10 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said:

petitions & visas are two different things, you can't ENTER US with just an applied or even approved petition, you need a VISA. The opperative word here is suplemented

"....except for those aliens whose petitions are accompanied or supplemented by a payment of $100,000.."

this could mean adding or supplementing the 100k requirment for existing petition too. yeah you can say its poorly worded, & it doesn't mean that. But do you realy think a CBP officer who is a pencil pusher cares or even understand such nuances?

Yes, those r two different things.

is your question - does this apply to approved H1 holders but with no visas yet? 
or is your question - does this apply to H1 holders and a visa? 

If u have an approved petition and a visa, I don’t think (pretty sure) based on this wording that this does not apply. In fact there might be some exception for even approved petitions while in the US but no visa (but this is def not proven as of now).

And whether something like this applies to people with existing visas or not is pretty basic and not something challenging for the visa officers. They would be given instructions as to who this applies at the very minimum.

But yeah H1B holders should avoid travel for a few days until it’s confirmed. 

Edited by MK55
12 minutes ago, G_B_ said:

That nri knew his/her status in the usa was not secure.

Risk and reward.

Millions of indians in the middle east live like this. Have investments in india.

Many preferred canada despute it being a poorer prospect as path to citozenship was clear.

What have dems done to clear green card backlog?

this is completely false.

people I refered to have mostly been in the states for more than a decade, & it is hardly comparable to GCC countries that are dicatorships, they offered no pathway to PRs.

the point of US & most western countries was its rule of law & stability. Literally anyone who has dealt with US legal immigration knows everything including d=increases fees goes through rule making process & amendments to laws, giving months if not years of notice.

Engaging in whataboutism about dems doesn't change the fact its MAGA that's pulling the rug out of decades of US tax payers not Dems. 

Edited by IndianRenegade
3 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

H1B has to be renewed after 3 years so all H1Bs either have to pay 100k or leave USA?

It can be renewed while you’re still working in the US and inside the US. Does not apply there. 

U only have to leave if u want to get some stamp and then come back (u need a stamp to re enter the border). That stamp is separate from work authorization. Whether it applies for these cases is unknown. 

Edited by MK55
14 minutes ago, MK55 said:

Yes, those r two different things.

is your question - does this apply to approved H1 holders but with no visas yet? 
or is your question - does this apply to H1 holders and a visa? 

If u have an approved petition and a visa, I don’t think (pretty sure) based on this wording that this does not apply. In fact there might be some exception for even approved petitions while in the US but no visa (but this is def not proven as of now).

And whether something like this applies to people with existing visas or not is pretty basic and not something challenging for the visa officers. They would be given instructions as to who this applies at the very minimum.

But yeah H1B holders should avoid travel for a few days until it’s confirmed. 

CBP officer is not a visa officer. CBP & ICE guys have been rounding up even citizens by mistake in the US, trusting them to interpret nuances of immigration law will go very well.

3 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said:

CBP officer is not a visa officer. CBP & ICE guys have been rounding up even citizens by mistake in the US, trusting them to interpret nuances of immigration law will go very well.

Yes they r pretty uneducated relatively. 

5 minutes ago, MK55 said:

It can be renewed while you’re still working in the US and inside the US. Does not apply there. 

U only have to leave if u want to get some stamp and then come back (u need a stamp to re enter the border). That stamp is separate from work authorization. Whether it applies for these cases is unknown. 

But there is another rule that says H1B can stay for Max 6 years and then will have to stay outside for one year before renewal.

14 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said:

this is completely false.

people I refered to have mostly been in the states for more than a decade, & it is hardly comparable to GCC countries that are dicatorships, they offered no pathway to PRs.

the point of US & most western countries was its rule of law & stability. Literally anyone who has dealt with US legal immigration knows everything including d=increases fees goes through rule making process & amendments to laws, giving months if not years of notice.

Engaging in whataboutism about dems doesn't change the fact its MAGA that's pulling the rug out of decades of US tax payers not Dems. 

Kuch bhi ho sakta hai bhai. Usa froze another country's(Russia) dollar reserves, to phir ye h1b new rule is nothing. NRIs should know the risks.

