Is gym really needed for bowling fast?

MechEng

@MechEng

Muscle training can have three outcomes strength endurance and hypertrophy. Cricketers and track and field athletes focus on first two. Hypertrophy is normally not essential or one of the probable outcomes for normal training regimes for athletes esp cricketers. I am not sure if you know what you are talking about. Gym is essential for doing strength and endurance training.  Akthar does not show much hypertrophy but he did not look functionally fit enough so no wonder he had injuries, someone like Umesh yadav or Lee has optimum endurance and strength in their primes its no wonder they were largely fit during their playing prime. 

23 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Conversely guys like Shane watson who looks like a beast rarely touches those high speeds. 

Then there is shivam dube

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSXaw6455xQaIEJs_uuE5k

Hypertrophy how would he keep those muscles hydrated, oxygenate during play and recover. He will have performance problems in any endurance sport but do well in strength sports.

Just now, coffee_rules said:

Two curd-rice eating fast bowlers from Karnataka

Javagal-Srinath.jpg

e803c-16620890114665-1920.jpg

I was about to talk about Srinath. between Srinath and Venky pRasad,  Venky always looked bigger with better physique. You would think he can bowl faster than him. But Srinath was way faster due to the way he uncocks his wrist and releases.  Speed is generated with your arm action, momentum.  Real place where  you get some muscle assistance is when you bowl effort ball by banging it in.

Moshin khan is  classic example

https://www.iplt20.com/video/44175/mohsin-khans-game-changing-416?tagNames=2022

5 minutes ago, MultiB48 said:

All these guys did gym work,you should read their autobiography.The wi were the first team to have a full time trainer back during the packer series, Lillie also pioneered fitness and weight training in pace bowling,but no one adds muscle mass like a bodybuilder .

Aussies in generaly have three categories. One cateogry supremely fit and athletic, Another category fat with big beer  belly and handlebar moustache to go with it (Boon, Merv Hughes).  Tall  Stick like figure.  ( Bruce Reid, Mcgrath,  Beherendoff). 

6 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

Two curd-rice eating fast bowlers from Karnataka

Javagal-Srinath.jpg

e803c-16620890114665-1920.jpg

What is your point ? You don't need endurance training or strength and conditioning for bowling fast just because they are vegetarian ? There are lots of protein sources that are vegetarian. In fact the best one like whey casein and spirulina are vegetarian then comes chicken and then beef in that order. 

4 minutes ago, Vilander said:

What is your point ? You don't need endurance training or strength and conditioning for bowling fast just because they are vegetarian ? There are lots of protein sources that are vegetarian. In fact the best one like whey casein and spirulina are vegetarian then comes chicken and then beef in that order. 

As indicated by others, you need to be agile and have techniques to bowl fast. It doesn’t come from hitting the gym. We are saying the same things. 

7 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

As indicated by others, you need to be agile and have techniques to bowl fast. It doesn’t come from hitting the gym. We are saying the same things. 

Point is you stay uninjured if you stay for with proper training. Else you won't be able to execute on the skill. 

6 hours ago, MultiB48 said:

You are midget aren't you ,did you get bullied today hehe.

Yes Indians are not as blessed physically as some of the other races but not everyone is genetic trash like you.

Good,good this pleases me 

Revenge Of The Sith Evil Laugh GIF by Star Wars

2 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

What do you have against little people ?

Peter-Dinklage-publicity-shot-2012.jpg

The man's voice alone is bigger than most other men, he is a great big man. 

Midget is this

Jay-Shah-Becomes-Butt-Of-Jokes-While-Mak

7 hours ago, MultiB48 said:

You are midget aren't you ,did you get bullied today hehe.

Yes Indians are not as blessed physically as some of the other races but not everyone is genetic trash like you.

Kya hua? South Africa aur England se thappad kha ke kaisa laga aapko?

That patlu Marco Jansen outbowled all of our deadlifters in the previous series, I bet even Praveen Kumar can beat him in arm wrestling.

Jaao jaao body banao gym mein, aur baad mein phainty khao cricket mein.

Phir moov aur iodex ka ad karna after getting injured, achha sponsorship milega.

@Vilander something tells me that you hit the gym regularly and you kind of have fantasies of bowling at 90 mph or you try hard to relate with Bumrah, Kohli and etc.

Yet I am sure that even your wife can hurl the cricket ball faster than you when she's angry (you must have gauged her speed when she threw cutlery at you during arguments). Your tight inflexible muscles cannot match her speeds.

Fast twitch fibers are needed for bowling fast. You can't increase the number of fast twitch fibers but you can always increase the size of the fast twitch fibers that's where myofibrillar hypertrophy comes into play. Fast twitch fibers are made of myofibrills. By using that workout, a 135 kph bowler can increase his pace up to 140, increase his pace ceiling. Pace is natural. Either you have it or not. But proper specific workouts can increase your pace ceiling. Someone like chahar who was 125kph bowler once now can hit 135 is a serious example of increasing pace ceiling by workouts. You have to know what kind of workout you need to do.

I don't know how players from the past managed to bowl 20+ overs without gym. 

Or maybe they did, I am thinking of players like Merv Hughes, Craig McDermott, Ian Botham. 

Especially Botham used to drink a pint or two of beer every day. 

8 minutes ago, Adamant said:

I don't know how players from the past managed to bowl 20+ overs without gym. 

Or maybe they did, I am thinking of players like Merv Hughes, Craig McDermott, Ian Botham. 

Especially Botham used to drink a pint or two of beer every day. 

Bowling itself increases the bowling stamina. Moderate intensity bowling.

What bodybuilders do is to build muscles is called sarcoplasmic hypertrophy in which amount of sarcoplasmic fluid in the muscle fibers is increased and that increases the size of the muscles.