rangeelaraja Posted February 16, 2025 Posted February 16, 2025 10 hours ago, Chakdephatte said: Keep shifting goalposts. No one is defending this video. No one even talked about it. @Mariyamwas defending his freedom of expression. We are no ones to decide whether he is right or wrong. Disgusting video which you linked, but has nothing to do with the ongoing controversy. All these news anchors and celebrities were silent for long. All this criticism mostly because the 'public' is to earn some quick bucks or limelight, all criticism was started by 'people' on social media. As for the people, it's not that everybody hates it, each episode had 20 million views on Youtube, and countless reels created. So, the 'vulgar' show was appreciated by the people. First of all Mariyam was NOT defending his freedom of speech. Go back and read the thread. She was misinformed that there was Youtube paywall to access this content - which is untrue - this was accessible for free on his youtube channel. Just because people were " silent " for long doesnt make an absolute wrong a right. Not only this subhuman Raina, every other individual who abuses FOE to spread filth in the society needs to pay a price. Otherwise the society is going to descend to levels where kids address their parents with abuses because it is " cool" and some so called "influencer" made it vogue. If there is absolute FOE then people can be free to have s*x in public view. They should be allowed right ? Its their freedom of expression, they are not harming anybody. I have not shifted goalposts, show me where I have, you are clearly clueless.
Mariyam Posted February 17, 2025 Posted February 17, 2025 @rangeelaraja Latent is behind a paywall in India. It is 59 Rs/ month that one has to pay as a subscription fee. Perhaps in the USA it airs for free? From his end, Samay has ensured that the content is available only to those who pay and for that there is an age filter. Solving for show piracy on the internet is not Samay's problem. The entire "young impressionable minds get spoiled and ruined" arguement is rather weak. Pornography is accessible to kids. In many cases alcohol and narcotics too. Some kids are high on their parents power, but yes Samay ke zimme hai Hindustan ke saare bachchon ki parvarish. If they get spoiled it is because of this one show!!! It is a case of bad parenting if their wards are accessing such content regularly. The onus lies with the guardians. I am going to cite a case here, incase you don't believe me. In the early 2000s, the 15 year old son of a former mill owner took his father's Mercedes at night and went for a joy ride with his friends who were also of the same age. He crashed his car at Worli naka against a light pole. Luckily no one was seriously injured. The honourable justice ordered the father to do 3 months in jail and community service. later the sentence was commuted to 1 month in jail. The law is very clear where the responsibility lies in such cases. There is no case against Samay. He hasn't incited someone to violence. Its a closed show. Its akin to passing crude/racist/sexist comments among friends at a party. Does that make you a saint? No. Is it illegal? No. I maybe a humourless git, or I maybe someone who laughs at everything. That is missing the point. Should Samay Raina have the right to say whatever he wishes on a private (adults only) web show? Should people attending have the right to laugh at whatever they find funny? And to answer you question, I have interacted with Samay ( even played a few games against him) during the lock down on his chess streams. I met him at the Olympiad off Chennai. I found him quite witty, and always with a funny repartee. He is almost as funny as me. The Latent show calls for a different type of humour. One that I don't enjoy or watch. So I am not going to comment on that. Lone Wolf and coffee_rules 1 1
Mariyam Posted February 17, 2025 Posted February 17, 2025 On 2/14/2025 at 4:46 PM, AuxiliA said: The police cases are just pressure tactics/playing to the galleries and won't stand in court. Everyone knows that. No one is pelting stones at their homes, doing physical violence against them or doing sar tan se juda stuff. People who are bagging them are just using their Freedom of Expression. People are entitled to do so. People have called Ranvir's parents offices and threatened them. Ranvir also received threats via phone/ whatsapp. Let us at least have the moral fortitude to call a spade a spade here. Those threats are crimes. Whatever Ranvir did, repugnant as it is, is *not* a crime. And for that he shouldn't be treated like a criminal. Assam police have booked him and are calling him to Guwahati for a shakedown, for crying out loud. That is insane.
