Adamant Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 Also aren't you people amongst the same crew who say that bilateral cricket has lost it's reputation, so basically odis and t20s carry no weight except for world cup and you want us to still give them the same importance as a test series whose results are remembered for decades. We won t2p series and test series in aus, which one carries more significance? Lol
Jay Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 13 minutes ago, Adamant said: I just consider Tests and Odis as two different types of courses /subjects, Tests are like Theoretical Physics while lois can be considered as software engineering, while the physicist can't really do the job of a software engineer, we definitely know who is the more smarter and successful individual. Theoretical physicists don't make much money lol. Engineers especially project engineers in mining and oil companies make big bucks.
Adamant Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 15 minutes ago, Jay said: Theoretical physicists don't make much money lol. Engineers especially project engineers in mining and oil companies make big bucks. Exactly! That's why my comparison is totally apt, a specialist limited overs player makes way more than a specialist test player.
Jay Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 8 minutes ago, Adamant said: Exactly! That's why my comparison is totally apt, a specialist limited overs player makes way more than a specialist test player. Ah ok. Thought your analogy labelled specialist test player as the physicist. My bad.
rollingstoned Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 (edited) most of these white ball stars are groomed in 3-4 day red ball first class cricket which lays their foundations from where they may decide what kind of players they want to be. I agree that the skill needed for both formats are different but 1. It is pretty hard for a weaker team to get a freak win against a stronger team in a test match. of course flip side is that this is the worst format for a game to be played between 2 unevenly matched teams. 2. the satisfaction from the payoff of investing the best part of 5 days following a test match - or series- and it's recall value is much greater. since bilaterals have become meaningless after the advent of t20 cricket i would struggle to remember most white ball games we play unless something really memorable happened in it. Edited October 10, 2021 by rollingstoned
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 Every format needs different kind of skills, yes test is ultimate but that doesnt mean u disrespect skill set of other formats
New guy Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 6 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: 1) Technique, Temperament, Patience, Character = Test cricket 2) Temperament to break down a run chase targeting specific bowlers, skill to slog successfully at will, skill to steal a game with quick singles and twos, skills to play scoop shot, switch hit ..etc = LOI cricket ( ODIS + T20 ) If 1 is more valuable than 2 ( I wonder what is the basis of this judgement by cricket old-timers and aficionados ) ........then the likes of VVS, Steve Waugh, Justin Langer..perhaps Dravid...all great Test batsmen should have been smash hits on LOI cricket. But they were ok to mediocre. .. The reality is that the brute batting skills/talent required for LOI are significantly more than Test cricket. Tell me one ODI series which you consider better than tests and still watched in last decade. Also all the so called test experrts you named were good to decent LOI bat, but there are rarely ever any specialist LOI bat who excelled at tests without having technique. if dravid, vvs, waugh etc were born in t20 era they were likely to be more attacking Your examples actually disprove your point
Adamant Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 2 hours ago, Jay said: Ah ok. Thought your analogy labelled specialist test player as the physicist. My bad. Arreeh Yes my theory compared specialist test players with physicists Dunno why you aren't getting it.
rangeelaraja Posted October 10, 2021 Author Posted October 10, 2021 Excellent LOI stroke players with "decent" technique can take Test cricket by storm. In recent times - Pant, Sehwag, Warner All of above neither have notable patience , nor great technique. In fact one can argue that Sehwag and Warner have had better Test careers than LOI careers despite being extremely attacking stroke players. How many 5 day specialists have we EVER seen that have started playing LOI cricket and taken it by storm ?? Under_Score 1
ash Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 I have played 50 over and 3 day test matches at a district level as a batsman. IMO, Test was easier for me. It was just like following a blueprint. I used to Leave balls outside off, play with a straight bat if the ball is hitting the stumps and glance it if it misses the legstump. Basically I knew how to NOT get out. At that level, bowlers tire soon so eventually you get filthy full tosses and short ones to put away. Obviously I couldn't do the same in ODIs. I had to manufacture shots. Sometimes I knew that a particular shot was not the ideal one for the ball bowled, but I had to play it cause the Ideal shot won't get me runs.
rangeelaraja Posted October 10, 2021 Author Posted October 10, 2021 6 hours ago, Adamant said: @rangeelaraja @Chakdephatte That's a very biased way of looking into it, Why didn't you list out all the loi players who failed spectacularly in test cricket. If the skills and talent required in lois are significantly more than why didn't they manage to succeed in tests. And I am quite sure the number of loi specialists are definitely more than number of test specialists. how many 5 day batsmen transitioned to LOIs and became huge hits ? ZERO. The likes of Sehwag, Warner and Pant started of as LOI specialists and became super successful in Tests. Under_Score 1
rangeelaraja Posted October 10, 2021 Author Posted October 10, 2021 2 hours ago, New guy said: Tell me one ODI series which you consider better than tests and still watched in last decade. Also all the so called test experrts you named were good to decent LOI bat, but there are rarely ever any specialist LOI bat who excelled at tests without having technique. if dravid, vvs, waugh etc were born in t20 era they were likely to be more attacking Your examples actually disprove your point This is not about what format is better to watch or more exciting. It is about the so called “superior” skills required to succeed in Test cricket. Under_Score 1
Adamant Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 1 hour ago, rangeelaraja said: how many 5 day batsmen transitioned to LOIs and became huge hits ? ZERO. The likes of Sehwag, Warner and Pant started of as LOI specialists and became super successful in Tests. How are you calling Sehwag and Pant as LOI specialists? Did they not play first class matches or something? Lol Pant started his international career with test cricket.
