BacktoCricaddict Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 14 minutes ago, Gollum said: Viv, Kapil in 80s. OG masters. Don't forget our own Krishnamachari Srikkanth. He broke the rule book on how to open in tests, so much so that even Gavaskar started to feel the temptation to score fast :-). Srikkanth's biggest innovation, one that no one before or after him has successfully adopted? Mookkurinju sixer. (Nasally sucking up snot as loudly as possible before and after hitting a six) Lord and Gollum 1 1
Gollum Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 13 hours ago, Laaloo said: No it wasn't. Looks like I got the wrong terrorist. 57.4 this time Lee gets his man, he pitches short of a length and gets Tendulkar back in the crease, playing down the wrong line, the ball hit him on the top of the pad and at the time of contact Tendulkar was jumping in the air, Lee appeals confidently and umpire Rauf eventually raises the finger ... replays show it was indeed high and going over the top of the stumps ... Tendulkar shakes his head as he walks off 198/3 Aleem Dar screwed Sachin major time in England/Ireland 2007. Cost him at least 4 100s when he was batting so beautifully. I even remember him declining a wicket where ABDV edged to slips. Rauf was terrible in the 2006 RSA tour but not as biased as Aleem Dar. Anyway he is dead now, RIP. Dar went on to trouble us till as late as 2021 T20 WC, giving him ICC umpire of the year multiple times was a joke. Laaloo and maniac 2
maniac Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 SA: 3rd umpire rule Pakistan: Reverse swing , neutral umpires (credit to Imran Khan) Nzl: taking advantage of power play with a specialist hitter, opening with spinner in powerplay, declaring behind to force the other captain for result etc etc Aus: pretty much sets the innovation standard in gameplay broadcasting. Stump mic, glittering bails etc etc SL : opening with 2 specialist hitters, encouraging players with unique and unconventional talents, taking advantage of every legal rules to get under oppenents skin, indirectly responsible for 15 degree rule. WI : set the template for modern day cricket even in T20. England: well they invented all 3 formats. India: Maybe made the game marketable and a billion $ industry. Sehwag in tests was unique though but I think other teams had Greenidge, Michael slater etc who had similar approach. However not as brutal as Sehwag. Don’t think that was inventive though, we just stumbled into it.credit to captain though. Sean Bradley 1
Gollum Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 (edited) What is India's contribution in the tech side of cricket? We are an IT powerhouse, engineering is king, majorly a one sport nation, huge cricket economy. But even specialized tech for cricket comes from Eng and Aus, sometimes NZ. Even Zing bails comes from a small town in Australia, don't tell me India can't come up with something as basic as that, a country that has mars missions and nukes!!!! Edited June 19, 2024 by Gollum
BacktoCricaddict Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 17 minutes ago, Gollum said: What is India's contribution in the tech side of cricket? We are an IT powerhouse, engineering is king, majorly a one sport nation, huge cricket economy. But even specialized tech for cricket comes from Eng and Aus, sometimes NZ. Even Zing bails comes from a small town in Australia, don't tell me India can't come up with something as basic as that, a country that has mars missions and nukes!!!! My guess (with no evidence to back me up)?: Brilliant software guy calling a cricket admin babu: Good morning sir, my name is Gollum and I have written this analytical software that will help. Babu: Abbey mere paas time nahin hai ... ask my secretary to make appointment. Brilliant software guy: OK sir. Thank you very much sir. You are giving me a great opportunity .. Babu: Yeah yeah ok ok Bye Software guy to secretary: Good morning. Mr. Babu told me to contact you to make appointment. Secretary: No appointment till November. Come on November 10 at 11 am. Software guy: OK Sir. November 10 11 am ... 12 pm ... 1 pm ... waiting in cricket office. Finally Babu shows up. Software guy: Sir, my name is Gollum. Babu (after heavy Dal makhani lunch): Burrppp .. yes yes I know. Come. 5 min. I have to go to meeting with CM. Software guy: Sir, but how can I explain in 5 min ..? Babu: Don't waste my time then ... come in January . And on and on it goes ... until software guy gives up, gets a cushy job working for multinational. The End Number, maniac, Gollum and 5 others 7 1
diga Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 Wasnt there a VJD method for calculating runs in a shortened match as an alternative to DLS ?
Ultimate_Game Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 (edited) 1 hour ago, diga said: Wasnt there a VJD method for calculating runs in a shortened match as an alternative to DLS ? It was but goras pushed for DLS and our babus didn't back our own Woh bechara is time kisi college/university mein teacher laga hoga kahin Edited June 19, 2024 by Ultimate_Game Chaos 1
Chaos Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 1 hour ago, BacktoCricaddict said: My guess (with no evidence to back me up)?: Brilliant software guy calling a cricket admin babu: Good morning sir, my name is Gollum and I have written this analytical software that will help. Babu: Abbey mere paas time nahin hai ... ask my secretary to make appointment. Brilliant software guy: OK sir. Thank you very much sir. You are giving me a great opportunity .. Babu: Yeah yeah ok ok Bye Software guy to secretary: Good morning. Mr. Babu told me to contact you to make appointment. Secretary: No appointment till November. Come on November 10 at 11 am. Software guy: OK Sir. November 10 11 am ... 12 pm ... 1 pm ... waiting in cricket office. Finally Babu shows up. Software guy: Sir, my name is Gollum. Babu (after heavy Dal makhani lunch): Burrppp .. yes yes I know. Come. 5 min. I have to go to meeting with CM. Software guy: Sir, but how can I explain in 5 min ..? Babu: Don't waste my time then ... come in January . And on and on it goes ... until software guy gives up, gets a cushy job working for multinational. The End geez man it was funny but u took all this effort to write it? Kudos
BacktoCricaddict Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 1 hour ago, Chaos said: geez man it was funny but u took all this effort to write it? Kudos 30 seconds. Chaos 1
Kron Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 7 hours ago, Gollum said: Viv, Kapil in 80s. OG masters. Yea I mean in the modern era. Brits always stealing shite lol
Kron Posted June 19, 2024 Posted June 19, 2024 6 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said: My guess (with no evidence to back me up)?: Brilliant software guy calling a cricket admin babu: Good morning sir, my name is Gollum and I have written this analytical software that will help. Babu: Abbey mere paas time nahin hai ... ask my secretary to make appointment. Brilliant software guy: OK sir. Thank you very much sir. You are giving me a great opportunity .. Babu: Yeah yeah ok ok Bye Software guy to secretary: Good morning. Mr. Babu told me to contact you to make appointment. Secretary: No appointment till November. Come on November 10 at 11 am. Software guy: OK Sir. November 10 11 am ... 12 pm ... 1 pm ... waiting in cricket office. Finally Babu shows up. Software guy: Sir, my name is Gollum. Babu (after heavy Dal makhani lunch): Burrppp .. yes yes I know. Come. 5 min. I have to go to meeting with CM. Software guy: Sir, but how can I explain in 5 min ..? Babu: Don't waste my time then ... come in January . And on and on it goes ... until software guy gives up, gets a cushy job working for multinational. The End You forgot sarrr Ultimate_Game 1