Air India Flight 171 from Ahmedabad to London Gatwick crashes into medical students' hostel: 280+ fatalities

4 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

At work, we had a luncheon

This itself is a mistake. There are enough meetings where you run into the same people; avara jothe ooTaanu maaDbeka? It's supposed to bring "teams" together. That is BS, IMO. What brings people together is a common purpose to get the work done. Even now, when my dept head or another colleague says, "let's go to lunch to talk about it," I am like "let's just meet in my office and knock it out." 

Back on topic: There is really no point in discussing such matters with anyone. Everyone (including you) is speculating. No one talked about the pilot's mental health until after the indication that he may have physically turned the switch off. In fact, it is not even clear which pilot (if anyone) - Sabharwal or Kunder - did it. So, at this point, everyone has reached a conclusion and no amount of fact-stating will help because everyone will cherry-pick facts that make them feel better and go "see I told you!!"

It's not like a science experiment, where you can argue about the data, and if you don't agree, go and do the experiment again to figure it out. 

Pretty much every question is answered, everything points to pilot error( deliberate or by mistake). Let’s wait for the full Cockpit recording, curious to know who asked the question and who answered it.. Enough with the victim mentality that every county is out to get India… 

17 minutes ago, ash said:

Pretty much every question is answered, everything points to pilot error( deliberate or by mistake). Let’s wait for the full Cockpit recording, curious to know who asked the question and who answered it.. Enough with the victim mentality that every county is out to get India… 

It's all answered in your dumb head. There are enough questions to be asked other than believing the pilots switched off on purpose.

1. What is the meaning of the verbage - transitioned the switched from RUN to OFF? 

2. What about the 2018 FAA advisory and 2025 UK Regulation board rasing questions on Fuel switches transitioning to off based on some certain conditions

3. What is the reason for giving a clean-chit to Boring and GE?

4. Who leaked the prelimnary repry to foreign media much before the official report was released? Why is everybody so convinved that the report suggests pilots switchedd off on purpose? 

5. Nobody is out there to get to India, but who is there protecting Boeing, GE, Honeywell and Tata? Air India is also culpaable in this as much as other companies.

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

What is the meaning of the verbage - transitioned the switched from RUN to OFF? 

2. What about the 2018 FAA advisory and 2025 UK Regulation board rasing questions on Fuel switches transitioning to off based on some certain conditions

4. Who leaked the prelimnary repry to foreign media much before the official report was released? Why is everybody so convinved that the report suggests pilots switchedd off on purpose? 

5. Nobody is out there to get to India, but who is there protecting Boeing, GE, Honeywell and Tata? Air India is also culpaable in this as much as other companies.

1) it means someone turned the switch from run to off , what’s difficult to understand? And both the switches didn’t move to off simultaneously, it moves to off one after the other, clearly indicating it didn’t happen automatically. 

All your other points are tinfoil conspiracy theories. The same FAA who issued the 2018 notice, has now told “although the fuel control switch design, including the locking feature, is similar on various Boeing airplane models, the FAA does not consider this issue to be an unsafe condition that would warrant an Airworthiness Directive on any Boeing airplane models, including the Model 787." Also, all major airlines are checking their fuel switches just to be safe, no one is trusting Boeing blindly. 

Please read more, and don’t just skim the headlines. Also, pls don’t open your mouth during your team lunch, your team may finally understand you are a brain dead Sangh and your job may be in trouble. 

Edited by ash
3 minutes ago, ash said:

1) it means someone turned the switch from run to off , what’s difficult to understand? And both the switches didn’t move to off simultaneously, it moves to off one after the other, clearly indicating it didn’t happen automatically. 

All your other points are tinfoil conspiracy theories. The same FAA who issued the 2018 notice, has now told “although the fuel control switch design, including the locking feature, is similar on various Boeing airplane models, the FAA does not consider this issue to be an unsafe condition that would warrant an Airworthiness Directive on any Boeing airplane models, including the Model 787." Also, all major airlines are checking their fuel switches just to be safe, no one is trusting Boeing blindly. 

Please read more, and don’t just skim the headlines. Also, pls don’t open your mouth during your team lunch, your team may finally understand you are a brain dead Sangh and your job may be in trouble. 

Don’t be a fking moron and assume both switches being “transitioned” to off in one second means it was done manually. It was done in one second which indicates it could bee automatic with a lot of doubt. It takes more time to switch off manually as seen when the switches were turned back on to Run. . Even if it is the case, let it come out eventually in the investigation, and why are you in a hurry to jump on the bandwagon to blame pilots to give a clean-cut to Boeing or Tata in the preliminary investigation. 

