Dravid v Kohli in Tests

14 members have voted

1. 1. Who would you pick in your test team?

• Rahul 'The Wall' Dravid
    • Virat 'The King' Kohli

Whom would you pick? 

Note: I would not place to much importance on just stats (unless you are a Bradman or a Sobers).   While Dravid has a higher batting average, he batted in a relatively more batting friendly era and his stats are usually much higher against relatively weak teams. 

Discuss!

Edited by Austin 3:!6
5 minutes ago, zen said:

Whom would you pick? 

Note: I would not place to much importance on just stats (unless you are a Bradman or a Sobers).   While Dravid has a higher batting average, he batted in a relatively more batting friendly era and his stats are usually much higher against relatively weak teams. 

Discuss!

Kyun jhagde karwana chahte ho bhai.

Log baat karna band kar denge ek dusre se. :cantstop:

5 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

Politics pe kar lete ho ye toh chhoti baat hai

1 hour ago, singhvivek141 said:

We need an :whack::whack2:  thread.  

I would pick Pujara over both if seeking a top order (#1-3) batsmen. But if picking a middle order batsman (#4-7), the options open up. 

33 minutes ago, Number said:

Kohli is better test batsman than his average indicates but this is no comparison.

Lol he has had 4 years worth of peak in test cricket.

Dravid is a legit among ATGs... While Kohli is a mere Indian Great in Tests.  Tarnished his legacy for hanging onto for too long 

Edited by Lone Wolf
48 minutes ago, Number said:

Kohli is better test batsman than his average indicates but this is no comparison.

That never makes sense to me. In a long career stats will show everything provided you analyze them properly 

6 hours ago, Lord said:

That never makes sense to me. In a long career stats will show everything provided you analyze them properly 

I really think he suffered badly due to poor pitches we made after WTC introduction, otherwise his average would be around 50. 

Also some of the innings he has played are insanely good like Centurion 2018.

2018 was the toughest year to bat in the history of the game, Kohli averaged 55+ in that year.

He is better than VVS, Ganguly or even Viru in my eyes as a test batsman.

7 hours ago, Lone Wolf said:

Lol he has had 4 years worth of peak in test cricket.

Dravid is a legit among ATGs... While Kohli is a mere Indian Great in Tests.  Tarnished his legacy for hanging onto for too long 

I agree he is too far behind Dravid but his peak was insanely good in an era where bowlers dominated mostly.

16 minutes ago, Number said:

I really think he suffered badly due to poor pitches we made after WTC introduction, otherwise his average would be around 50. 

Also some of the innings he has played are insanely good like Centurion 2018.

2018 was the toughest year to bat in the history of the game, Kohli averaged 55+ in that year.

He is better than VVS, Ganguly or even Viru in my eyes as a test batsman.

He definitely had some great years as every good batsman has.

But over a career you see both highs and lows. 

Even struggled at home in last 5 years where non specialists like Pant, Jadeja Ashwin used to save us mostly

Is this even a contest? Dravid by a country mile. 

Chokohli did not know his off-stump for all his career and had a standard mode of dismissal, poking a moving away deliveries. A lot of his outs are carbon copies of each other. He could never overcome his greatest weakness nor did he show that he was trying to improve. In the short version of the game, he was a legend, but I do not consider to be anywhere near a ATG in tests.

Lol thread.

Do people even watch games, think context...  even without stats.  Just watch them bat in few games and you know who you want to bat for you in tests. How many freaking tests Kohli/Rahane/Pujara went missing together. A long strech of time.

Dravid was part of a greater batting unit and era.. still stood out with Sachin and sometimes even out batted him. Kohli came in Social media era, more PR, more hype, more Drama.. better ODI batter and most of Virat's reputation is because of his ODI batting.