Lone Wolf Posted February 17, 2025 Posted February 17, 2025 2 hours ago, Mariyam said: @rangeelaraja Latent is behind a paywall in India. It is 59 Rs/ month that one has to pay as a subscription fee. Perhaps in the USA it airs for free? From his end, Samay has ensured that the content is available only to those who pay and for that there is an age filter. Solving for show piracy on the internet is not Samay's problem. The entire "young impressionable minds get spoiled and ruined" arguement is rather weak. Pornography is accessible to kids. In many cases alcohol and narcotics too. Some kids are high on their parents power, but yes Samay ke zimme hai Hindustan ke saare bachchon ki parvarish. If they get spoiled it is because of this one show!!! It is a case of bad parenting if their wards are accessing such content regularly. The onus lies with the guardians. I am going to cite a case here, incase you don't believe me. In the early 2000s, the 15 year old son of a former mill owner took his father's Mercedes at night and went for a joy ride with his friends who were also of the same age. He crashed his car at Worli naka against a light pole. Luckily no one was seriously injured. The honourable justice ordered the father to do 3 months in jail and community service. later the sentence was commuted to 1 month in jail. The law is very clear where the responsibility lies in such cases. There is no case against Samay. He hasn't incited someone to violence. Its a closed show. Its akin to passing crude/racist/sexist comments among friends at a party. Does that make you a saint? No. Is it illegal? No. I maybe a humourless git, or I maybe someone who laughs at everything. That is missing the point. Should Samay Raina have the right to say whatever he wishes on a private (adults only) web show? Should people attending have the right to laugh at whatever they find funny? And to answer you question, I have interacted with Samay ( even played a few games against him) during the lock down on his chess streams. I met him at the Olympiad off Chennai. I found him quite witty, and always with a funny repartee. He is almost as funny as me. The Latent show calls for a different type of humour. One that I don't enjoy or watch. So I am not going to comment on that. The fact that it was behind a paywall and it had Warning signs that it is a adult content and viewer's discretion is needed basically ends any argument. The Alt balaji openly telecasts vulgar content on their app & their founder Ekta Kapoor got friggin Padma Vibhushan/Shree (idk) but it is so Vishwaguru coded lol. Latent was going too big for some reason that other OTT platforms definately had some role to play & stupid Allahbadia provided them a opportunity to put an end to it. coffee_rules 1
coffee_rules Posted February 17, 2025 Posted February 17, 2025 (edited) 19 hours ago, rangeelaraja said: Sorry, that is not true. Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA) Type 1 - costs 16 crore INR. It is a very rare disease but there are 100s of kids all over India who suffer from this given our massive population. Please read this: https://www.thehindu.com/news/national/karnataka/16-crore-drug-is-the-hope-for-sma-patients/article33815217.ece Did you hear the last comment - " 16 crore kharch kiya hai, chal L*** pe ek pushup karke dikha " . Do you find this humorous ? Should this kind of language be normalized ? Do you know 10s of millions of kids in India have access to this kind of rotten filth ? And talking like this becomes like a cultural thing to young impressionable minds, it creates a kind of FOMO effect in young kids, that this is how the world has progressed and if we don't participate, then we will be left behind. Can you imagine what this will do to our most promising demographic group ? The govt should impose an unbearable cost on the sub-human - Samay Raina -and his likes, else we will ruin millions of promising kids, who will try to emulate them. SC has 50k cases pending, lower courts have lakhs of cases pending. And you want to add some frivolous cases. Nothing will happen to his targeted campaign, he will be fined and have to give it in writing that he will not do it again. The society is already rotten with content like Bhojpuri films, soft porn, insta reels. Already explained what comedy is and who finds what funny. This is nothing but vilifying campaign by his detractors, samaj ke thekedaar kissi ko nahin banaye, kids who are 18-20 can make up their minds based on their upbringing . Parents can’t ignore their kids, their friends circle, keep track of what they watch on smartphones that they buy for their teenage kids. Edited February 17, 2025 by coffee_rules
coffee_rules Posted February 17, 2025 Posted February 17, 2025 1 hour ago, Lone Wolf said: The fact that it was behind a paywall and it had Warning signs that it is a adult content and viewer's discretion is needed basically ends any argument. The Alt balaji openly telecasts vulgar content on their app & their founder Ekta Kapoor got friggin Padma Vibhushan/Shree (idk) but it is so Vishwaguru coded lol. Latent was going too big for some reason that other OTT platforms definately had some role to play & stupid Allahbadia provided them an opportunity to put an end to it. Nd that vile woman makes such content on large Hindu joint families and Modi will award her with Padma awards. She does balance out making Godhra kaand movies which the whole cabinet watches on a special screening in the new parliament building Lone Wolf 1
