vvvslaxman Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 Just now, Chaos said: But FOUR spinners in test team? Wtf? Gambhir is making this team worse by the day
Chaos Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 Just now, vvvslaxman said: Gambhir is making this team worse by the day Chalo, we both will play next test. Ask ur nephews to bowl at u n practise batting or he wont pick u
maniac Posted November 21, 2025 Author Posted November 21, 2025 2 minutes ago, Chaos said: Chalo, we both will play next test. Ask ur nephews to bowl at u n practise batting or he wont pick u His nephew Washington needs to improve bowling practice more than stokeless batting Chaos 1
Chaos Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 1 minute ago, maniac said: His nephew Washington needs to improve bowling practice more than stokeless batting He was our highest scorer last innings maniac 1
Chaos Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 2 minutes ago, maniac said: His nephew Washington needs to improve bowling practice more than stokeless batting But he can bowl to @vvvslaxman to get him rdy. Dunno if he is ideal bowler to get him rdy or street bowler from anna bridge
vvvslaxman Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 4 minutes ago, maniac said: His nephew Washington needs to improve bowling practice more than stokeless batting He is everyone's nephew . But for him we would have suffered more embarrassing losses in recent times. Certain series loss in England. He set up win at Lords too. But we failed with bat. Intent merchant Jaiswal could not even chase 190 maniac 1
vvvslaxman Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 I prefer players who steps up in crisis. Tilak varma is not exactly blessed with high strike appraoch in the middle phase. But he stepped up twice in his career already under pressure. I don't care if they have 100 different shots if they don't step up in crisis. rollingstoned 1
Vk1 Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 8 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: I prefer players who steps up in crisis. Tilak varma is not exactly blessed with high strike appraoch in the middle phase. But he stepped up twice in his career already under pressure. I don't care if they have 100 different shots if they don't step up in crisis. you need mix of players.. That kind of player is definitely being missed if you ignore Pant
vvvslaxman Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 (edited) 5 minutes ago, Vk1 said: you need mix of players.. That kind of player is definitely being missed if you ignore Pant All said and done players have to rise to the occasion. Jurel did a couple of times in his debut series. Two soft dismissals in this test. Hope he makes up for it. Ashwin and Vihari did a great 43 over blockathan something these intent merchants can't do. That was after Pant left Australian bowling shell shocked. So we had both type of players. We expect everyone to play the same way. That is not going to work. You play to your abilities in the best way possible. If you talk about Kela does he do that? Never. he invariably gets out right after his partner gets out. That has been his pattern. Edited November 21, 2025 by vvvslaxman Vk1 1
lemsip Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 12 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: But against Harmer he was totally out of place. First time i see him genuinely struggling to pick what was coming. 23 balls 5 runs 18 dots 5 singles. Bear in mind it was his first game back after a long injury break.
Vk1 Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 1 hour ago, vvvslaxman said: All said and done players have to rise to the occasion. Jurel did a couple of times in his debut series. Two soft dismissals in this test. Hope he makes up for it. Ashwin and Vihari did a great 43 over blockathan something these intent merchants can't do. That was after Pant left Australian bowling shell shocked. So we had both type of players. We expect everyone to play the same way. That is not going to work. You play to your abilities in the best way possible. If you talk about Kela does he do that? Never. he invariably gets out right after his partner gets out. That has been his pattern. If you consider our fab 5 gen.. laxman was the main crisis man + dravid with other guys playing occasional crisis innings.. unfortunately this team barely has any who can play well on spin pitches
vvvslaxman Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 (edited) 25 minutes ago, Vk1 said: If you consider our fab 5 gen.. laxman was the main crisis man + dravid with other guys playing occasional crisis innings.. unfortunately this team barely has any who can play well on spin pitches India got rolled over by ordinary spinners like Hartley, Kuneman, Todd murphy, Gleh philips, Ajaz patel, Okeefe, Dom bess, Leach. In Bangladesh we were staring at heavy defeat as we were clueless on turning tracks. Even unatkat looked more assured than Kohli on those wickets. I think India needs a special team for home conditions. I probably would give Iyer another shot Edited November 21, 2025 by vvvslaxman Vk1 1
