India 179-178

goose

14 minutes ago, deathmonger said:

Yup.

Even Aus should be done but again very far in the future.

By 2040 though can be no 2.

Thing is even in our best era (post 2015) our W/L is same as Australia's and they are in their so-so era. To catch them we will have to pull crazy numbers for many decades assuming they maintain their current W/L. GOAT WI and Aus had W/L of 3-3.5 (over 15 years), we will have to hold such numbers consistently for the next 60-70 years without any dip in between, and assuming test cricket is played at the same frequency as today. 

19 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Since Kohli took over test captaincy, Aus still has a slightly better W/L than us. 

Since our 2015 tour to SL (when resurgence began), our W/L is 2.1

In the same period, Aus W/L is 2.1, with a WTC trophy as well. Though we beat them in away BGT twice. 

Incredibly close. 

Yeah we were stronger pre covid and weaker post. They the opposite.

Pre covid lost a home series to SA in 2016, was whitewashed in SL in 2016, lost in SA in 2018, lost in Pak in 2018 , lost BGT 2018

Post covid lost only two series - 2020-21 and 2023 BGT

Edited by deathmonger

Becoming no 1 in cricket is like becoming no 1/2 geopolitically. Should happen if trends hold but it is so far in the future you can't really predict.

Becoming no 2 in cricket is like becoming no 3 geopolitically. Trends point to it and not such a long timeframe. Around 15ish years.

7 hours ago, Gollum said:

185-187 :hysterical:

Won't even hit W/L of 1 till 2027 (at least). 

NZ and Lanka waiting in their dens next year @Lone Wolf, ab tak kambal kutai shuru bhi nahi hui hai. 

WC Winner Gautam Gambhir's Only Regret in Life: Being Unable to Join the  Indian Army

bc idhar 200 nahi ban rahe, NZ me toh 100 bhi mushkil hoga

On 11/16/2025 at 11:51 PM, Gollum said:

r/IndiaCricket - Under kohli India lost just 2 home tests in 7 years, after that india lost 6 tests

5 of those in last 2 years alone since GG arrived. Only wins are vs BD and WI

On 10/16/2025 at 12:19 AM, deathmonger said:

Becoming no 1 in cricket is like becoming no 1/2 geopolitically. Should happen if trends hold but it is so far in the future you can't really predict.

Becoming no 2 in cricket is like becoming no 3 geopolitically. Trends point to it and not such a long timeframe. Around 15ish years.

Becoming number 1 in cricket is impossible even if we become a 100 trillion economy. Our W/L in our best era is now significantly worse than Australia's in their mid era. 

In fact even overtaking RSA, Eng W/L is impossible. There is no culture of excellence in India, also zero accountability, second consecutive whitewash against SENA at home loading. You can have all the resources in the world, but when there is no ambition or accountability, nothing can be done. 

185-188

Will become 185-192 next year after SL, NZ tours. 

Can we bring W/L to 1 or equal Pakistan by end of the decade? 

11 hours ago, Gollum said:

185-188

Chutiya gambhir..he should never get a gig for any coaching in life ever. Even a moron would have selected at least 4 proper batsman in the playing xi.

On 11/26/2025 at 1:39 PM, Gollum said:

185-188

Both will happen in next 2 years if not earlier.

It's like stock market. General trend is upwards but some spikes here and there. 

Nothing to do but swallow it for now. :wp24:

10-15 years later we'll laugh at it but for now just need to suck it up.