rangeelaraja Posted October 10, 2021 Author Posted October 10, 2021 (edited) 2 hours ago, Adamant said: How are you calling Sehwag and Pant as LOI specialists? Sehwag was not even considered close to being international test match player for a long time. He was drafted as a lower order finisher in ODI because of his style of play. Ganguly and Wright pushed him to be opener in ODIS and then with his success there tried him out as an opener in TESTS where he played with the same approach and the results show. Ditto with Warner who was considered a LOI specialist inspite playing being a first class cricketer for NSW. https://wisden.com/stories/news-stories/triple-centurion-warner-recalls-sehwags-advice-on-test-cricket Quote “When I got the opportunity to play for Delhi in the IPL and I met Virender (Sehwag) there, he sat me down,” Warner recalled. “He said I will be a better Test player than Twenty20 player. And I said to him ‘you’re out of your mind’.” When Warner did make his debut in Tests, two years after his maiden international appearance in 2009, he scored a hundred in only his second game against New Zealand and soon established himself in the format. He has accumulated 6,947 runs at an impressive average of 48.58. Edited October 10, 2021 by rangeelaraja Under_Score 1
Adamant Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 35 minutes ago, rangeelaraja said: Sehwag was not even considered close to being international test match player for a long time. He was drafted as a lower order finisher in ODI because of his style of play. Ganguly and Wright pushed him to be opener in ODIS and then with his success there tried him out as an opener in TESTS where he played with the same approach and the results show. Ditto with Warner who was considered a LOI specialist inspite playing being a first class cricketer for NSW. https://wisden.com/stories/news-stories/triple-centurion-warner-recalls-sehwags-advice-on-test-cricket Looks like you started watching cricket yesterday. Haha, again that's what happens when you pick up bits and pieces from website instead of actually having proper knowledge. Sehwag debuted in odis in 1999 but failed and then the next chance he got was after 2 years. Lol He wasn't even settled as an odi player. On the other hand he was scoring handsomely in first class cricket. How can you even say that he was cut out to be LOI specialist just bcoz his technique wasn't tight enough, actually you need to revisit history coz when Sehwag came in there were lot of comparisons with Sachin Tendulkar, plz read and gather correct info before lecturing me. Also Did I even question you about David Warner ( which is the only actual link you have posted here)?No I didn't, Bcoz i know he is the apt example of a loi specialist converting to a good test bat Where's your explanation for Pant? Didn't he make a debut as a test cricketer. So you just added his name to increase the numbers on your list? 2017 ke baad se cricket dekhna band kar diya kya.?
Adamant Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 2 hours ago, Adamant said: How are you calling Sehwag and Pant as LOI specialists? Did they not play first class matches or something? Lol Pant started his international career with test cricket. @rangeelarajaread this again and tell me where did I even mention Warner? Just bcoz he is the only one amongst the three you named who actually belongs in the "loi to test conversion" category does not mean that you shove his example down my throat even though I never denied that.
rangeelaraja Posted October 10, 2021 Author Posted October 10, 2021 2 minutes ago, Adamant said: Haha, again that's what happens when you pick up bits and pieces from website instead of actually having proper knowledge. Sehwag debuted in odis in 1999 but failed and then the next chance he got was after 2 years. Lol He wasn't even settled as an odi player. On the other hand he was scoring handsomely in first class cricket. How can you even say that he was cut out to be LOI specialist just bcoz his technique wasn't tight enough, actually you need to revisit history coz when Sehwag came in there were lot of comparisons with Sachin Tendulkar, plz read and gather correct info before lecturing me. Also Did I even question you about David Warner ( which is the only actual link you have posted here)?No I didn't, Bcoz i know he is the apt example of a loi specialist converting to a good test bat Where's your explanation for Pant? Didn't he make a debut as a test cricketer. So you just added his name to increase the numbers on your list? 2017 ke baad se cricket dekhna band kar diya kya.? Lagta hai tune 2 din pehle cricket dekhna shuru kiya . Thoda aur dekh aur wapis aa I don't owe you any explanation when you lack intellectual honesty and common sense. How many test specialists have successfully transitioned into modern ODI/T20 cricket again ??? Under_Score 1
rangeelaraja Posted October 10, 2021 Author Posted October 10, 2021 (edited) Pant's case only proves all this BS about "patience, technique" etc. etc....required to succeed in tests is pure BS -which is what I have said in the OP. Pant's technique is average, he has succeeded in the longer format because of his attacking game and decent defense. Edited October 10, 2021 by rangeelaraja Under_Score 1
Adamant Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 1 minute ago, rangeelaraja said: Lagta hai tune 2 din pehle cricket dekhna shuru kiya . Thoda aur dekh aur wapis aa I don't owe you any explanation when you lack intellectual honesty and common sense. How many test specialists have successfully transitioned into modern ODI/T20 cricket again ??? Out of the three you listed only one actually transformed from odi to tests player, that explains a lot about your intellectual honesty. David Warner ka example hi ghumate raho har jagah bas.
Adamant Posted October 10, 2021 Posted October 10, 2021 Lol players before Pant also had attacking game and they to succeeded, it's not the first time someone with a faulty technique is succeeding in test cricket.