BJP pulling all stops. Probably one of the most elections of richest municipal election of the most financially important city. 

Devendra Fadnavis has a chance to to really change fate of Mumbai. Next week will decide. 

On 1/12/2026 at 10:54 PM, ravishingravi said:

I like that they are grooming him pan India. 

BJP needs next gen leaders

In 2014, apart from Narendra Modi...they had capable leaders like Gadkari, Sushma ji, Jaitley, Shah, Rajnath Singh, Parrikar ji and many others.
11 years down the line Modi, Rajnath and gadkari are ageing, Shah doesn't have the pan India appeal...Hence BJP needs leaders like Yogi, Hemanta, Annamalai, Fadnavis etc to rise to the bigger role. That's why even Madhavi Latha is being seen in Mumbai.

BJP is trying it's best to spread wings in South....TN don't have an alternative so with help of Annamalai even if they're able to make some inroads, it will be a big win for them. Madhavi Latha ji is their flag bearer in Telangana (as they've sidelined T Raja Singh), CBN and Pawan Kalyan in Andhra. 

On 1/12/2026 at 10:54 PM, ravishingravi said:

I like that they are grooming him pan India. 

Bhai jiski apni state me acceptance nahi why should he be groomed for pan India? @Gollum was making him future PM material. Let him win TN first.

Mumbai has some Tamil population that is why annamalai was here. Nothing else. No grooming. I don't prefer leaders jinki apni state me acceptance nahi.

And btw for the nth time, TN should have 5% seats in LS ie. 27 seats, proportional to its population, not the current 39 seats. Can't wait for this correction to happen after delimitation.

If it were up to me I would have given it even lesser seats foreseeing the future relative population decrease of Tamil nadu.

Relatively not very significant state politically.

Edited by randomGuy
20 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Bhai jiski apni state me acceptance nahi why should he be groomed for pan India? @Gollum was making him future PM material. Let him win TN first.

Mumbai has some Tamil population that is why annamalai was here. Nothing else. No grooming. I don't prefer leaders jinki apni state me acceptance nahi.

BJP rewards its TN members despite no local acceptance. Nirmala Sitharaman and Jaishankar won't win a ward election anywhere in TN, yet have such prestigious positions, they are not even competent at their jobs. At least the VP they selected, Radhakrishnan, opened BJP's account in the state by becoming MP from Coimbatore, so some mass connection is there. 

I overestimated Annamalai, maybe because of SM hype which doesn't always show ground reality. 

I have also come to the conclusion that BJP shouldn't promote its people unless they achieve something at the ground level. Exceptions can be made only if they are generational talents in some field, or elite technocrats who can steer us well in cutting edge fields. 

8 minutes ago, Gollum said:

BJP rewards its TN members despite no local acceptance. Nirmala Sitharaman and Jaishankar won't win a ward election anywhere in TN, yet have such prestigious positions, they are not even competent at their jobs. At least the VP they selected, Radhakrishnan, opened BJP's account in the state by becoming MP from Coimbatore, so some mass connection is there. 

I overestimated Annamalai, maybe because of SM hype which doesn't always show ground reality. 

I have also come to the conclusion that BJP shouldn't promote its people unless they achieve something at the ground level. Exceptions can be made only if they are generational talents in some field, or elite technocrats who can steer us well in cutting edge fields. 

1) You didn't overestimate him. You underestimated the challenge of TN. 

2) Great organizations check results. But they also check the impact of the person within the party. 

3) Impact in the South will be a long investment process. Can't happen overnight. Anna gave it strongest push inspire of being 2 year old in politics. If Namo has recognizer him, you know he has the goods. 

But more than anything bjp has to groom south leaders to go pan India. That's what great organizations do. Identify potential and give exposure. 

29 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Foreign minister and finance minister are technical jobs also, much like foreign secretary, RBI chief, army chief etc.. It is ok to prefer technical skills over political skills here. Jaishankar can win elections from 200/300 bjp LS seats he is quite popular.

