Lord Posted November 21, 2025 Posted November 21, 2025 11 hours ago, Gollum said: Bengaluru is a wonderful city for outsiders. And rural Kannadiga folks are also humble and welcoming. Common people are always nice. There is a temple near my place where Kannadiga/Telugu/Tamil speaking devotees (housewife aunties) prepare food for annadanam in the mornings, and construction workers (Hindi or Bengali speaking) come with tiffin boxes to fill and take to work, no charges or expectations, just good vibes. Few autowallas are goons, but they trouble everyone, locals are also not spared. There is an agenda at play here to flare up the language issue. After they tried playing the caste card, now another font has been opened to divide Hindus. The perps responsible for bullying that kid should be punished, NDA is ruling Maharashtra, let us see what they do. Not saying everyone is doing it. But anecdotal stories don't mean much. We don't see such stories about Gujjus,Tamils,Odias etc These are not autowallahs troubling people.
G_B_ Posted November 22, 2025 Posted November 22, 2025 Interesting to note Congress have partnered with mns for bmc polls...
randomGuy Posted November 23, 2025 Author Posted November 23, 2025 2 hours ago, G_B_ said: Interesting to note Congress have partnered with mns for bmc polls... Sorry to say but I think you and @Gollum etc. also low-key view hindi with contempt. When @Gollumsays I talk to colleagues in English or when you predict natural progression towards English. I mean why not promote a pan south asia desi language like hindi which is already understood by 2 billion out of the 8 billion humanity? Lord 1
ravishingravi Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 No city. I repeat. No city with a native language and culture has been as open and inclusive as Mumbai. And I dare say, no city in Indis will be like Mumbai other than an artificial city like Gift city. Kolkata comes close. Hyderabad next. Gollum and MK55 2
Gollum Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 2 hours ago, randomGuy said: Sorry to say but I think you and @Gollum etc. also low-key view hindi with contempt. When @Gollumsays I talk to colleagues in English or when you predict natural progression towards English. I mean why not promote a pan south asia desi language like hindi which is already understood by 2 billion out of the 8 billion humanity? Preferring English for technical work is contempt for Hindi?
randomGuy Posted November 23, 2025 Author Posted November 23, 2025 3 minutes ago, Gollum said: Preferring English for technical work is contempt for Hindi? Colleagues se to non technical baatain bhi hoti hain I mean why not use Hindi in conversation instead of English wherever there's an option to us....sun ne walo ke kan par hindi touch hone do, it will normalise it more.
Gollum Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 Just now, randomGuy said: Colleagues se to non technical baatain bhi hoti hain I mean why not use Hindi in conversation instead of English wherever there's an option to us....sun ne walo ke kan par hindi touch hone do, it will normalise it more. Who said I don't? If we converse about a movie, previous night's IPL match or day to day stuff, I never use English. randomGuy 1
ravishingravi Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 One simple data point. Entire auto rickshaw and railway staff, employees and union is dominated by folks from UP and Bihar. This would be unthinkable in any other city. But Mumbai allows this. Maharashtra as a whole could be a different story. But that's understandable.
Gollum Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 7 minutes ago, ravishingravi said: One simple data point. Entire auto rickshaw and railway staff, employees and union is dominated by folks from UP and Bihar. This would be unthinkable in any other city. But Mumbai allows this. Maharashtra as a whole could be a different story. But that's understandable. Hindi film industry is based in Mumbai, not Delhi. All the big stars, directors, producers, distributors are from outside Maharashtra. And mind you, Marathi film industry is also quality, with great history (Raja Harishchandra by Dadasaheb Phalke was India's first feature film), and content wise even better than Bollywood the last 10-15 years. Can't see 2 industries co-existing like that in any other state. In fact Bollywood dominates the local industry, when it comes to number of screens. There is a reason Mumbai is India's greatest city. ravishingravi 1
jf1gp_1 Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 On 11/22/2025 at 7:50 AM, Lord said: kaanspiracy. its all politicians apparently People always find excuse for their failures. Comes across as someone miserable. Lord 1
kepler37b Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 31 minutes ago, Gollum said: Hindi film industry is based in Mumbai, not Delhi. All the big stars, directors, producers, distributors are from outside Maharashtra. And mind you, Marathi film industry is also quality, with great history (Raja Harishchandra by Dadasaheb Phalke was India's first feature film), and content wise even better than Bollywood the last 10-15 years. Can't see 2 industries co-existing like that in any other state. In fact Bollywood dominates the local industry, when it comes to number of screens. There is a reason Mumbai is India's greatest city. Not sure in what sense it is the greatest city.
