kepler37b Posted August 21, 2025 Posted August 21, 2025 There has been a sudden explosion of anger against Marwari community on telugu twitter. I am on fence on this one. The way marwaris co-operate and push other retailers out of business is from the playbook of mafia. There are tales of his native telugu vyshyas have been pushed away from retail businesses by this mafia. For example, the business of tiles is completely dominated by them. But I will have to concede their resilience, staying away from vices and risk taking ability. This is not necessarily related to language. But the clash of economic interests.
singhvivek141 Posted August 21, 2025 Posted August 21, 2025 1 hour ago, kepler37b said: There has been a sudden explosion of anger against Marwari community on telugu twitter. I am on fence on this one. The way marwaris co-operate and push other retailers out of business is from the playbook of mafia. There are tales of his native telugu vyshyas have been pushed away from retail businesses by this mafia. For example, the business of tiles is completely dominated by them. But I will have to concede their resilience, staying away from vices and risk taking ability. This is not necessarily related to language. But the clash of economic interests. I see it as a typical case of Socialism/Communism. If you're not able to compete, simply start calling the one who's doing well as thieves, mafias and goons to humiliate them. Go to Bengaluru and similar resentment is amongst Kannada businessmen as well, coz Reddy's dominate the businesses followed by Tamilians. Mumbai has similar issues with Gujarati's, as they lead the market. Muslims in Hyderabad dominate the Biryani industry, very hard for a Teluguite to make his name. Not to mention, many Muslims don't even visit the restaurants like Kritunga, Kinara Grand coz they "feel" they uses "jhatka" chicken and not the halal. Even the Sneha Chicken center has to sell Halal meat only and has to pay lakhs of rupees just to get halal certified. Lord and raki05 2
kepler37b Posted August 21, 2025 Author Posted August 21, 2025 56 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: I see it as a typical case of Socialism/Communism. If you're not able to compete, simply start calling the one who's doing well as thieves, mafias and goons to humiliate them. Go to Bengaluru and similar resentment is amongst Kannada businessmen as well, coz Reddy's dominate the businesses followed by Tamilians. Mumbai has similar issues with Gujarati's, as they lead the market. Muslims in Hyderabad dominate the Biryani industry, very hard for a Teluguite to make his name. Not to mention, many Muslims don't even visit the restaurants like Kritunga, Kinara Grand coz they "feel" they uses "jhatka" chicken and not the halal. Even the Sneha Chicken center has to sell Halal meat only and has to pay lakhs of rupees just to get halal certified. There is NO problem at all with marwari language and culture and food. And their festivals. The problem is their tribalism and using that strength to push out others from business. This holds true for muslims too. Hence, they are being criticised as a group. I see this marwari caste tribalism as a road block for pan Hindu identity. This is yet an another casteism that has been tolerated for long and deserves to be challenged for progress of hindutva.
kepler37b Posted August 21, 2025 Author Posted August 21, 2025 BJP should stop this chooran of merchants and industrialists. You are fast loosing the support of non Hindi speaking hindus and also the upwardly mobile salaried class.
mishra Posted August 21, 2025 Posted August 21, 2025 (edited) Think Marwaris Jainis Punjabis and Gujjus are good at Business. But always heard from them non Marwaris that they are no match to Marwaris. When I was in Kolkata, There were two sweet shop. Competing with each other. 1. Tiwari Brothers 2. Haldiram Infact Some prefered Tiwari Brothers over Haldiram. Even in those days, Being local, I remember a gossip that one child of Haldiram lost Rs 10 lakh in share market. Probably it will be in tune nearly hundred crores in todays currency. And shop went nearly bankrupt. Today "Haldiram" is a global Brand. Because as above example mentioned, they can take risk. So accept the Marwaris as it is. PS: Everyone knows, Sirajudaulah was beaten by Clive, Not many know that Seth Manikchand pulled the financial backing off Sirajuaulah. Hence, a King must always take care of rich of your Society. US does the same. Only chewts and good for nothing speak against these people out of Jealosy and fact that simply because they cant compete Edited August 21, 2025 by mishra
kepler37b Posted August 21, 2025 Author Posted August 21, 2025 1 hour ago, mishra said: Think Marwaris Jainis Punjabis and Gujjus are good at Business. But always heard from them non Marwaris that they are no match to Marwaris. When I was in Kolkata, There were two sweet shop. Competing with each other. 1. Tiwari Brothers 2. Haldiram Infact Some prefered Tiwari Brothers over Haldiram. Even in those days, Being local, I remember a gossip that one child of Haldiram lost Rs 10 lakh in share market. Probably it will be in tune nearly hundred crores in todays currency. And shop went nearly bankrupt. Today "Haldiram" is a global Brand. Because as above example mentioned, they can take risk. So accept the Marwaris as it is. PS: Everyone knows, Sirajudaulah was beaten by Clive, Not many know that Seth Manikchand pulled the financial backing off Sirajuaulah. Hence, a King must always take care of rich of your Society. US does the same. Only chewts and good for nothing speak against these people out of Jealosy and fact that simply because they cant compete Clive had better tactics and better trained men and better weapons. The help from merchants is not the lone factor. I know people personally who lost due to this marwari mafia. They are definitely not chewt or jealous. Calling them with abusive terms does not give the solution to the problem. FYI, I am not at all abusing their culture. It is just that they should treat a marwari and a non marwari on equal basis on business dealings. Stan AF 1
kepler37b Posted August 21, 2025 Author Posted August 21, 2025 Look at the comments beneath the video...it is a pan indian sentiment.
