Duleep Trophy

tweaker

26 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Anyone would prefer Pant. But we have to keep in mind he is coming back from a life threatening injury.  So we have to see how he is holding up in longer formats. Pant will be preferred definitely not just for keeping for his X factor. It doesn't mean Jurel will fail. Can't say with zero evidence. 

No one can say Jurel will fail. Both of them need to be prepared as keeper options for Australia as you always need 2 keepers in the squad. Pant is obviously the clear first choice. Jurel can also be played as a pure batsman if needed - he is certainly good enough to do a job there if there is an emergency/injury situation. India are a far stronger team with both of them int he squad and it is a significant uppgrade from the likes of KS Bharat either way.

2 hours ago, lemsip said:

Your faith in Jurel's keeping abroad ( where he has never kept)  is touching.  For me, if Pant is fit and proving that he has recovered enough to get through the longer format, it defies reason to show up in Australia without him ( test average in Australia 64) as the first choice keeper. Who would Australia prefer to have in the opposition ? In order to get him ready, he need to play in the series beforehand. I can see both of them playing a few games in the bdesh and nz series whether one of them is played purely as a batsman in a game.

Bottom line - they both need to be prepared as keepers to allow for injuries. However, a fit Pant is the clear first choice as keeper/bat in Australia.

wicket keeping is a severe, critical  role and a game changing role. if you study some test matches , you will notice that keepers loose 4 to 8 catches behind stumps and one or 2 run out chances in every innings so it is a role which is very  critical. i f I am BOOM I want a SOLID Keeper , a SAFE keeper and I feel Pant is not a SAFE and SOLID Keeper. he and IShan kishan are 5 8 inch Man, even if they are good their reach is 5 inches less than a 6 feet Dhruv.

just put up a selection option here - asking who is the better wicket keeper and I am sure DHRUV would be declared a better keeper. 

batting - I agree pant is better, if you do not have confidence in your batsmen and feel keeper has to be a full flagged batsman than select Pant but if u need a proper keeper - dhruv is the right option, see him keep tomorrow.

13 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Indian conditions are toughest to keep, against spinners in variable pitches. 

So seaming, bouncing, uneven pitches are not difficult to keep? Aren't you the one who advocates for pace? Only keeping against spin should doubt? Kuch bhi

6 hours ago, vishalvirsingh said:

wicket keeping is a severe, critical  role and a game changing role. if you study some test matches , you will notice that keepers loose 4 to 8 catches behind stumps and one or 2 run out chances in every innings so it is a role which is very  critical. i f I am BOOM I want a SOLID Keeper , a SAFE keeper and I feel Pant is not a SAFE and SOLID Keeper. he and IShan kishan are 5 8 inch Man, even if they are good their reach is 5 inches less than a 6 feet Dhruv.

just put up a selection option here - asking who is the better wickets keeper and I am sure DHRUV would be declared a better keeper. 

batting - I agree pant is better, if you do not have confidence in your batsmen and feel keeper has to be a full flagged batsman than select Pant but if u need a proper keeper - dhruv is the right option, see him keep tomorrow.

And again, this is based on your feelings based on couple of matches Jursk has played at HOME 

Pant has done good in EVERY condition. But you don't feel it 

Lets all select teams not based on actual facts but feelings of biased people.

Edited by New guy
13 hours ago, gakgupta said:

Cant say 2x times better.... but certainly Jurel is better keeper ... may eb bext in the world now

Another one who has feelings. Better baed on what? Jurel hasn't kept away. He has played 3 international matches at home.

Pant has kept great in EVERY condition. But Jurel is better you guys

This is exactly how Pakistanis hype their players based on PSL

Edited by New guy
12 hours ago, lemsip said:

Based on his keeping in just 3 home tests ? He doesn't even keep for his IPL side

Some people are pure trolls. Kept in 3 international matches and is better than someone who kept ably in every single difficult condition all over the world against every kind of bowling.

