Nehru's refusal of Kennedy's offer of nuclear detonation kept India out of the NSG

gattaca

@Lone Wolf you keep praising congress every time ISRO launches new spacecraft and rover. Even though Nehru did nothing there. But congress made so many mistakes like hindhi china Bhai Bhai, Katchatheevu Island to Sri Lanka and giving up strategic positions that even have big impact today. 

https://m.economictimes.com/news/defence/nehrus-refusal-of-kennedys-offer-of-nuclear-detonation-kept-india-out-of-the-nsg/amp_articleshow/52732667.cms

1 hour ago, gattaca said:

@Lone Wolf you keep praising congress every time ISRO launches new spacecraft and rover. Even though Nehru did nothing there. But congress made so many mistakes like hindhi china Bhai Bhai, Katchatheevu Island to Sri Lanka and giving up strategic positions that even have big impact today. 

https://m.economictimes.com/news/defence/nehrus-refusal-of-kennedys-offer-of-nuclear-detonation-kept-india-out-of-the-nsg/amp_articleshow/52732667.cms

First of all neither congress nor BJP must be praised for success of ISRO...  It's their own hardwork that they are doing great with such a small budget.  I have never praised any party. 

I only praise congress (except MMS)  for taking firm actions against Pakistan & Chinese in the past.  Now that requires political will. 

Secondly there was never a firm offer.  They might have teased us for sure.  They reportedly tried very best to get India under their wing like their puppet states in Asia in 60's but India righly saw through that crap & proudly followed its own path & conducted operation smiling Buddha that triggered US to no end. 

Also No government records show this.... 

Nehru had to officially refute in Parliament about UNSC permanent seat...  But nothing of that sort happened when it comes to US aided nuclear tests. 

They have always been against India becoming a nuclear power for a reason. 

Aksai Chin was never lost in the 1962 war...  India nor British had any physical presence there.

China for better Connectivity with Xinjiang needed it while the area is not easily accessible to India.  So it is hard to defend itself. 

We knew about G219 highway in early 60's when it was started much earlier in late 50's.  So there's that.  No battle happened in Aksai Chin...  Except for suicide squads Nehru Sent as part of Forward policy (blunder). 

China chose the right moment to strike (Cuban crisis) so everything was stacked against us. 

Remember if not for 62 there would have been no 65...  Wake up call was badly needed.. We defied US backed strong Pakistan & delivered a epic thrashing in Pakistani Punjab (first time India invaded a foreign country in nearly 1000 years) 

2 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

First of all neither congress nor BJP must be praised for success of ISRO...  It's their own hardwork that they are doing great with such a small budget.  I have never praised any party. 

I only praise congress (except MMS)  for taking firm actions against Pakistan & Chinese in the past.  Now that requires political will. 

Secondly there was never a firm offer.  They might have teased us for sure.  They reportedly tried very best to get India under their wing like their puppet states in Asia in 60's but India righly saw through that crap & proudly followed its own path & conducted operation smiling Buddha that triggered US to no end. 

Nehru had to officially refute in Parliament about UNSC permanent seat...  But nothing of that sort happened when it comes to US aided nuclear tests. 

Aksai Chin was never lost in the 1962 war...  India nor British had any physical presence there.

China for better Connectivity with Xinjiang needed it while the area is not easily accessible to India.  So it is hard to defend itself. 

We knew about G219 highway in early 60's when it was started much earlier in late 50's.  So there's that.  No battle happened in Aksai Chin...  Except for suicide squads Nehru Sent as part of Forward policy (blunder). 

China chose the right moment to strike (Cuban crisis) so everything was stacked against us. 

Remember if not for 62 there would have been no 65...  Wake up call was badly needed.. We defied US backed strong Pakistan & delivered a epic thrashing in Pakistani Punjab (first time India invaded a foreign country in nearly 1000 years) 

But non alignment policy means you would work with either US or Russia ?  Was it never truly no alignment then at least back then ?

Edited by gattaca

Nehru was a grandstanding idiot who thought India was his family's personal property to do with as he pleased. To look good he sacrificed Aksai Chin, Tibet, building India's military or manufacturing capability. The more I read about him the more depressed I get. The worst thing that ever happened to India. 