As you usual you have not learnt in your hiatus to not argue personally. Everyone is brain dead or moron and you are the only shyaNa around us gracing your presence here.

Back in2018 in  the 737 LionAir crash , Boeing has been trying to blame the Indian pilot, discredit him . After multiple such incidents Boeing has accepted the flaws in that case . To come out in the preliminary investigation to give them a clean-chit is moronic. Listen to Barkha Diutt  or experts from India before jumping on to a conclusion that it is all a conspiracy. 

5 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

It was done in one second which indicates it could bee automatic with a lot of doubt. It takes more time to switch off manually as seen when the switches were turned back on to Run.

A malfunctioning spring loaded switch won’t slide off slowly one after another in one second, in the correct order. And there are already multiple videos that proves it is indeed possibly to switch both off in a second manually. Apparently that is the actual time it takes for all pilots to do it manually.

I am not giving Boeing a clean chit here just based on their statement, it is multiple govt bodies like FAA, AAIB, NTSB, many independent experts, aviation enthusiasts - no one has blamed Boeing till now.

My point here is not about the crash, it is about the attitude of the right wing to have massive inferiority complex and victim mentality that “goras” are against us. You did not say “ ok it looks bad for pilots, but let’s wait more before jumping to conclusion”, you straight away went to a conspiracy that Boeing has paid off FAA, NTSB, AAIB and all the foreign experts and media to blame India. And FYI AAIB is a central govt body, so you are also blaming your Modiji of a coverup 

Edited by ash
11 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

This itself is a mistake. There are enough meetings where you run into the same people; avara jothe ooTaanu maaDbeka? It's supposed to bring "teams" together. That is BS, IMO. What brings people together is a common purpose to get the work done. Even now, when my dept head or another colleague says, "let's go to lunch to talk about it," I am like "let's just meet in my office and knock it out." 

Back on topic: There is really no point in discussing such matters with anyone. Everyone (including you) is speculating. No one talked about the pilot's mental health until after the indication that he may have physically turned the switch off. In fact, it is not even clear which pilot (if anyone) - Sabharwal or Kunder - did it. So, at this point, everyone has reached a conclusion and no amount of fact-stating will help because everyone will cherry-pick facts that make them feel better and go "see I told you!!"

It's not like a science experiment, where you can argue about the data, and if you don't agree, go and do the experiment again to figure it out. 

You are so boring for debates :no:

53 minutes ago, ash said:

A malfunctioning spring loaded switch won’t slide off slowly one after another in one second, in the correct order. And there are already multiple videos that proves it is indeed possibly to switch both off in a second manually. Apparently that is the actual time it takes for all pilots to do it manually.

I am not giving Boeing a clean chit here just based on their statement, it is multiple govt bodies like FAA, AAIB, NTSB, many independent experts, aviation enthusiasts - no one has blamed Boeing till now.

My point here is not about the crash, it is about the attitude of the right wing to have massive inferiority complex and victim mentality that “goras” are against us. You did not say “ ok it looks bad for pilots, but let’s wait more before jumping to conclusion”, you straight away went to a conspiracy that Boeing has paid off FAA, NTSB, AAIB and all the foreign experts and media to blame India. And FYI AAIB is a central govt body, so you are also blaming your Modiji of a coverup 

So, surprised that I didn’t know AIIB is not part of the civil aviation ministry. I am exactly blaming the govt for giving a clean-chit to Boeing. If the switches had the extra locking mechanism , it would take more to lift the switch with three fingers. AI or AIIB has not reported what kind of switch this airplane had. So don’t watch some “gora” expert and jump the gun like many Desi brown sepoys to please your masters.  I never said Boeing has paid off NTSB/FAA but the way the report has been leaked by the so-called western media experts .  it works in Boeing’s interests to safeguard their business which has already taken a lot of hit because of the crash. Many airlines have holding back on their 786 fleet to make all necessary inspections and want to fully make sure. If Boeing is so good, why are they doing their inspections silently.  

8 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Desi brown sepoys

Mate, you literally work for a white guy in a foreign country, you are a definition of a brown sepoy. 

ok let’s blame it on the govt. Let’s ask Modi to resign for conspiring with Boeing. I am okay with it :wp1:

1 hour ago, ash said:

Mate, you literally work for a white guy in a foreign country, you are a definition of a brown sepoy. 

ok let’s blame it on the govt. Let’s ask Modi to resign for conspiring with Boeing. I am okay with it :wp1:

You are stuck on the stereotypes - RW, Sanghi etc, . No point arguing with an idiot like you. Modi is a politician and can do mistakes. You get some good and some not so many 

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

You are stuck on the stereotypes - RW, Sanghi etc, . No point arguing with an idiot like you. Modi is a politician and can do mistakes. You get some good and some not so many 

I call you a brown sepoy Sanghi because you are a keyboard warrior who will talk about “goras” online furiously, but every morning go to work for them, worried about your H1B status.  If goras are so racist and bad, why work for them mate?? 

