Just now, pkmmamks said:

I did. 80 years old. They have served YOUR country and want to die here. The Army over 5 generations.

nikal Love de. tere jaise deshbhakt bahut dekhe hain.

US chale gaye rehne. VISA hua  nahi to aa jaate hai munh latka ke

bye bye

Save them from amrit kaal bro. Your family needs powerful saviours like you. Surely they must understand your pain at seeing a PM talk about radars and clouds. 

5 gen in the army. Sure. What happened to you?

13 minutes ago, bharathh said:

Save them from amrit kaal bro. Your family needs powerful saviours like you. Surely they must understand your pain at seeing a PM talk about radars and clouds. 

5 gen in the army. Sure. What happened to you?

left it for people like you to show deshbhakti. go on and make your country proud. fill the potholes

2 minutes ago, pkmmamks said:

left it for people like you to show deshbhakti. go on and make your country proud. fill the potholes

At least I can living in this country. Btw - just saw that your president stopped the war between Aberbaijan and Albania. That is some achievemnt. Congratulations! Some feat that!

1 minute ago, bharathh said:

At least I can living in this country. Btw - just saw that your president stopped the war between Aberbaijan and Albania. That is some achievemnt. Congratulations! Some feat that!

I also live in YOUR country only

my PRESIDENT also stopped the India Pak war, he claims. and he also imposed tarrifs.

Make YOUR country proud. Go fill the potholes

Just now, pkmmamks said:

I also live in YOUR country only

my PRESIDENT also stopped the India Pak war, he claims. and he also imposed tarrifs.

Make YOUR country proud. Go fill the potholes

Unless he's a Mayor or high ranking officer in PWD...he or anyone of us can't unfortunately.

Though one thing we all can do is pay taxes and put the pressure on our local politicians to do their job, else, we'll thwart them. Sadly, only 3-4% of Indians pay Income tax and that too mostly from the salaried class (which I assume has majority in ICF). Business do pay corporate or other taxes but govt can't pressurize them more coz they're the employment generating factor. Less, I talk about Agricultural sector the better.

1 minute ago, singhvivek141 said:

Unless he's a Mayor or high ranking officer in PWD...he or anyone of us can't unfortunately.

Though one thing we all can do is pay taxes and put the pressure on our local politicians to do their job, else, we'll thwart them. Sadly, only 3-4% of Indians pay Income tax and that too mostly from the salaried class (which I assume has majority in ICF). Business do pay corporate or other taxes but govt can't pressurize them more coz they're the employment generating factor. Less, I talk about Agricultural sector the better.

its sarcasm bhai. Look how he is going after me. He ran away to the US for his job. I dont expect him to fill potholes here.

BTW, locals have been doing it in may places. Ill share as an example. I have shared how people are losing lives because of potholes.

I dont expect any improvement on this front 

2 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

We actually filled the potholes on our road with some concrete and cement that was leftover from some home projects. We got sick of pleading the damn BBMP to do anything about it and did our own unscientific filling of the potholes. Funnily enough those patches are lasting longer than the patchworks of the BBMP.

We also have a weekend garbage pickup with the kids from the apartments from our road. Hopefully the next gen is better with these things than us. 

5 minutes ago, pkmmamks said:

its sarcasm bhai. Look how he is going after me. He ran away to the US for his job. I dont expect him to fill potholes here.

BTW, locals have been doing it in may places. Ill share as an example. I have shared how people are losing lives because of potholes.

Yes you have truly shamed me. 

3 minutes ago, pkmmamks said:

Got it, the potholes discussion reminded me of panchayat webseries election, where it was used as a weapon to gain the votes.
Tbh, we too did the same in our village panchayat election, and used it to get the road constructed by Sarpanch. They had to do the same coz there was a fear of loss.

Sadly, PWD workers don't have any such obligation, and the ministry of roadways is focussing on expanding the road infra in border towns of NE. It's like completing a project, handover it to support and move on to the next project. But the people managing the support department are incompetent and that leads to loss of the client contract.

7 minutes ago, bharathh said:

We actually filled the potholes on our road with some concrete and cement that was leftover from some home projects. We got sick of pleading the damn BBMP to do anything about it and did our own unscientific filling of the potholes. Funnily enough those patches are lasting longer than the patchworks of the BBMP.