12 hours ago, gattaca said:

Nehru had a lot to do with ISRO along with other Public Sector undertakings. That was part of his vision. Lot of PSU have not done well but ISRO is a shining example. Why they are successful, and others are not needs to be understood and emulated.

50 minutes ago, Khota said:

Nehru had a lot to do with ISRO along with other Public Sector undertakings. That was part of his vision. Lot of PSU have not done well but ISRO is a shining example. Why they are successful, and others are not needs to be understood and emulated.

Under Nehru ISRO used bullock carts and bicycles to wheel rocket parts. The same Nehru used to send planes to bring him his tailored shirts and cigars from London at the same time.

Let's not credit where ISRO is today to this maniac. In fact, our Hindu growth rate prior to 1992 is primarily due to him and his daughter's economic policies.

12 hours ago, gattaca said:

But non alignment policy means you would work with either US or Russia ?  Was it never truly no alignment then at least back then ?

Even Chinese had to briefly align with US under Deng Xiaoping as part of biding your time strategy...  They were successful in fooling US as they were desperate coz of USSR. 

India is following same strategy right now. 

Indian foreign policy's core essence has never changed.  We always yearned for a multipolar world. 

As economy grew Indian influence rose. 

19 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Your argument or defense of Nehru regarding UNSC seat is weak. He plainly refused US offer of support for a UNSC permanent seat and recommended China instead. He clearly stated the reason being India doesn’t want to destabilize the region or antagonize China by claiming a UNSC seat. That’s indefensible. 

Indians may be frustrated with the lack of progress toward a permanent seat, but the irony is that they have only themselves to blame. Back in 1950, the United States quietly sounded India out about possibly replacing Taiwan on the Security Council, and India’s Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru demurred. Instead, he suggested that the seat should properly be given to the People’s Republic of China. He rebuffed a similar proposal from the Soviet Union in 1955. Nehru believed that China—an ally of India—properly deserved a seat given its size and emerging role in Asia.”

https://foreignpolicy.com/2021/02/01/indias-seat-at-the-table/

India  also refused to recognize Israel to not upset OIC or some Arab nations. That was the official NAM policy as well, I think. The world saw NaaM as a front for the Warsaw pact. 

Also, ISRO budget under NDA vs UPA. Oppose BJP as much, but you can’t l

deny the data.

Govt releases 9-yr space report card: 389 foreign sats launched, Rs 3,300 cr earned, 123% rise in budget

India's space sector budget soared from Rs 5,615 crore in 2013-14 to Rs 12,543 crore in 10 years, a rise of 123%, it said. With increased satellite launches, Isro's launch rate also jumped from 1.2 yearly launch missions before 2014 to an impressive 5.7 satellites since 2014.

7 hours ago, bharathh said:

Under Nehru ISRO used bullock carts and bicycles to wheel rocket parts. The same Nehru used to send planes to bring him his tailored shirts and cigars from London at the same time.

Let's not credit where ISRO is today to this maniac. In fact, our Hindu growth rate prior to 1992 is primarily due to him and his daughter's economic policies.

Because there was no money. Nuclear testing and initial satellites were all done under congress.

As far as China is concerned the gap has increased between China and India under BJP also. Neither could Modi do much against China.

I know lot of you BJP folks are on a mission to rewrite history.

Just now, Khota said:

Because there was no money. Nuclear testing and initial satellites were all done under congress.

As far as China is concerned the gap has increased between China and India under BJP also. Neither could Modi do much against China.

?

I can't argue for the sake of arguing. Peace

44 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Your argument or defense of Nehru regarding UNSC seat is weak. He plainly refused US offer of support for a UNSC permanent seat and recommended China instead. He clearly stated the reason being India doesn’t want to destabilize the region or antagonize China by claiming a UNSC seat. That’s indefensible. 

Indians may be frustrated with the lack of progress toward a permanent seat, but the irony is that they have only themselves to blame. Back in 1950, the United States quietly sounded India out about possibly replacing Taiwan on the Security Council, and India’s Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru demurred. Instead, he suggested that the seat should properly be given to the People’s Republic of China. He rebuffed a similar proposal from the Soviet Union in 1955. Nehru believed that China—an ally of India—properly deserved a seat given its size and emerging role in Asia.”

https://foreignpolicy.com/2021/02/01/indias-seat-at-the-table/

India  also refused to recognize Israel to not upset OIC or some Arab nations. That was the official NAM policy as well, I think. The world saw NaaM as a front for the Warsaw pact. 

