rkt.india Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 10 hours ago, IndianRenegade said: lol Americans got tariffed on their healthcare! But isn't Americans are the richest with 80 thousand dollars PCI?
Lone Wolf Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 1 hour ago, Tillu said: Huge protests in Nepal. Is this another regime change operation. Who's backing these protests? Trigger Warning https://x.com/Goreunit/status/1965058860437430756?t=9zduCGa0PtdOZtORHhcQkg&s=19
mishra Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 Trump imposed tarrif when it should have gone through senate. People paid it to shops. Shops handed the tax to treasury. Now tomorrow, if SC rules tarrifs are illegal. Who will get the money back? Peoole or shops. If shops get it, i bet walmart costco and others will be putting best foot to win the case against Trump tarrifs Best Trump can get as ruling is suspend the excercise, get each of them passed via Senate. I suspect Trump team is on sticky wicket
coffee_rules Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 33 minutes ago, mishra said: Trump imposed tarrif when it should have gone through senate. People paid it to shops. Shops handed the tax to treasury. Now tomorrow, if SC rules tarrifs are illegal. Who will get the money back? Peoole or shops. If shops get it, i bet walmart costco and others will be putting best foot to win the case against Trump tarrifs Best Trump can get as ruling is suspend the excercise, get each of them passed via Senate. I suspect Trump team is on sticky wicket Trump has used emergency executive orders to impose tariffs, his reasoning is that Russian war is costing Us taxpayers a lot of money and hence it was not required to pass in the Senate
G_B_ Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 Korean companies admit cutting corners on US visas but say they have little choice Several people familiar with Korean conglomerates in the US said it was an “open secret” that they and their subcontractors used the B-1 visa, which allows entry to the US for business purposes but does not allow the holder to work for payment, as well as the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) system that facilitates short-term business visits. “The business community, the Korean government and diplomats have been well aware of this problem all along,” an executive from a leading industry group said. “We are very worried that ICE can target other Korean facilities too because they have been following the same practices and have similar problems.” https://www.ft.com/content/c677b9aa-2e89-4feb-a56f-f3c8452b3674
IndianRenegade Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 7 minutes ago, G_B_ said: Korean companies admit cutting corners on US visas but say they have little choice Several people familiar with Korean conglomerates in the US said it was an “open secret” that they and their subcontractors used the B-1 visa, which allows entry to the US for business purposes but does not allow the holder to work for payment, as well as the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) system that facilitates short-term business visits. “The business community, the Korean government and diplomats have been well aware of this problem all along,” an executive from a leading industry group said. “We are very worried that ICE can target other Korean facilities too because they have been following the same practices and have similar problems.” https://www.ft.com/content/c677b9aa-2e89-4feb-a56f-f3c8452b3674 this was the problem for TMSC too, they just don't have the means to bring their workers here. H1B is restrictive on what sort of workers are allowed & also there is cap, & restrictions on when they can work. US expect foriegn companies to pour in billions of their money & doesn't provide a way for their workers to come in.
IndianRenegade Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 1 hour ago, rkt.india said: But isn't Americans are the richest with 80 thousand dollars PCI? high PCI & high COL aren't mutually exclusive.
mishra Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 40 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Trump has used emergency executive orders to impose tariffs, his reasoning is that Russian war is costing Us taxpayers a lot of money and hence it was not required to pass in the Senate My point is pot size is in billions. Big Supermarket chains in US have billions to gain and Hence it shouldn’t be considered a given that SC will take dictation from Trump team
G_B_ Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 23 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said: this was the problem for TMSC too, they just don't have the means to bring their workers here. H1B is restrictive on what sort of workers are allowed & also there is cap, & restrictions on when they can work. US expect foriegn companies to pour in billions of their money & doesn't provide a way for their workers to come in. Come on dude. There were 0 american workers at this plant... I understand if 20% of work force was korean. I dont see this happening at a japanese firm. They might hire mexicans illegally there but not import people from japan. There are rumours a lot of these people are new south korean citizens who have defected from north korea.
IndianRenegade Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 (edited) 1 hour ago, G_B_ said: Come on dude. There were 0 american workers at this plant... I understand if 20% of work force was korean. I dont see this happening at a japanese firm. They might hire mexicans illegally there but not import people from japan. There are rumours a lot of these people are new south korean citizens who have defected from north korea. the current employee strength of the plant is reported to be 1200, 300 koreans is 25% of the workforce. Also descriptions of the raid mentions citizens were separated from people on visas. So, I am not sure where you get 0 american workers claim from. The point is when you arm twist people to invest billions into your country, the least you can do is let them know that their employment practices are violating the laws, treating people on B1 visa, visa waiver programs & visa overstays like hardened criminals, chaining them & releasing perp walk videos of it while taking in billions of their investment is going to humiliate them. Edited September 8, 2025 by IndianRenegade
IndianRenegade Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 (edited) someone seems to have been reminded of old grudges. Edited September 8, 2025 by IndianRenegade
G_B_ Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 42 minutes ago, IndianRenegade said: the current employee strength of the plant is reported to be 1200, 300 koreans is 25% of the workforce. Also descriptions of the raid mentions citizens were separated from people on visas. So, I am not sure where you get 0 american workers claim from. The point is when you arm twist people to invest billions into your country, the least you can do is let them know that their employment practices are violating the laws, treating people on B1 visa, visa waiver programs & visa overstays like hardened criminals, chaining them & releasing perp walk videos of it while taking in billions of their investment is going to humiliate them. People saying 1200 was on paper. Hyundai are blaming sub contractors for not hiring locals. Everybody knows hyundai knew what was going on. There are reporedly a lof of phantom "local workers" on paper working at the plant.
