India's current batting stops at 7

vvvslaxman

Just now, Khota said:

Solutions come with identifying the problem. It was bowling yesterday not batting.

It was batting also 

Pant vs nawaz innings was a big a difference 

We had a great start but middle order didnt capitalise. 

Hooda kohli had 5 overs left but no one after them so they had to be calculative with risk. 

1 minute ago, jalebi_bhai said:

If we want left-right combo plus batting depth, this is the only way I see it possible.

Rohit

KL

Kohli

Pant

SKY

Hardik

Axar/Jaddu

Harshal

Bhuvi

Bishnoi/Chahal

Bumrah

Six proper bowling options, two lefties in the top 7. If Kishan wasn't as hackish as he is atm, would've opened with him. DK will miss out unless you want Rohit-Kohli opening.

I really rate Arshdeep's death bowling but he is a bunny with the bat. So Harshal it is. 

Yea this might be the end thing but i have seen some number which is convincing me that DK will make it ahead of pant specially knowing how dravid works a lot on numbers 

2 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Yea this might be the end thing but i have seen some number which is convincing me that DK will make it ahead of pant specially knowing how dravid works a lot on numbers 

On current form, it will be the right choice. Will have to trust SKY, Hardik and Axar with job of tackling spinners. Most teams will have specialist leggie plus off-spinning all-rounders so hope those 3 get the job done.

After WC, Kohli and Rohit will hopefully be done with t20I and we can accommodate others.

8 minutes ago, Khota said:

What I am saying is top 7 should be able to do the job. Problem was when part time Pandya leaked runs in his first over.

Once again game was lost by bowling not batting. And Rohit is just not physically fit either.

Bowling was bad. But seeing the recent matches chasing got a lot easier.   Even Afghanistan bowling could not defend a total of 180 odd. So when you get an opportunity to put the match beyond opposition's reach you should do it.  Because It was an absolute belter. From the first ball all commies were unanimously saying this. You just have to hit through the line. No turn on offer, no pace, bouncers were sitting up. Ball hardly moved. Boundaries were short on one side. To compound matter there was a bit of dew. 

9 hours ago, Need4Speed said:

I read Ravi Shastri said somewhere..ki aisa kaise hai ki keeda nhi hai..context was why our current batsmen cant bowl..domestic setup need to be passed a message what are we looking for future..and what will be rewarded..unless you have extra ordinary skill you cant survive on one skill only..

I understand its easier said than done..they have to plan for what happens in few years..

Mindset need to change…from the ground up...in selections..in grooming..in fielding..in secondary skills..in attitude..in fielding.etc etc...and also fans have to keep low expectations during this timeframe..and trust the transition..dont know how they will fo it..

make a commitee for these sweeping changes..make a curicullum etc..but needs to be done..

we dont need f…g toss or luck to win..we need to dominate in any conditions..

in short..nothing sort of a revolution..may be I am dreaming.lol..

ravi shastri abhi kuch bhi bolega, he was in squad shud have forced them too 

23 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

It was batting also 

Pant vs nawaz innings was a big a difference 

We had a great start but middle order didnt capitalise. 

Hooda kohli had 5 overs left but no one after them so they had to be calculative with risk. 

Around 180 can and should be defended against Pakistan, not so much against Aus/Eng.

22 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

More garbage of all rounders don't exist .

More crap of you not understanding sports.

14 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Bowling was bad. But seeing the recent matches chasing got a lot easier.   Even Afghanistan bowling could not defend a total of 180 odd. So when you get an opportunity to put the match beyond opposition's reach you should do it.  Because It was an absolute belter. From the first ball all commies were unanimously saying this. You just have to hit through the line. No turn on offer, no pace, bouncers were sitting up. Ball hardly moved. Boundaries were short on one side. To compound matter there was a bit of dew. 

Indian bowling >>> Afghanistan. Ideally you are correct that they should have capitalized on initial advantage, but bowling should have come through too.