5 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

But there is another rule that says H1B can stay for Max 6 years and then will have to stay outside for one year before renewal.

No there’s an exception for that. If u already applied for the green card (just approved application) u can extend indefinitely from within the US. :hysterical:

Edited by MK55
3 minutes ago, rkt.india said:

with an i140, that is an application for GC, it is possible to extend in definitely. 

2 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Kuch bhi ho sakta hai bhai. Usa froze another country's(Russia) dollar reserves, to phir ye h1b new rule is nothing. NRIs should know the risks.

it was based on 1977 law.

The BBB has given ICE more than $170B in funding that needs to be spent. This has given birth to a Industrial-Deportation Complex which now needs to be fed.

Once these sweeping announcements are viral on MAGA networks the details will matter little to the uniformed personnel doing the actual arrests and detainments whether you hold certain documents or have special status. Going by how they conducted themselves with south-american workers recently, there will simply be racial profiling and if you fit the arresting officers definition of illegal there's nothing and nobody to stop individuals from being riot cuffed and detained without the option of a phone call.

1 hour ago, IndianRenegade said:

this is an extreme example, but it is like saying I am from kanyakumari so why do I care what happened to someone who went to vacation to kashmir. 

what as been done, potentionally robs Indians who invested in US to be cut off from it, unless they paid 100k ransom. if you say to that Indian you don't care what happened to you, why should any Indian care about anything that happens in any other state?

I have not said that I do not care about Indians. Your interpretation is incorrect and extrapolated. In fact I have said that other cities and states of India should be as much developed as Mumbai and Maharshtra is. 

On 9/20/2025 at 11:47 AM, MK55 said:

No there’s an exception for that. If u already applied for the green card (just approved application) u can extend indefinitely from within the US. :hysterical:

Because Trump and his team won't attack all those other avenues soon? Just few days ago people were sure H1B will never be affected. All these loopholes will also be closed soon.

P.S. you keep claiming trump cannot don whatever he wants but he has broken many obvious laws and the supreme court has backed him in each.

So with the supreme court in his pocket, yes yes he can do what he wants. And those gullible enough to believe he cannot, will continue to be shocked I suppose. 

Edited by New guy
29 minutes ago, Prakat said:

The BBB has given ICE more than $170B in funding that needs to be spent. This has given birth to a Industrial-Deportation Complex which now needs to be fed.

Once these sweeping announcements are viral on MAGA networks the details will matter little to the uniformed personnel doing the actual arrests and detainments whether you hold certain documents or have special status. Going by how they conducted themselves with south-american workers recently, there will simply be racial profiling and if you fit the arresting officers definition of illegal there's nothing and nobody to stop individuals from being riot cuffed and detained without the option of a phone call.

Can legal immigrants be touched ?

2 hours ago, MK55 said:

And then what’s next? People with green cards who weren’t born in the USA? Lol

No. He can create noise but can’t implement non sense. Even here, carefully he has only restricted entry (just like last time coz that’s the only thing he can even try to pass). But even this will be challenged. 

Well I am not saying there won't be resistance. But one just has to see which way the wind is blowing. Point is Indians are being looked at differently now. They have done too well for themselves and are being cut down to size. US is withdrawing from globalization. 

So the policy changes and what will get implemented or not is irrelevant. There is no going back now. No major org will be keen to publically announce CEO or C suite position to an Indian. Or atleast they will be ready for pushback. 

On 9/20/2025 at 11:28 AM, IndianRenegade said:

Whataboutism is the only tool Trump  supporting indians have left in their tank. Imagine claiming because Indians are living worse in the Saudi now Indians should do the same in US.

Also their smugness will not last long as it won't be long before Trump comes after green card holders and naturalized indian American citizens as well. If they think this will stop at H1B, they are mistaken, as they have been with everything related to Trump.

Supporting fascist bigots always comes with consequences. I am just worried about the kind of bigotry and hatred these guys will start spreading back in India once they are kicked out of the US.

Edited by New guy
On 9/20/2025 at 12:33 PM, pkmmamks said:

Can legal immigrants be touched ?

There are many straightforward rules and laws which Trump goverment has broken and the supreme court has backed them. So everything can be touched when they want to and they will want it sooner than later.