Srikanth replaces Vengsarkar as the chairman of selectors for four years

SachDan

The selectors are going to be paid 25 lakhs/annum. That is a sh!t load of money. Honestly, being an Indian selector is the best job in the world, especially now since it isnt a honorary position anymore. Doesnt matter how crappy a cricketer you were, like Kiran More, you still can have a decent shot at being a selector because of all internal politics. And once you've become one, all you've to do is fly business class between different venues of cricket matches, sit in the Air-conditioned pavilion long enough for the press to notice you, quietly slip away in the interval to the comforts of the all expenses paid 5-star accommodation close to the stadium and enjoy a relaxing Chinese massage in the comfort lounge. In the night, you enjoy a couple of glasses wine, while casually chatting about cricket with other BCCI honchos who would have invariably made their way to the hotel. Once the session of binge drinking is over, you trudge up to your room and hit the bed close to midnight. In the morning, once your hangover is totally gone, its time for your '2 minutes of fame', as you appear on live national t.v announcing squads for all sorts of trivial cricket tournaments. If that isnt enough, you have a dozen press people hounding you for sneak previews of squads or insider stories and you can shoo them away like a rock-star. No accountability, no job-pressure, no one to answer to and yet the best of job remuneration and perks! Now, THAT is what you call L-I-F-E. :D
Wow, how right Morrir was two years back. And 4 years for the current set of selectors will certainly drown the the boat of Indian cricket. Sigh!!!
Four-year term for new selection panel
Death knell for Indian cricket!

4 years? But I remember reading B_b or someone saying that his term ends October-November 2010. :omg: R.I.P. Indian cricket. It was good while it lasted :((

Other than his consistent selection of M.Vijay in ODIs and T20s and Jadeja in every effing version of Cricket, he has done a good job so far.. although I don't understand his dislike for I.Pathan.. Yes, Pathan is not good as Steyn, Bollinger or Malinga but he is far better than the likes of V.Kumar, Dinda or Ishant Sharma

Some good ol memories. BCCI admits to staff burnout http://www.indiancricketfans.com/showthread.php?t=55046

517657_bcci8.jpg The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Thursday admitted that excessive cricket was causing selector and staff burn-out but claimed that they were only following the International Cricket Council calender. When asked to explain, BCCI Vice-President Rajiv Shukla said although burn-out was an issue with selectors and staff of all cricket boards, the BCCI did not want its staff to be exhausted before important matches and was taking steps for the same. Dileep Vengsarkar has been continuously selecting teams, non-stop since the Ind-SA series last year. His mental health in the mean time, has rapidly deteriorated. "Our performance isnt any different, why should the team selection be any different ? why cant we use the same team that we selected 3 years ago ?", quipped an unnamed selector. Ms. Manali Vengsarkar, wife of the chief selector Dileep Vengsarkar, was upset at her husband's deteriorating health. "Poor Dileep, he is 45 years old. He's asked to travel all over the country, watch players who cannot buy a run, eat badly cooked samosas and parathas. His LDL cholestrol levels have doubled in the last year". BCCI is seriously considering rotating the selectors on a daily basis. "Each selector would get to pick a player & leave. We'll choose the selectors from a pool of 100 folks, so no one gets tired. Finally we'll select the team on lottery. The results wont be any worse.", remarked the BCCI secretary, Mr. Niranjan Shah. Sharad Pawar admits that burnt out is a serious issue. "From my experience, as a politician and BCCI chief, i know how big an issue burn out could be", said Pawar. "We had to pick a coach following Greg Chappell's retirement. The TV rights are yet to be finalized for the games that began two weeks ago. But what is the hurry ? We must learn to take things easy.", continued Pawar. When asked about his plans to appoint a new coach, Mr Pawar remarked. "We will first form a committee, whose members will be rotated, so they dont burn out themselves. Then, we will arrive at a decision". But what about the coaching candidates Mr. Pawar ? "We have a few candidates in mind, which we wont disclose now. We may appoint multiple coaches and rotate them as well", replied Pawar. Rumours have it that Dave Whatmore still reckons he has a shot at being the coach of India someday. But it is likely that Whatmore will sign with the BCCI a 5 year contract to run the "Nation Under-2 Cricket Academy". -- Reuters:D

So guys how you rate Cheeka? He failed to secure place for Badrinath, only 2 test matches, he failed and dropped. Raina was allowed to play tests only after playing 100 ODIs. and We dont know why R Ashwin is not considered for selection. He has one year contract left. We gifted him 1 Crore in 4yrs + WC 50 Lakh Bonus.

So guys how you rate Cheeka? He failed to secure place for Badrinath' date=' only 2 test matches, he failed and dropped. Raina was allowed to play tests only after playing 100 ODIs. and We dont know why R Ashwin is not considered for selection. He has one year contract left. We gifted him 1 Crore in 4yrs + WC 50 Lakh Bonus.[/quote'] Yeah, it's his fault that Supermanium Badrinath is not in the test team. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:

Selectors really do a hard job. Firstly, it is because we as fans all think this job is so simple and we ourselves can replace them easily. And in a hope to just prove that, we try to find faults in his work. When we ourselves fans cannot come to a solid conclusion and thereby have forums for these debates. You cannot expect a smaller number of people=selectors to satisfy everyone. So complaining is useless, the only fair way is to judge them on the end results and using that, they only deserve credit.

What's your opinion on the selection of Anirudha Srikkanth to the Emerging Players squad?
Apart from that, I don't think he has made any blunders. I think he has been a good selector and has done a great job for us in ODI's, we've had such a smooth transition. In tests though I have my doubts, we haven't yet found young talent who are ready to replace the trio and also haven't yet found a good pace combo. The Pujara's , Rahane's and Kohli's are having all good stats but then they need to do it at top level too, they need chance.
So who are the great talunts that the selectors left behind who are better than the maharathis who are playing now?
I don't know about that but one thing I do know is that the selectors need to stop playing musical chairs with the spinners. They select Ojha for one series, and Mishra for the next. Ojha was unnecessarily dropped. Anyways, with Mishras so so performance, and pathetic performance in this test match, along with tons of no balls, don't think he will get picked up again unless he miraculously performs at the Oval, since I doubt if England will get a chance to bat again at Edgbaston. In my opinion, RP singh should have been on the plane as soon as ZAK was injured at Lords on day 1. Saha should never have been selected. Neither should have Munaf Patel been selected.
++++++++++
Hard or easy, it's their job. We don't come to conclusion, but we are not paid crore rupees either. He was chosen chairman of selection committee because he was considered as best person for this job. What's next? Say that go on the ground and perform, see how hard it is. Since fans can't so they shouldn't criticize players?
So complaining is useless, the only fair way is to judge them on the end results and using that, they only deserve credit.
That's true for whole forum discussion. Our discussion doesn't change anything on field. Still we discuss, criticize, complain a lot.
Hard or easy, it's their job. We don't come to conclusion, but we are not paid crore rupees either. He was chosen chairman of selection committee because he was considered as best person for this job. What's next? Say that go on the ground and perform, see how hard it is. Since fans can't so they shouldn't criticize players?
I think you do not get it. The point is we as fans think it is crystal clear and too easy. Just go to the cricket site and look at the stats only and then select the player. Never works like that. So first of all, we as fans have absolutely no right in saying player X would have been better.( just like everytime a squad list is released, there are tons who will say where is Irfan). Let's say simply there is no perfect squad and we are all going to waste our time in debating about selection as it can never be perfect.