and second one is BPL ( below poverty line). BPL cards will fetch you free rice/wheat, and some other benifits which is meant for those whose income is less than 2 lakhs per annum or something..

6 hours ago, urbestfriend said:

In karnataka, there are two ration cards..One for APL ( above poverty line) which any one can have and second one is BPL ( below poverty line). BPL cards will fetch you free rice/wheat, and some other benifits which is meant for those whose income is less than 2 lakhs per annum or something..

I thought that was the case all over India. That is how PDS would work , by giving ration to people either at a subsidized price or free for the really poor people.

6 hours ago, urbestfriend said:

2L per annum is nothing. Its less than 20k/month. Would do jack squat for a family of four. The last time I heard about this, it was 1L per annum. Maybe it differs from state to state or they hiked it from 1L to 2L. Also I keep hearing about some cards being issued for BPL. Another case of intrusion into what people buy in ration cards. We are not that far behind China where people are rationed according to social points. If you question govt, no rice for you!

18 hours ago, Real McCoy said:

2L per annum is nothing. Its less than 20k/month. Would do jack squat for a family of four. The last time I heard about this, it was 1L per annum. Maybe it differs from state to state or they hiked it from 1L to 2L. Also I keep hearing about some cards being issued for BPL. Another case of intrusion into what people buy in ration cards. We are not that far behind China where people are rationed according to social points. If you question govt, no rice for you!

5k per month for 1 person would do jack squat in villages and towns? 

47 minutes ago, Trichromatic said:

5k per month for 1 person would do jack squat in villages and towns? 

we are talking cities here. even if villages and towns are considered, there is a push towards increased city living as opposed to having farms in villages. Large scale farming is what the govt is trying to do (if you follow the farmer protests). So if that happens, cities are going to be crowded. Moreover, prices are on the up. The BPL cards don't account for that neither do the taxation.

On 10/6/2021 at 3:04 PM, Real McCoy said:

we are talking cities here. even if villages and towns are considered, there is a push towards increased city living as opposed to having farms in villages. Large scale farming is what the govt is trying to do (if you follow the farmer protests). So if that happens, cities are going to be crowded. Moreover, prices are on the up. The BPL cards don't account for that neither do the taxation.

:lol: No agricultural income is taxed, so they dont have to file the IT returns. My relative earns more than 1 crore per year, yet he doesnt pay tax as thats from agri income.

Less than 5% people file IT returns..If thats not considered a threshold, govt could as well abolish the threshold and give free rice to everyone including Ambani and Adani.

5 hours ago, urbestfriend said:

:lol: No agricultural income is taxed, so they dont have to file the IT returns. My relative earns more than 1 crore per year, yet he doesnt pay tax as thats from agri income.

Less than 5% people file IT returns..If thats not considered a threshold, govt could as well abolish the threshold and give free rice to everyone including Ambani and Adani.

I have relatives who own small/medium businesses and they mainly operate in cash transactions. They hide income and don’t pay taxes, earning in crores. I hear only salaried people and some ethical businessmen pay taxes