singhvivek141 Posted August 21, 2025 Posted August 21, 2025 2 hours ago, kepler37b said: Clive had better tactics and better trained men and better weapons. The help from merchants is not the lone factor. I know people personally who lost due to this marwari mafia. They are definitely not chewt or jealous. Calling them with abusive terms does not give the solution to the problem. FYI, I am not at all abusing their culture. It is just that they should treat a marwari and a non marwari on equal basis on business dealings. I have been friends with few Marwari's. One thing I noticed them that from childhood itself, they are being taught the value of money. Plus, despite living so far away from their homeland, they dont leave their culture and follow all the traditions, which helps them forming a strong bond within their community no matter where they go, which eventually translates to their business priorities as well.
kepler37b Posted August 21, 2025 Author Posted August 21, 2025 37 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: I have been friends with few Marwari's. One thing I noticed them that from childhood itself, they are being taught the value of money. Plus, despite living so far away from their homeland, they dont leave their culture and follow all the traditions, which helps them forming a strong bond within their community no matter where they go, which eventually translates to their business priorities as well. There is a shop run by sikh guy near my parents home from 1990. My parents have been buying steel utensils from his store for 30 years. This guy is warm/outgoing/curios to explore new things. Unfortunately i do not see this in the marwari guys.
bharathh Posted August 22, 2025 Posted August 22, 2025 Everywhere politicians find that scapegoating others for your own ills is a great way to distract people from problems while presenting 0 solutions. Happening all around the world. Social media is an easy and great way to amplify these voices with bots and paid influencers. Easier to do this that fix anything. It's working out great for those intending to divide and rule. Not surprising at all. Cong states esp are masters at amplifying this. diga and randomGuy 1 1
randomGuy Posted August 22, 2025 Posted August 22, 2025 It is always a pleasure to see the beautiful, hardworking intelligent marwari people in their shops in south India...to talk in my first language Hindi.
Gollum Posted August 22, 2025 Posted August 22, 2025 (edited) One good thing about Marwaris is they always adapt to local culture, language, customs, politics. They dominate the business scene in Kolkata as well, very united tight knit community. Also their kids do very well academically...know them as humble, hard working folks. Edited August 22, 2025 by Gollum Lord 1
Gollum Posted August 22, 2025 Posted August 22, 2025 49 minutes ago, randomGuy said: It is always a pleasure to see the beautiful, hardworking intelligent marwari people in their shops in south India...to talk in my first language Hindi. Your first language isn't Sindhi?
kepler37b Posted August 22, 2025 Author Posted August 22, 2025 1 hour ago, bharathh said: Everywhere politicians find that scapegoating others for your own ills is a great way to distract people from problems while presenting 0 solutions. Happening all around the world. Social media is an easy and great way to amplify these voices with bots and paid influencers. Easier to do this that fix anything. It's working out great for those intending to divide and rule. Not surprising at all. Cong states esp are masters at amplifying this. Not in this case. Stan AF 1
bharathh Posted August 22, 2025 Posted August 22, 2025 20 minutes ago, kepler37b said: Not in this case. Not sure I understand. How is this case different?
kepler37b Posted August 22, 2025 Author Posted August 22, 2025 3 minutes ago, bharathh said: Not sure I understand. How is this case different? Already posted: 22 hours ago, kepler37b said: There is NO problem at all with marwari language and culture and food. And their festivals. The problem is their tribalism and using that strength to push out others from business. This holds true for muslims too. Hence, they are being criticised as a group. I see this marwari caste tribalism as a road block for pan Hindu identity. This is yet an another casteism that has been tolerated for long and deserves to be challenged for progress of hindutva.
randomGuy Posted August 22, 2025 Posted August 22, 2025 36 minutes ago, Gollum said: Your first language isn't Sindhi? First language is hindi, mother tongue is Sindhi.
randomGuy Posted August 22, 2025 Posted August 22, 2025 38 minutes ago, Gollum said: One good thing about Marwaris is they always adapt to local culture, language, customs, politics. They dominate the business scene in Kolkata as well, very united tight knit community. Also their kids do very well academically...know them as humble, hard working folks. In IIT top 100, you will find 30-40% baniya surnames...i guess this year also, 1st and 2nd ranks were both baniya surnames. Telugu folks are also equally fantastic probably 25-30% selections combined from the 2 telugu states alone!!
bharathh Posted August 22, 2025 Posted August 22, 2025 9 minutes ago, kepler37b said: Already posted: Unity is strength. Nothing wrong with that. That's how everything works. You think the Reddy and Khamma garus are all lone rangers? They own half the land in TN and Karnataka. They didn't get that way by being alone. They work as a group as well. All this is political eyewash.
kepler37b Posted August 22, 2025 Author Posted August 22, 2025 33 minutes ago, bharathh said: Unity is strength. Nothing wrong with that. That's how everything works. You think the Reddy and Khamma garus are all lone rangers? They own half the land in TN and Karnataka. They didn't get that way by being alone. They work as a group as well. All this is political eyewash. ..half the land? You must be joking. The unity among Telugu castes only comes during movie release. And of course this is political. The traditionally merchant castes are being challenged by upwardly mobile BC and SC castes. They want to be entrepreneurs too. I believe this is the main reason behind this hungama.