Also, ISRO budget under NDA vs UPA. Oppose BJP as much, but you can’t l

deny the data.

Govt releases 9-yr space report card: 389 foreign sats launched, Rs 3,300 cr earned, 123% rise in budget

India's space sector budget soared from Rs 5,615 crore in 2013-14 to Rs 12,543 crore in 10 years, a rise of 123%, it said. With increased satellite launches, Isro's launch rate also jumped from 1.2 yearly launch missions before 2014 to an impressive 5.7 satellites since 2014.

In hindsight it was a wrong call but it was sensible having a friendly ally neighbor when India was surrounded by a Hostile Pakistan on two sides.   You cannot pile on Chinese on top of that.  India desperately wanted good relations with China for a reason.  I bet we still do...  But it may not be possible. 

His reason was spot on.  His Foreign policy while was sometimes naive but pragmatic at the same time.

We may never know if our current Foreign policy is great...  Hindsight is always 20/20.

5 hours ago, Khota said:

India not having money under Nehru is a Nehru fail. Modi has built more infrastructure in the last 9 years of his rule than the entire 50 year period of congress rule. Which is why modi is the real father of india. Not the anglo-planted fakir lawyer and his nikamma protege.

25 minutes ago, Muloghonto said:

India not having money under Nehru is a Nehru fail. Modi has built more infrastructure in the last 9 years of his rule than the entire 50 year period of congress rule. Which is why modi is the real father of india. Not the anglo-planted fakir lawyer and his nikamma protege.

Next you will rewrite history to make Savarkar father of nation. I know where this is heading.

8 minutes ago, Khota said:

Next you will rewrite history to make Savarkar father of nation. I know where this is heading.

Your predictions are cute, but no. Its not re-writing history to give a title from person A to person B and neither is it rewriting history to point out facts about Indian infrastructure. 

3 hours ago, Muloghonto said:

+1

I absolutely agree with this. For once, people need to go beyond not liking BJP or Modi narrative. 

Where Modi/BJP government is doing it right.

Culture: They are preserving and promoting india's native culture locally and across the world

Math: They always work on their math. Vaccine policy, benefits distribution, bank accounts, Adhar/Jan Dhan, infrastructure, defense and so on. They always plan with proper math done. 

Economy: Considering a massive population and diversity, they are rightly focusing on the horizontal and vertical aspects of the economy. 

Geopolitics: Establish the fact at the world level that India should be considered a major player and setting a world order.

Ethics: They have reduced corruption from the public sector. They are vouching for poor nations and representing them at the world forums in many ways. They bring in a lot of balance. 

Whoever we had previously, show me what sort of visions they had. The PM, like idiot, discloses to the world that the govt sends 1 rupee and only 15p reaches the beneficiary. He is freaking a PM. Then go and bloody do something, fire some corrupt a$$es rather than complaining to janta that I am doing my part, and system is corrupt. 

6 hours ago, Muloghonto said:

Your predictions are cute, but no. Its not re-writing history to give a title from person A to person B and neither is it rewriting history to point out facts about Indian infrastructure. 

I see your nefarious designs.

9 hours ago, Khota said:

Congress was busy scamming country , people and resources. We had no vision during any congress rule. India couldn’t even develop until Narasimha rao when he opened the market. He was disrespected his body wasn’t even allowed inside congress bhavan and was kept on roads of Delhi. The guy who gave jobs to many Indians in next generations. The opening of economy was key in India’s revival of economic story. Nehru was a socialist and had no vision except sleeping with Mountbatten’s wife and other woman. He never wanted to be non aligned and gifting china Aksai chin, abandoning Indian fighter jet project(we were collaborating with Egypt this was built by Germans), UNSC seat and not taking up US offer on nuclear weapons. He and his progeny stuck with socialism while Indians didn’t even had food to eat only PV narasimha changed it. Congress doesn’t have guts to even respect him because he challenged sonia Gandhi for CWC presidency. There is a time when you play politics and when you don’t  congress doesn’t know when to stop example Bjp could have stayed quiet when khalistanis did the rally that portrayed indira gandhi’s death but they didn’t they understand she was indian prime minister and deserves respect.

Edited by gattaca