IndianRenegade Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 4 minutes ago, G_B_ said: People saying 1200 was on paper. Hyundai are blaming sib contractors for not hiring locals. hmm... may be, but trump admin's policy has generally been gundagiri w/o regard for sensibilities of the party that is trying to give you some wins. The admin sunk Canadaian conservatives who were pro trump with the 51st state nonsense, f#cked up relations with the most pro american, pro trump Indian govt, have forced lopsided deals with all allies. time may be not far away when everyone feels enough is enough.
G_B_ Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 2 hours ago, IndianRenegade said: hmm... may be, but trump admin's policy has generally been gundagiri w/o regard for sensibilities of the party that is trying to give you some wins. The admin sunk Canadaian conservatives who were pro trump with the 51st state nonsense, f#cked up relations with the most pro american, pro trump Indian govt, have forced lopsided deals with all allies. time may be not far away when everyone feels enough is enough. You are confusing two things. Trump has broken no laws (supreme court agrees), just enforced existing ones. The lady who snitched (too be confirmed its authentic) said these were electricians/ mechanics who were doing the job on the cheap (28 usd per hour ) were not adding any new skills or training. Just undercutting labour. Once the factory was set up , upto 1200 would be employed. Ice ran a multiple month long investigation before they raided. Reports state they are still building a case and will come out with with record fines. South Korea has some of the toughest immigration laws in the world. 1 in 4 koreans in the usa are not strictly legal (similar % to Indians). As long as ICE has same protocol be it koreans indians or chinese its fine. Usa reported many indians in shackles with planes landing in Punjab. I think its good as it discourages many. Just cause they are korean ice is supposed to treat them differently? More than actually being caught, koreans insulted that they are being treated same as the global south. That is whay stings them the most. The second point. South korea should never have agreed to any deal. Once you do so (investment in return for 15%) hire American and comply by rules. I think koreans thought it would be business as usual and agreed to investment in exchange for 15%. Got called out.
IndianRenegade Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 (edited) 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: You are confusing two things. Trump has broken no laws (supreme court agrees), just enforced existing ones. the court that whole cloth invented broad immunity to save trump, one that most nuetral legal experts agree had no basis in constiution. The court that even when it rules 9-0 against trump always gives him an out so that he isn't forced to correct what he does. All of trumps egragious EOs can't be blocked by nationwide injunctions but here are some execptions that are vague, so when its a dem president we will say his EOs fall under those exceptions. that court? ok. 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: Ice ran a multiple month long investigation before they raided. Reports state they are still building a case and will come out with with record fines. South Korea has some of the toughest immigration laws in the world. 1 in 4 koreans in the usa are not strictly legal (similar % to Indians). As long as ICE has same protocol be it koreans indians or chinese its fine. Usa reported many indians in shackles with planes landing in Punjab. I think its good as it discourages many. The second point. South korea should never have agreed to any deal. Once you do so (investment in return for 15%) hire American and comply by rules. I think koreans thought it would be business as usual and agreed to investment in exchange for 15%. Got called out. yeah, when the tables are turned, with american companies found to have broken laws in EU, trump just sits there & says its fine, they broke EU laws right? American companies should never accepted to do business in EU with those tough anti-trust laws? nope, he threatens them with Tariffs & tries to bully them. This my laws are laws, while your laws are optional sh!t will work for some time, but it's increasingly clear that US isn't the only cop in town. One day it just won't matter. BTW, the Indian nationals deported were people who had their due process & ordered deported, all the koreans had none of it. At worst they are only accused of breaking the law. Edited September 8, 2025 by IndianRenegade
IndianRenegade Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 Chinese babu's are nbetter tha our babus Beijing’s New Playbook for Trade Talks: Keep Talking but Give No Ground China sent a trade envoy to Washington with a clear message: We’re willing to talk, but we’re not ready to make a deal https://www.wsj.com/world/china/china-new-trade-talk-strategy-49fb1f1a?msockid=086fcd0389c8667720a2d80988a26782
IndianRenegade Posted September 8, 2025 Posted September 8, 2025 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: Just undercutting labour. Once the factory was set up , upto 1200 would be employed. Ice ran a multiple month long investigation before they raided. Reports state they are still building a case and will come out with with record fines. South Korea has some of the toughest immigration laws in the world. 1 in 4 koreans in the usa are not strictly legal (similar % to Indians). As long as ICE has same protocol be it koreans indians or chinese its fine. Usa reported many indians in shackles with planes landing in Punjab. I think its good as it discourages many. Just cause they are korean ice is supposed to treat them differently? More than actually being caught, koreans insulted that they are being treated same as the global south. That is whay stings them the most. The second point. South korea should never have agreed to any deal. Once you do so (investment in return for 15%) hire American and comply by rules. I think koreans thought it would be business as usual and agreed to investment in exchange for 15%. Got called out. btw 1200 is what is said to the current number, once the factory was set up it was supposed to employ 8K+ take it with a pinch of salt but the attorney representing the employees seems to be rejecting claims.
randomGuy Posted September 9, 2025 Posted September 9, 2025 Indian SM alternatives by monthly active users ShareChat → ~300M MAUs Moj → ~160M MAUs Josh → ~150M MAUs Roposo → ~100M MAUs Koo → ~15M MAUs (declining after Twitter rebranding to X) Just checked, sharechat has 50 crore plus playstore downloads mishra and ravishingravi 2
IndianRenegade Posted September 9, 2025 Posted September 9, 2025 What’s this new twist? Indian Brahmin (lol) is visiting dear leader? mishra 1