Chakdephatte Posted February 17, 2025 Posted February 17, 2025 (edited) 4 hours ago, Mariyam said: People have called Ranvir's parents offices and threatened them. Ranvir also received threats via phone/ whatsapp. Let us at least have the moral fortitude to call a spade a spade here. Those threats are crimes. Whatever Ranvir did, repugnant as it is, is *not* a crime. And for that he shouldn't be treated like a criminal. Assam police have booked him and are calling him to Guwahati for a shakedown, for crying out loud. That is insane. On 2/14/2025 at 4:46 PM, AuxiliA said: The police cases are just pressure tactics/playing to the galleries and won't stand in court. Everyone knows that. No one is pelting stones at their homes, doing physical violence against them or doing sar tan se juda stuff. People who are bagging them are just using their Freedom of Expression. People are entitled to do so. No one is pelting stones at their homes. What kind of argument is that? Constant cyber bulling and police complaints isn't draconian enough for you? And freedom of expression? WTF? Commenting on their jokes is our freedom of expression, but them telling the joke is not. Completely wrong use of the term. Edited February 17, 2025 by Chakdephatte
Chakdephatte Posted February 18, 2025 Posted February 18, 2025 This video got banned back then-- https://www.instagram.com/reel/DGC5MPKovrV/?igsh=Njh2c3UzajN2dHQ=
AuxiliA Posted February 18, 2025 Posted February 18, 2025 17 hours ago, Mariyam said: People have called Ranvir's parents offices and threatened them. Ranvir also received threats via phone/ whatsapp. Let us at least have the moral fortitude to call a spade a spade here. Those threats are crimes. Whatever Ranvir did, repugnant as it is, is *not* a crime. And for that he shouldn't be treated like a criminal. Assam police have booked him and are calling him to Guwahati for a shakedown, for crying out loud. That is insane. 12 hours ago, Chakdephatte said: No one is pelting stones at their homes. What kind of argument is that? Constant cyber bulling and police complaints isn't draconian enough for you? And freedom of expression? WTF? Commenting on their jokes is our freedom of expression, but them telling the joke is not. Completely wrong use of the term. I don't support the police cases or physical confrontation against them at all, as they are totally needless and gives them a victim card. However online criticism/trolling/abuses are perfectly fair game and comes under FoE. Every celebrity/politician/sportsperson gets trolled online in India, even Modi. These 'comedians', who themselves actively promote abusive content, cannot act holier than thou and cry when they are at the recieving end of online abuses. I also recognise IGL as a mode of FoE and don't want it to be banned, but so is the online backlash against them. Consider this backlash as a public feedback. Things will balance out eventually. coffee_rules 1
rangeelaraja Posted February 18, 2025 Posted February 18, 2025 (edited) 20 hours ago, Mariyam said: @rangeelaraja Latent is behind a paywall in India. It is 59 Rs/ month that one has to pay as a subscription fee. Perhaps in the USA it airs for free? From his end, Samay has ensured that the content is available only to those who pay and for that there is an age filter. Solving for show piracy on the internet is not Samay's problem. The entire "young impressionable minds get spoiled and ruined" arguement is rather weak. Pornography is accessible to kids. In many cases alcohol and narcotics too. Some kids are high on their parents power, but yes Samay ke zimme hai Hindustan ke saare bachchon ki parvarish. If they get spoiled it is because of this one show!!! It is a case of bad parenting if their wards are accessing such content regularly. The onus lies with the guardians. I am going to cite a case here, incase you don't believe me. In the early 2000s, the 15 year old son of a former mill owner took his father's Mercedes at night and went for a joy ride with his friends who were also of the same age. He crashed his car at Worli naka against a light pole. Luckily no one was seriously injured. The honourable justice ordered the father to do 3 months in jail and community service. later the sentence was commuted to 1 month in jail. The law is very clear where the responsibility lies in such cases. There is no case against Samay. He hasn't incited someone to violence. Its a closed show. Its akin to passing crude/racist/sexist comments among friends at a party. Does that make you a saint? No. Is it illegal? No. I maybe a humourless git, or I maybe someone who laughs at everything. That is missing the point. Should Samay Raina have the right to say whatever he wishes on a private (adults only) web show? Should people attending have the right to laugh at whatever they find funny? And to answer you question, I have interacted with Samay ( even played a few games against him) during the lock down on his chess streams. I met him at the Olympiad off Chennai. I found him quite witty, and always with a funny repartee. He is almost as funny as me. The Latent show calls for a different