Annamalai has questionable political skills...dmk+ 47%, aiadmk 23%, NDA 18% bjp 11% in 2024. He had decided to go without aiadmk.

Neither is annamalai much relevant politically nor should TN state be anymore relevant than 5% LS seats. Govt should do delimitation and correct the wrongs soon.

11 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Foreign minister and finance minister are technical jobs also, much like foreign secretary, RBI chief, army chief etc.. It is ok to prefer technical skills over political skills here. Jaishankar can win elections from 200/300 bjp LS seats he is quite popular.

Jaishankar won't win any LS election. He has no mass support. SM popularity is different. Don't think even Manmohan Singh ever stood in LS election, he was always RS MP from some place in Assam. 

4 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Jaishankar won't win any LS election. He has no mass support. SM popularity is different. Don't think even Manmohan Singh ever stood in LS election, he was always RS MP from some place in Assam. 

This was so weird 

16 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

Annamalai has questionable political skills...dmk+ 47%, aiadmk 23%, NDA 18% bjp 11% in 2024. He had decided to go without aiadmk.

Neither is annamalai much relevant politically nor should TN state be anymore relevant than 5% LS seats. Govt should do delimitation and correct the wrongs soon.

Annamalai decided ? Apart from two people, no one decides anything in BJP. Sure. He was of this view. But it was backed and owned by leadership. DMK was never losing that election. Question was under which scenario BJP can grow. 

On delimitation, I can only say if the idea is to open multiple fronts, that's what govt should do. Follow your advice. Ofcourse I know govt won't do it. No govt would.   

States with highest hdi, economic growth, law and order. best infrastructure, highest FDI per capita. Hoping and almost sure Govt has better reading of the situation. 

7 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

This was so weird 

Lower caste Tamils often whip themselves, pierce their noses, chest, ears, walk on burning coal etc. but in temples and religious festivals. Even in Malaysia, Sri Lanka. 

Common culture there. Anyway this was related to some rape of a student in Anna University by a DMK functionary which the state govt tried to suppress. Annamalai was the only politician who kept the issue alive. 

1 minute ago, ravishingravi said:

Annamalai decided ? Apart from two people, no one decides anything in BJP. Sure. He was of this view. But it was backed and owned by leadership. DMK was never losing that election. Question was under which scenario BJP can grow. 

On delimitation, I can only say if the idea is to open multiple fronts, that's what govt should do. Follow your advice. Ofcourse I know govt won't do it. No govt would.   

Talking like a dmk cadre here, sorry. It is about fairness towards the rest of the country. 95% population for the rest of India should mean 95% seats. 

2 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Lower caste Tamils often whip themselves, pierce their noses, chest, ears, walk on burning coal etc. but in temples and religious festivals. Even in Malaysia, Sri Lanka. 

Common culture there. Anyway this was related to some rape of a student in Anna University by a DMK functionary which the state govt tried to suppress. 

Unfortunately most Indians actually don't travel around India. Be it North, South, East, West. Char Dham is the only connecting node for an average indian. Otherwise most have no idea of the different cultures of states. 

Just now, randomGuy said:

Talking like a dmk cadre here, sorry. It is about fairness towards the rest of the country. 95% population for the rest of India should mean 95% seats. 

Don't get personal. Stick on facts. 

I am pro delimitation. Just that it cannot be politically done because of how inefficient and backward on all parameters including population control North has been vs South. That gap is reducing. And South is now in relying on North workers to keep it engine going. 

In 5-10 years they will loose the leverage. And then it should be done. But I don't know what delimitation has got to do with Annamalai. 

2 minutes ago, randomGuy said:

@Gollum I am far more confident about Kerala than TN. You will see bjp progress in Kerala. TN is about the most hopeless for bjp because of the mindset of people.

I am not.

BJP will stagnate in Kerala as well. Average Mallu hates whatever BJP stands for much more than an average Tamil. Also BJP/RSS cadre aren't safe in Kerala, check the targeted killings stats from there. When there is no safety, why will people stick their necks?