All-rounders

Pollack

15 hours ago, Vijy said:

sundar is definitely an AR in LOIs, not so in tests. Pandu is also an AR in LOIs.

hooda - batter who can bowl a bit

chahar & thakur - can neither bowl nor bat

axar - can bowl on raging turners, can't bowl otherwise, and cannot bat

Agree with these calls.

Im tired of anyone being called an all rounder. Outside of currently Jaddu, Sundar and Pandya I dont consider anyone else an all rounder.

For me the only all rounder is a player that has won/played well on a consistent basis as either a batsman or bowler.

17 hours ago, Lord said:

Jaddu won us CT 2013 final and played many knocks where we won or got close.

Sundar so far has not showed that ability with bat, Has to bat fearlessly and improve hitting.

Sundar will be more of a middle order anchor who can bowl going forward.

Did you see his hitting in NZ? Can't judge him based yesterday. 

7 hours ago, Vijy said:

I said he was genuine in ODIs, not in tests. his batting is fine for ODIs, just that he's not gotten a consistent run

He is a genuine alrounder in tests too as a batsman who can bowl. Needs to be developed as 5th bowler in test who bats at 6-7 along with Pant. 

Why do we rate Pandya so much? What has he achieved till now? How is he genuine allrounder? Because of IPL?

You need to look at Stokes to know what a genuine allrounder is. His stats may not be impressive but he is clutch. Unlike Pandya he did not chicken out from tests.

12 hours ago, Vijy said:

he does have some isolated achievements in a 13-14 yr career. in the short period he has played, sundar has shown more glimpses of his ability

Sundar is technically superior so should do well in Tests as a batting AR.

However lacks power and is not known for fitness. Needs to work on fielding too. All these make him not an ideal ODI player as of now

5 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Did you see his hitting in NZ? Can't judge him based yesterday. 

He does lack the power. In NZ, grounds were small so he was able to time the ball in the gaps and score quickfire runs. He does have range shots so I think in ODIs, you can call him an A/R but in T20s, he won't. 

4 minutes ago, Majestic said:

He does lack the power. In NZ, grounds were small so he was able to time the ball in the gaps and score quickfire runs. He does have range shots so I think in ODIs, you can call him an A/R but in T20s, he won't. 

Even in ODIs these days you need power, unless playing anchor role

5 hours ago, Pollack said:

Why do we rate Pandya so much? What has he achieved till now? How is he genuine allrounder? Because of IPL?

You need to look at Stokes to know what a genuine allrounder is. His stats may not be impressive but he is clutch. Unlike Pandya he did not chicken out from tests.

Being clutch is not a requirement to be alrounder. Hamari team ne koi bhi clutch nahi hai. Pandya is a good alrounder and was our second best bowler in the t20 wc. Scored runs too. 

Regarding test, how much bowling his body can take is a question mark.

5 hours ago, Lord said:

Sundar is technically superior so should do well in Tests as a batting AR.

However lacks power and is not known for fitness. Needs to work on fielding too. All these make him not an ideal ODI player as of now

he does lack fitness. however, I thought we were discussing ability here. not much need for power. Kane W and Steven Smith are good enough ODI players sans power. likewise for Barber

12 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Being clutch is not a requirement to be alrounder. Hamari team ne koi bhi clutch nahi hai. Pandya is a good alrounder and was our second best bowler in the t20 wc. Scored runs too. 

Regarding test, how much bowling his body can take is a question mark.

The outputs of Pandya in internationals are at bits and pieces player level only. He is only one close to being genuine AR but the results are underwhelming. He struggled against Pakistan in world cup and also against England till he finally fluked in death overs. Second best bowler means nothing if your specialist bowlers are bowling crap.

18 hours ago, Vijy said:

he does lack fitness. however, I thought we were discussing ability here. not much need for power. Kane W and Steven Smith are good enough ODI players sans power. likewise for Barber

they all are anchors and play in top 3. Sundar won't get that role.

12 hours ago, Vijy said:

he is as talented as some of them. hope to see him bat higher up in the order in all formats.

I hope too but will take a long time. Already they see him as Ashwin's replacement than a top order batter.

Sundar's domestic numbers arent great too.

8 hours ago, Lord said:

I hope too but will take a long time. Already they see him as Ashwin's replacement than a top order batter.

Sundar's domestic numbers arent great too.

he is a bit like michael vaughan, FS Jackson, etc. who did better in int'ls than domestics