So you are saying that Modi govt took bribe/ or was pressured by Boeing to give a false report?? I don’t like Modi, but even I won’t go to that extent to blame him like this :wp1:

15 minutes ago, ash said:

I call you a brown sepoy Sanghi because you are a keyboard warrior who will talk about “goras” online furiously, but every morning go to work for them, worried about your H1B status.  If goras are so racist and bad, why work for them mate?? 

So you are saying that Modi govt took bribe/ or was pressured by Boeing to give a false report?? I don’t like Modi, but even I won’t go to that extent to blame him like this :wp1:

I know you are a troll. But will indulge you.  

I don’t work for goras unlike you , 

No , you idiot. I am not saying Modi govt took a bribe. Call it incompetence of Babus who produced this preliminary report or someone is compromised. Nobody from opposition media is also not questioning this govt . Get some competent opposition. 

i guess.. yeh sab tumhare samajh ke bahar hain!  Dravidian buddhu!!

@ash

Tbh...the purpose of preliminary report is to ensure the safety loopholes. But given the history with Boeing, they are quick to shift the blame onto airlines or crew (they did the same during Lionair accident as well, and blamed the airlines/crew).

The report has not given any clarity so far on either causes, neither it says if there was machine malfunction, nor it says it was pilot error...only one thing is confirmed, that switches did move their places. 

Anyway, lets just wait for final report. Everyone knows that Boeing will do anything to save their face, maybe even bribe the officials as well. Modi govt and its ministers arent personally sitting in the labs of Boeing...so passing the blame to them is immature and childish.

13 hours ago, coffee_rules said:

It's all answered in your dumb head. There are enough questions to be asked other than believing the pilots switched off on purpose.

1. What is the meaning of the verbage - transitioned the switched from RUN to OFF? 

That FAA advisory wasn't issued for 787 planes. 

3 hours ago, rkt.india said:

And The 2025 Uk advisory is apparently a 2015 version they republished because they had a change in a phone number used in the report. But cannot use logic in the forum..

4 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

history with Boeing

Again like I said, I am not believing Boeing alone, it is FAA, NTSB, AAIB, I think even UK sent a team. Now are we supposed to believe Boeing somehow bribed all these govt agencies?? 

Even I am saying let’s wait for the investigation to proceed, my point is there is no conspiracy against India, the experts with the data they have now are proposing the most probable scenario. No use in playing the “White man bad, Indian Is targeted “ card here. 

I don't think there is any conspiracy against India. But I do think this incident like many others have shown where India is at world stage. 

Air India cannot come out of this scott free, their maintenance of aircrafts is utrocious at best. The aircrafts which they operate between JFK and New Delhi were so scary as late as in 2024 October.It is one of the worst airlines in the world.

For me it’s two things that tilts it towards one scenario:

1: This flight was flown multiple times during which the fuel switches would have been used. So they would have reported them malfunctioning. Now the likelihood of both malfunctioning as a new event at the same time is very unlikely 

2: The duration between the switch action was 1 second. Now if they malfunctioned or moved due to vibration, that can still occur with that gap but that’s just one sub scenario out of many possible gap scenarios. On the other hand, if u do them intentionally, the one second gap is the most likely gap interval.

Some lthink the the argument is that tIndia is the target. No, focus is on Boeing. It is Boeing that is the culprit and always tries to get away when third world countries are involved. When they are involved with NTSB/FAA they are taken to task with hefty fines and lawsuits 

8 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Yes it included 787 models.

2018 advisory from the FAA referenced the Boeing 787 in relation to fuel control switches
Specifically, a December 2018 FAA bulletin advised inspections on several Boeing models, including the 787, after reports of some 737s having fuel control switches installed with the locking feature disengaged. The advisory warned that a disengaged locking feature could allow the switch to be moved without lifting, potentially causing inadvertent engine shutdowns. This advisory was not mandatory, so airlines weren't required to conduct the inspections. 

https://www.airlineratings.com/articles/which-airlines-are-ordering-fuel-switch-checks-and-why

Many airlines are checking their airplanes after the crash for flaws in fuel switches. They wouldn’t do so if they were safe even after FAA and Boeing gave themselves a clean chit that they are safe!

https://www.reuters.com/world/india/india-orders-its-airlines-check-fuel-switches-boeing-jets-2025-07-14/