dial_100 Posted June 30, 2008 Posted June 30, 2008 SRT needs to prove that he can play a kwuality kricket like GG and petu. Until then he should play for some counties or domestic. A VB series against minnows (Aus) does not prove his kwality. No!! Jokes aparts, he should be very selective but I dont think there is any reason why VS or GG cannot be moved frm opening for SRT. Well SRT himself was demoted to #4 in GC's time just to try new opening pair. It didn't work. So if SRT is movable then so are VS/GG. Let GG play 1 down in big games. It will be good to have 1 of the 3 coming 1 down with ease of pressure with YS, MSD and Pathans to follow. Dont we know commonality in Gambo and SRT???:haha: Both want every innings they play classified as "Hall of Fame".
jf1gp_1 Posted June 30, 2008 Posted June 30, 2008 They are being given a long run ... each of them has played decent no.of ODIs ... and more importanatly SRT has stepped aside on his own accord for newbies to get the experience ... but the point is we couldnt afford to have anyone else take his spot in that CB series just because there is this need to try new guys as SRT is fast approaching the end of his career .... you might have had a case had it been for example a no name series like Kitply cup. Sharma is 20 game old. May not be a fair comparision but do compare Rohit sharma and Sachin's number after 20 games and why keep talking about VB series. What about WC 07 ? Wouldnt you call it a team failure or you still want to blame individuals ?
The Outsider Posted July 1, 2008 Posted July 1, 2008 India's ODI team needs Tendulkar and is stronger with him in the side, but that's not really the end of the issue here. Tendulkar's body is a disaster waiting to happen. At present he has been unable to get through an entire season of cricket without getting seriously injured causing months of absence. At some point, sooner rather than later, he has to make the call of how much and what brand of cricket he wants to play. Although I would love him to play test cricket for a few years, ultimately it's his choice which must be respected. If he prefers T20, so be it. My personal hunch is that he will call it a day from ODIs after the Champions Trophy and taking one last shot at winning a major ODI tournament in his career. There are 15 tests coming up against SL, Australia, England, Pakistan, and NZ in the coming season and it would be stupid on part of Tendulkar to keep on expending himself in ODIs after CT.
amits Posted July 1, 2008 Posted July 1, 2008 more than tendulkar, our odi team currently needs shikhar dhawan
Holysmoke Posted July 1, 2008 Posted July 1, 2008 more than tendulkar' date=' our odi team currently needs shikhar dhawan[/quote'] :wall: PS- sorry for the smiley post, but nothing conveys my emotions better.
Desi Cartman Posted July 1, 2008 Posted July 1, 2008 I agree that his body is a wreck and he needs to play selective ODIs and test matches. I dont understand why he played in IPL when he was half fit. I hope he plays only Big ODI tournaments and test matches NO IPL or T20 pls
Dhondy Posted July 1, 2008 Posted July 1, 2008 The moment Rohit Sharma started reminiscing about his pauper days, implying somehow that he had arrived, I knew he was a gonner. For a 20 year old to talk like that after a couple of innings shows the IPLization (or 20-20isation, if you like) of Indian cricket. A fat bank balance, making players feel rather well off and comfortable, leading to the inevitable decline. Here's one player you can write off, folks.
sandtest Posted July 1, 2008 Posted July 1, 2008 Here's one player you can write off, folks. " Triyaa Charitram, Purushashya Bhagyam" -- One can never know the character of a woman and destiny of a man! They can reverse at any moment. Rohit will rise from the ashes. All one need to do is fire him up by dropping and replacing with Venugopals and Tiwarys. Some times humiliation, reincarnates a person and makes him iron willed Saurav Ganguly. Rohit's talent and technique can't be written off in a jiffy. Though I agree a cloud of complacency generated due to cash flow has marred this young mans thrist for runmaking.
SachDan Posted July 1, 2008 Posted July 1, 2008 more than tendulkar' date=' our odi team currently needs shikhar dhawan[/quote'] Yup Amits....Absolutely right! ICF was looking for a joker in the pack....thanx a lot for embracing it whole heartedly!
flamy Posted July 1, 2008 Posted July 1, 2008 more than tendulkar' date=' our odi team currently needs shikhar dhawan[/quote'] puǝbǝ1 ɐ sı sʇıɯɐ
Cricketics Posted July 3, 2008 Posted July 3, 2008 CHEERS SEHWAG-GAMBHIR combo in every big chase you need your openers to give you a good start. in natwest final when we won when kaif and yuvi performed beyond our expectations, lot of people forgot to give the real credit to Ganguly and sehwag, who gave us a blistering start. here, we should not forget these two champions of India. THREE CHEERS FOR GAMBHIR-SEHWAG COMBO WELL DONE INDIA. :two_thumbs_up: DHONI :hatsoff:
Dirty_South Posted July 3, 2008 Posted July 3, 2008 arey yaar....this thread is not req now...pls lock this ....re-open after the Final...I don't want 'em to fail in the most imp match of the Tourney :nervous:
King Tendulkar Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 Could have done with that old timer Sachin yesterday!:D
Guest dada_rocks Posted July 7, 2008 Posted July 7, 2008 Actually both these youg guns along wiht Sachin possibly even dada is needed
zubinpepsi Posted February 2, 2009 Posted February 2, 2009 tbh, SRT looks redudant in ODIS atleast in the subcontinet flat pitches.. we have enought FTBS who can beat the crap out of the opponents unless some surprise element like mendis rings in... SRT shud quit playing ODIs in the subcontinent .. he is needed for tests and odis overseas....