3 minutes ago, Khota said:

Around 180 can and should be defended against Pakistan, not so much against Aus/Eng.

Pakistan is not a weak side anymore specially in uae. And lets not forget out 180  20 runs were pure gift by their bowlers n fielders . 

37 minutes ago, AuxiliA said:

Chahal has to go. Can't bat or field to save his life. I hate body shaming. But in professional international cricket we can't have a malnourished twig like him. 

Other teams have poor tailenders too but they are still capable of hitting a few boundaries if they connect. With Chahal there's absolutely ZERO chance. 

Chahal probably weights lesser than cricket bat.

8 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Pakistan is not a weak side anymore specially in uae. And lets not forget out 180  20 runs were pure gift by their bowlers n fielders . 

Gifts, misfields, dropped catches are all part of the game. 20 were excessive though.

4 minutes ago, Khota said:

Gifts, misfields, dropped catches are all part of the game. 20 were excessive though.

Yes they are but in end we must understand we wont have scored that much also so it was internal understanding specially for eng-nz-aus wont give u such free runs 

13 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

Alright,ask those who understand if they exist or not.

If they think they exist, they do not understand the game.

18 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Yes they are but in end we must understand we wont have scored that much also so it was internal understanding specially for eng-nz-aus wont give u such free runs 

Yes but this was Pakistan.

29 minutes ago, Number said:

Chahal probably weights lesser than cricket bat.

Would you rather have Chahal or overweight Ashwin or Rohit?

Chahal needs muscle mass but he has no body fat. Ashwin and Rohit are unfit.

As I said after WT20 exit, we have lot of holes which our bilateral performances hide

1. No wicket taking new ball bowler

2. No power hitter/clean hitter at 7

3. Not enough lefties to take on SLA/Leggies

4. No powerplay basher batsman

5. No genuine bowler who can bat at 8-10

17 minutes ago, Khota said:

Would you rather have Chahal or overweight Ashwin or Rohit?

Chahal needs muscle mass but he has no body fat. Ashwin and Rohit are unfit.

Whoever performs. That was just tounge in cheek but Chahal is a joker with bat and in the field.

9 hours ago, Lord said:

As I said after WT20 exit, we have lot of holes which our bilateral performances hide

1. No wicket taking new ball bowler

Bhuvi and chahar is , we found siraj he lost form . Powerplay is least of our problem once whole bowling is fit ull see 

These are good enough option

9 hours ago, Lord said:

2. No power hitter/clean hitter at 7

We have DK-pandya , problem is people wnt runs every game 

9 hours ago, Lord said:

3. Not enough lefties to take on SLA/Leggies

Lefties are a massive problem 

9 hours ago, Lord said:

4. No powerplay basher batsman

Rohit has shown intent...post his captaincy his s/r have been well above 150 

9 hours ago, Lord said:

5. No genuine bowler who can bat at 8-10

kind of agree 

1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Bhuvi and chahar is , we found siraj he lost form . Powerplay is least of our problem once whole bowling is fit ull see 

These are good enough option

Chahar can do it on his day but wont start.

Bhuvi and Bumrah are containing batsmen who get wickets due to dot balls. Not someone who can run through top order.

Shami/Siraj can do it in theory but both very unreliable.

We have DK-pandya , problem is people wnt runs every game 

DK is good for cameos only that too through timing and placement. Pandya can hit but still not enough.

I'm talking brutal hitters like Russell/Livingstone etc whose mishit also go for sixes. Last such guy we had was Yusuf Pathan. Dhoni had power but too different approach

Lefties is a massive problem 

Rohit has shown intent...post his captaincy his s/r have been well above 150 

I'd rather have someone  else do it tbh. Someone whose wicket we can afford to lose early.

Rohit is captain now so early dismissal hurts. Maybe if Rahul can wake up coz he has all the ability. Or Pant/SKY

kind of agree