type of humour. One that I don't enjoy or watch. So I am not going to comment on that. @Mariyam - I assume you're not being sarcastic, but the way you're arguing makes me wonder , since you have a law background. @Mariyam Your worst possible argument is is: “In my interactions, he was witty .” That’s your bias, not an argument. Even criminals with blood on their hands have neighbors who say, "Oh, but he was such a kind man! He came to my kid’s birthday party!" Does that make them any less guilty? Obviously not. Beyond India’s Got Latent, his content is full of abusive language. I shared a video where he mocked a critically ill baby. That’s not "edgy"—it’s disgusting and sick. You wouldn’t watch his videos with your family, which says enough. Your comparison with Porn is totally flawed IMO. Porn is regulated or banned because it’s explicitly sexual and it has always been a taboo in India. Samay's content hides behind “comedy” while spreading slander and filth. Just because it lacks sexual visuals doesn’t mean it’s harmless. I’m not calling for legal action, but this needs to be regulated - content of degenerates like him and even OTT platforms . If we don’t, digital spaces will keep rotting, and society will follow. People are fed up with the the well-known escaping consequences—Sanjay Dutt’s parole, the Pune hit-and-run cover-up. So when someone in the spotlight gets pushback, it’s not just about them; it’s pent-up anger at the system. If “adults should choose what they watch” is the standard, should public obscenity be fine too? Free speech has limits. His content crosses them. This isn’t about whether Samay is personally nice or entertaining to some people. It’s about the kind of content we’re allowing to spread unchecked. Justifying his behavior by saying, "Well, I found him witty," completely ignores the bigger issue. If we don’t start holding people accountable for abusing freedom of speech, we’re setting ourselves up for an social media culture that keeps getting worse. And that’s a problem that won’t stay confined to the internet—it will destroy the Indian society's moral fabric...or what is left of it. Edited February 18, 2025 by rangeelaraja
rangeelaraja Posted February 18, 2025 Posted February 18, 2025 (edited) Supreme Court of India entirely concurs with my perspective on this and puts the onus on Central Govt to regulate such content : “ There is something dirty in this person's mind that has been vomited by him through this programme. Just because someone is popular can they take society for granted? The words you have used will make daughters, sisters, parents, and even society feel ashamed" SC didn’t stop at Ranveer. It turned to the center, questioning unchecked flood of explicit content on YouTube and social media. "What is being done about this?" Centre to respond. “ Edited February 18, 2025 by rangeelaraja
Lord Posted February 18, 2025 Posted February 18, 2025 On 2/16/2025 at 1:23 PM, rangeelaraja said: This was apparently after couple in Gujarat used crowdfunding to gather funds to save their baby of a very rare illness. https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/gujarat-couple-raise-rs-16-crore-for-1-injection-to-save-5-month-old-son-from-rare-disorder-2428396/amp/1 This has nothing to do with India’s got latent show - this seems to be one of the regular shows of this subhuman creature - Samay Raina Can’t believe there is an audience that finds this funny. The future of India must be really really bleak if this is how low the so called GenZ has descended to. You find this “witty “ ? @Mariyam @coffee_rules Are suicide jokes allowed? Mariyam and coffee_rules 1 1
coffee_rules Posted February 18, 2025 Posted February 18, 2025 Ranveer should be encountered and his property seized for his alleged connections with terrorists!! Samaj ke rakhwale yeh sab! Lord 1
Lord Posted February 18, 2025 Posted February 18, 2025 39 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Ranveer should be encountered and his property seized for his alleged connections with terrorists!! Samaj ke rakhwale yeh sab! Some people think wearing saffron cholas and knowing some shlokas makes them actual gods and they have authority. Here is another guy issuing death threats. They are far more dangerous than any comedian Mariyam and coffee_rules 2
coffee_rules Posted February 18, 2025 Posted February 18, 2025 2 hours ago, Lord said: Some people think wearing saffron cholas and knowing some shlokas makes them actual gods and they have authority. Here is another guy issuing death threats. They are far more dangerous than any comedian He did good work to unite Hindus beyond caste, but these kind of statements makes him be branded with blind sanghis. Now, he will be remembered for this stupid statement Lord 1
Chakdephatte Posted February 19, 2025 Posted February 19, 2025 (edited) 21 hours ago, Lord said: Some people think wearing saffron cholas and knowing some shlokas makes them actual gods and they have authority. Here is another guy issuing death threats. They are far more dangerous than any comedian Is he aware that hindu scriptures have descriptions of sex and it is reflected in our artwork and architecture? Edited February 19, 2025 by Chakdephatte
Lone Wolf Posted February 21, 2025 Posted February 21, 2025 As expected @Lord connect the dots Lord 1