Two burning questions

(1) How come there was not ball-shape controversy in Manchester? Did Dukes Balls Pvt Ltd get their manufacturing fixed in 9 days? 

(2) Why do these English cricket places have so many names? I can't keep it straight in my head at all .... Leeds hai ki Headingley? What is  the diff between Edgbaston and Old Trafford ... or wait is that Birmingham and Old Trafford is Manchester? 

11 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

(1) How come there was not ball-shape controversy in Manchester? Did Dukes Balls Pvt Ltd get their manufacturing fixed in 9 days? 

(2) Why do these English cricket places have so many names? I can't keep it straight in my head at all .... Leeds hai ki Headingley? What is  the diff between Edgbaston and Old Trafford ... or wait is that Birmingham and Old Trafford is Manchester? 

how long have you been watching cricket? and how old are you?

Its like asking what is diff between Eden Gardens and Wankhede

16 minutes ago, LordPrabhzy said:

how long have you been watching cricket? and how old are you?

Its like asking what is diff between Eden Gardens and Wankhede

Long enough to be extremely confused. 

Pehle waala savaal ka jawaab do yaar koi. 

24 minutes ago, Lord said:

2) Ground names and city names :dontknow:

I thought old Trafford was a town or village name. And headingley too. Sound like it.

Eden garden doesn't sound like a town name. Nor does Narendramodi or ChinnaSwamt or FerozeShah or ArunJaitley. 

8 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

I thought old Trafford was a town or village name. And headingley too. Sound like it.

Eden garden doesn't sound like a town name. Nor does Narendramodi or ChinnaSwamt or FerozeShah or ArunJaitley. 

Yes they are people 

42 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Headingley, Edgbaston and Old Trafford are localities within the cities Leeds, Birmingham and Manchester.

The cricket stadiums are named after the areas where the stadiums are located. An example this is similar to  Chepauk which is a locality in Chennai.

6 minutes ago, lemsip said:

Headingley, Edgbaston and Old Trafford are localities within the cities Leeds, Birmingham and Manchester.

The cricket stadiums are named after the areas where the stadiums are located. An example this is similar to  Chepauk which is a locality in Chennai.

Good example.  They fondly call it chepauk more than MA Chidambaram. 

7 hours ago, BacktoCricaddict said:

Ok, 2nd question answered. 

First one? Why did the balls not go out of shape in the stadium located in the Old Trafford locality of Manchester?

ECB was probably doing cost cutting by acquiring cheap balls in the first two tests. Last two tests, balls did fine. No out of shape early incident.

2 hours ago, Number said:

London - Lords / The Oval

Birmingham - Edgbaston 

Leeds - Headingley

Southampton - Rose bowl

Manchester - Old Trafford

Rose Bowl is now Ageas Bowl

15 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Lords is in London. Kensington oval is also in London.  So they can differentiate it by calling OVal and Lords.

Small nitpick

Kennington Oval in London (Oval or Kia Oval).

Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados.

3 minutes ago, Scarface said:

Small nitpick

Kennington Oval in London (Oval or Kia Oval).

Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados.

Ya.. slipped it :) GOod catch. Anyway they are all oval shaped

Edited by vvvslaxman