We also have a weekend garbage pickup with the kids from the apartments from our road. Hopefully the next gen is better with these things than us. 

I'm hopeful as well, the next gen are mostly less corrupt than the previous ones (as per my personal experience). My experience with Passport office and police verification process 10 years back and now is vastly different and quite positive. I'm assuming it will continue to improve.

5 hours ago, bharathh said:

Yes you have truly shamed me. 

I have no such intentions. 

do ponder if you have shamed your country though.

This is what people like calling anyone who raises any issue or questions the govt.

Congressi, Pakistani, Khalistani, Chd lobby, American also now ....what else? 

6 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

Got it, the potholes discussion reminded me of panchayat webseries election, where it was used as a weapon to gain the votes.
Tbh, we too did the same in our village panchayat election, and used it to get the road constructed by Sarpanch. They had to do the same coz there was a fear of loss.

Sadly, PWD workers don't have any such obligation, and the ministry of roadways is focussing on expanding the road infra in border towns of NE. It's like completing a project, handover it to support and move on to the next project. But the people managing the support department are incompetent and that leads to loss of the client contract.

Kitna kar loge. and the more you do the more the responsible ones will sit back and relax. 

This menace can take lives, cause accidents, screw your back and convert two lane roads into one lane roads or no roads.

Below are some famous names / examples where people have taken it up on themselves to tackle this menace.

https://thelogicalindian.com/pothole/

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-35966747

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cities/bengaluru-news/bengaluru-apartment-residents-fix-potholes-themselves-after-repeated-pleas-to-bbmp-go-unheard-101755339680418.html

https://indianexpress.com/article/lifestyle/life-positive/i-didnt-cry-i-learnt-to-fight-dadarao-bilhore-the-man-behind-making-mumbai-pothole-free-road-accidents-5741688/

1 hour ago, pkmmamks said:

Kitna kar loge. and the more you do the more the responsible ones will sit back and relax. 

This menace can take lives, cause accidents, screw your back and convert two lane roads into one lane roads or no roads.

Below are some famous names / examples where people have taken it up on themselves to tackle this menace.

https://thelogicalindian.com/pothole/

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-35966747

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cities/bengaluru-news/bengaluru-apartment-residents-fix-potholes-themselves-after-repeated-pleas-to-bbmp-go-unheard-101755339680418.html

https://indianexpress.com/article/lifestyle/life-positive/i-didnt-cry-i-learnt-to-fight-dadarao-bilhore-the-man-behind-making-mumbai-pothole-free-road-accidents-5741688/

The problem is much more deep rooted in pwd.

But if we try to get rid of the root cause then it will shake so many things.

For example, incompetence is one of the major reasons of failure in govt sector in comparison to pvt. and we know reservation plays a key role.

Secondly, there is no penalty in govt. sector. Ek baar job lagi to retirement tak chipke raho, chahe kaam karo ya nahi. Pvt sector me you will be penalized for non performance.

Baaki you know, that an incompetent boss will always try to demoralize the hardworking ones. Govt me jo dhang ka kaam karta hai he also loses all motivation seeing all this.

Edited by singhvivek141

I have no idea what you guys are squabbling over @pkmmamks @bharathh or how it is relevant to the topic.

However, In most Indian Metros, filling potholes is illegal. 
In Mumbai, BMC have filed cases against citizens for filing potholes. And the BMC has even won some of these cases.

Their argument being that ‘substandard material’ was used to fill the pothole. Ironic as it sounds.

On 9/24/2025 at 7:52 PM, Mariyam said:

I have no idea what you guys are squabbling over @pkmmamks @bharathh or how it is relevant to the topic.

In Mumbai, BMC have filed cases against citizens for filing potholes. And the BMC has even won some of these cases.

Their argument being that ‘substandard material’ was used to fill the pothole. Ironic as it sounds.

I fed the troll unfortunately. 

On 9/24/2025 at 7:52 PM, Mariyam said:

:hysterical:

Some locals have done it. 

Pot and hole separately some can live with but when they are combined it can be a nightmare