lemsip Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 (edited) Re tuk tuk, the problem is that defence is a dirty word for the new breed of Indian players. That aspect of the game is only rewarded in the test format and that is diminishing. The big bucks are made by power hitting. You just have to look at the posts on this forum - people start getting antsy if someone plays out a maiden over and start complaining about the strike rate on day 1 of a 5 day test ! It is no surprise that the players brought up in this environment feel the pressure if they don't score for a few deliveries and the only release shot they have is to go for an injudicious slog. Edited November 21, 2025 by lemsip Lord 1
maniac Posted November 21, 2025 Author Posted November 21, 2025 20 minutes ago, lemsip said: Re tuk tuk, the problem is that defence is a dirty word for the new breed of Indian players. That aspect of the game is only rewarded in the test format and that is diminishing. The big bucks are made by power hitting. You just have to look at the posts on this forum - people start getting antsy if someone plays out a maiden over and start complaining about the strike rate on day 1 of a 5 day test ! It is no surprise that the players brought up in this environment feel the pressure if they don't score for a few deliveries and the only release shot they have is to go for an injudicious slog. Where are the Indian big bucks makers- all the power hitting is done by foreign black and white hacks
vvvslaxman Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 1 hour ago, lemsip said: Bear in mind it was his first game back after a long injury break. https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/rishabh-pant-s-battle-with-simon-harmer-could-define-his-first-test-as-captain-1512150 Rishabh Pant's battle with Simon Harmer could define his first Test as captain In Kolkata, however, Pant, for once, looked uncertain when he faced the offspinner Simon Harmer, seemingly unsure of his ability either to attack or defend in those conditions. Across the two innings, in which he made 27 and 2, Pant faced 23 balls from Harmer, and played nine false shots. Before this match, Pant had played nine or more false shots against a spinner in six other Test matches. The false shots came over far longer periods in those six games; he scored at least one half-century in each of them. You can, of course, only read so much into numbers like this from a one-off Test on a pitch of extreme variability. Guwahati's conditions, from all pre-match indications, should be far more reasonable to bat in. No bowler, if this is so, should look nearly as unplayable as Harmer did at Eden Gardens against India's left-hand batters, and in particular Pant. But Harmer's threat in Kolkata wasn't all to do with the pitch. He bowled with exacting control of length while varying his speeds and trajectories effortlessly. He will continue to pose problems even in decent batting conditions. Pant probably knows this, and is probably already formulating his response.
lemsip Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 3 hours ago, vvvslaxman said: Gambhir is making this team worse by the day In Gambhir's worldview Kuldeep is the only specialist spinner. Sundar and Axar are batsmen who can bowl if required and Jadeja is increasingly becoming a batting allrounder. The combination was a way to pack the batting and to convince yourself you have a bowling attack to take 20 wickets provided the surface helps the all round spinners we had. That mindset has been repeatedly exposed as deluded but I'm not sure the message has landed. As it turned out, given a pitch with some assistance the SA specialists outclassed the jack-of-all-trade types like Axar.
raki05 Posted November 22, 2025 Posted November 22, 2025 Lets brace yourselves with next generation batter all mostly from poonjab Jitesh Wadhera Ashutosh Namandhir. They have shown their aura against 4 footiya bdesh team. Lol thu hai sala inn betichodo pe. maniac and vvvslaxman 2
nevada Posted November 22, 2025 Posted November 22, 2025 15 hours ago, maniac said: Gotta say the T20 selection is even worse Vaibhav is the only real deal. The bowling is depressing. Priyansh has been a disappointment. Other than the knock in the semifinal he didn't do much. Vaibhav is amazing, he will be one of the most followed players in the next IPL! maniac 1
nevada Posted November 22, 2025 Posted November 22, 2025 Rinku seems to be in very good form in Ranji with couple of big hundreds scored at brisk pace. Not sure why he is not even on the radar for the test team! He could be the aggressive, momentum changing batsman that we need. maniac and tweaker 2
vvvslaxman Posted November 22, 2025 Posted November 22, 2025 6 hours ago, nevada said: Priyansh has been a disappointment. Other than the knock in the semifinal he didn't do much. Vaibhav is amazing, he will be one of the most followed players in the next IPL! Priyansh tries to play everything on the up without recognizing how much it bounces. He needs some time in domestic.