10 hours ago, vishalvirsingh said:

Sir ji....uske rang hindustan mein keeping mein pata chal gaye hain...I am dead sure he will keep very well in SENA countries too...

exactly the same way,  Musheer Khan- he has a solid temperament and immaculate technique - one is sure that he will be able to score every where , also in SENA countries.

Performance on Indian grounds in 5 day/ 4 day matches with red ball gives you an excellent indication about the quality of a player.

hindi mein kya bolte hai- POOT ke PAON (legs) Palne mein hi dikh JAATE Hain. 

Cricket Selection is not a very tough JOB for genuine cricket Players.

Partiality, Politics,favouritism should be Stopped- selection should be on MERIT and performance.

Also, the Basic POint of selection should be decided - like we will pick a swing bowler ,4 genuinely fast bowlers and one bounce bowler. Spin bowlers also 2 - one axar and one more - may be ashwin or kuldeep( kuldeep looks in bad form)

Dude you are attacking someone who has been out best test players for YEARS. Who has 4 test 100s in Sena before he turned 25. Who has been the biggest match winner in tests for us since he debuted 

A player who countries like Australia respect more than anyone

These are cold hard facts and not your feelings

Someone who wants our best test player dropped based on his "feelings" is talking about bias? 

You talking about bias is hilarious when your bias is sickening to everyone. It's hilarious how the most baised people in the world accuse others of bias. 

9 hours ago, vishalvirsingh said:

i will want to give first opportunity to dhruv  as I am sure about his keeping abroad , he would take some catches which pant may end up dropping bcos of better reach and better keeping skills. i will expect dhruv to score some runs at least 30 to 35 runs as I will give dhruv +20 runs at the start , I mean dhruv will stop some runs which pant may end up giving away as byes. 

if dhruv fails as a batsman then Pant can get his chance as dhruv cannot fail as a wicket keeper - that's 100 percent certain.

May drop based on your feelings. When he out kept the opposition keeper in every single overseas seroes 

Drop our biggest match winner in tests based on your feelings

And yoy are shameless enough to talk about bias. This is the most  biased post I have seen in any cricket forum. 

I have never even seen low IQ Pakistanis be this biased towards any of their players 

10 hours ago, vishalvirsingh said:

i will want to give first opportunity to dhruv  as I am sure about his keeping abroad , he would take some catches which pant may end up dropping bcos of better reach and better keeping skills. i will expect dhruv to score some runs at least 30 to 35 runs as I will give dhruv +20 runs at the start , I mean dhruv will stop some runs which pant may end up giving away as byes. 

if dhruv fails as a batsman then Pant can get his chance as dhruv cannot fail as a wicket keeper - that's 100 percent certain.

Beautiful post,

Oscar level post

Edited by Suhaan
2 hours ago, New guy said:

So seaming, bouncing, uneven pitches are not difficult to keep? Aren't you the one who advocates for pace? Only keeping against spin should doubt? Kuch bhi

Keeping against spinners on dusty turning pitches is the toughest task. Standing 15 yards back on seaming bouncy conditions is easier to keep than standing up keeping to spinners. I advocate for pace doesn't mean I will overlook other aspects.

Edited by rkt.india
3 minutes ago, cowboysfan said:

who else will they pick? Deep and Siraj will play both Tests if they are healthy.

You never know...if India A loses this game, they might pick Mukesh Kumar & Yess Dayal. Ignoring Akashdeep's 9 wicket match.

6 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

You never know...if India A loses this game, they might pick Mukesh Kumar & Yess Dayal. Ignoring Akashdeep's 9 wicket match.

Indian team selectors always make some unusual selection 

34 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

Keeping against spinners on dusty turning pitches is the toughest task. Standing 15 yards back on seaming bouncy conditions is easier to keep than standing up keeping to spinners. I advocate for pace doesn't mean I will overlook other aspects.

This is silly, a good keeper should be able to keep on any wickets and uneven bounce and tricky high or late movement catches against seamers are equally diffixilt. Just think of how many catches we dropped off seam bowlers overseas which made a difference. 

And overseas we carry more seamers than spinners and seamers give more chances and take more wickets. 

And you are judging better against spinners based on 3 matches someone played, lol.