ravishingravi Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 8 minutes ago, kepler37b said: Not sure in what sense it is the greatest city. In every sense since it single handedly carried the burden of the country for 50+ years. Only post 2000s Hyderabad and Bengaluru and Gurgaon came up. To manage mass migration from all over the country without having necessary infrastructure and yet not collapse, makes it greatest.
kepler37b Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 Violence must NOT be condoned. But, I can feel the pain of average marathi man. In THEIR city, THEIR language becomes a minority. The backlash can be understood. I can also understand the pain of Kannadigas. Just imagine, if a 10 million telugus suddenly settle in Lucknow and start changing the language demographics of that place. You would have Akilesh ji leading rallies protesting telugu imposition.
MechEng Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 (edited) Not Mumbai, it's basically a less monolithic and less pretty version of New York. Everyone is busy with work and commute. No such thing as leisure time. Edited November 23, 2025 by MechEng
randomGuy Posted November 23, 2025 Author Posted November 23, 2025 1 hour ago, kepler37b said: Violence must NOT be condoned. But, I can feel the pain of average marathi man. In THEIR city, THEIR language becomes a minority. The backlash can be understood. I can also understand the pain of Kannadigas. Just imagine, if a 10 million telugus suddenly settle in Lucknow and start changing the language demographics of that place. You would have Akilesh ji leading rallies protesting telugu imposition. Do you think Telugu folks care for their language and culture so much? If yes, why the generations are settling abroad, leaving the culture and language behind? "The Telugu-speaking population in the USA has grown significantly, reaching an estimated 1.23 million in 2024 from 320,000 in 2016" ^^ all these are youngsters, women are of child bearing age, i.e. children born in usa and won't return to Telugu states.
kepler37b Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 (edited) 19 minutes ago, randomGuy said: Do you think Telugu folks care for their language and culture so much? If yes, why the generations are settling abroad, leaving the culture and language behind? "The Telugu-speaking population in the USA has grown significantly, reaching an estimated 1.23 million in 2024 from 320,000 in 2016" ^^ all these are youngsters, women are of child bearing age, i.e. children born in usa and won't return to Telugu states. I do not have any data on how many people care. But it HAS grown in the last few years. Those settling are hardly in single digit lakhs. No conclusion can be drawn from it. BTW, this digestion into the western culture is for almost all indian groups. Not just telugus. Most of these 1.23 million might not get a permanent settlement. Most will HAVE to return here. Edited November 23, 2025 by kepler37b
kepler37b Posted November 23, 2025 Posted November 23, 2025 (edited) 3 hours ago, randomGuy said: Colleagues se to non technical baatain bhi hoti hain I mean why not use Hindi in conversation instead of English wherever there's an option to us....sun ne walo ke kan par hindi touch hone do, it will normalise it more. If the mother tongue of other guy is hindi, switching to hindi is the easiest option. But if the mother tongue of other guy is non-Hindi and if he can speak in English, speaking in his mother tongue is much better. if not, switch to english. Forcing hindi down his throat is not correct. At-least in my opinion. For technical things English is most comfortable. If you are officially "settled" in a land, much better to learn the language of the land. For If we really want all to switch to one native language, let it be our mother sanskrit. Edited November 23, 2025 by kepler37b singhvivek141 1