Watched any new movies? *Please use spoiler tags*

Special 26 - 4/10 but Dabbang 2 - First Day' date=' First Show and multiple time watch! Only on ICF :hysterical:[/quote'] We have plenty of those kinds all over India actually. That is why we there is always one Dabangg or Himmatwala or Wanted etc.
Why? The story was taut' date=' the acting was top notch, the direction was near perfect. You might be a genius with words but pretty unreliable as a movie connoisseur IMO[/quote']
12 Angry men - 10/10 Witness for the prosecutions - 7/10 Anatomy of a murder - 9/10 To kill a mockingbird - 8/10 Chinatown - 7/10
To kill a mockingbird is one of my favourite books. Imma watch this movie. :dance:

Watched chashme buddor ,it's a total laugh riot especially debyandu"arz Kia hai,mantri ji ki biwi boli ,kiski ke saath so ke aa rahe ho,mantri ji bole ,sota to sirf tumhare saath hu,baakiyon ke saath to jaag ke aa raha hu" Another one Arz kiya hai"ye ladki bhi kitni ajeeb hoti hai,kuch kaho to mooh foola leti hai,kuch karo to pait"

Watched a few movies on Netflix- Sophie Scholl: The Final Days (WW Movie on student resistance group) Arn: The Knight Templar (based on the famous Scandinavian fictional character Arn) When the Last Sword Is Drawn (Samurai movie with lil fights and lotsa drama) Reykjavik to Rotterdam (thriller, smuggling) Please Vote For Me (Chinese documentary on election in a school) Polisse (child-abuse, pedos) Barton Fink (underrated Coens') Tora! Tora! Tora! (Japs bombing Pearl Harbour, the making is well ahead of its time) Emmett's Mark (thriller, a cop orders a hit on himself) Monsieur Lazhar (children, school, drama) Sexy Beast (British gangster) Escape from Alcatraz Oslo, August 31st (drama, druggie) Shotgun Stories (countryside thriller, drama, an underrated gem) Be with Me (love, tearjerker) The Long Good Friday (awesome British gangster) Lifting King Kong (sports, drama,tearjerker) Once Upon a Time in High School (love, friendship, betrayal & more) The Quiz Show Scandal (such a unique storyline) Righteous Ties Sunny (sorta girly movie, but I liked it :nervous:) Gosford Park (mystery) The Hidden Face (good Spanish thriller, unique plot) Eight Men Out (sports scandal)
:nice:
Don't know why you (guys) find that out of the ordinary. Dabangg2 doesn't pretend to be anything. The makers of the film know what they are making is larger than life, absolutely spruced up masala cinema. The movie goers know that too. And they end up getting more than they expect. I for one, absolutely loved Dabanng (the first version). I saw first it with my close friends, again with another set of friends, then with people from my ex office, then with my parents, then with my in laws (well, they weren't my in laws then), and finally once again with people from a dance class I used to attend. All the time in the cinema.And I absolutely enjoyed every second of it. A movie like Special26, which tries to pass itself off as a 'smart' heist movie is anything but that. A CBI officer doesn't check on the credentials of a Police officer supposedly assisting him? They got Anupam Kher's phone tapped, they know where his family are. They know he's a part of the conspiracy? How does he manage to take his family out of India after the country? Can't they just red flag their passports? Its a movie full of loopholes, which anyone can see through. If you're making a 'smart' movie, it ought to be better than this. I used to work with a law firm, which many a times helped the ED and the CBI on some specific cases, mostly pro bono :cantstop:. Though I haven't personally worked much on such cases, I have interacted with quite a few people from both the organizations. The portrayal of the CBI teams in the movie is laughable. Special26 is a let down vis a vis the expectation level that it sets. Its not so special at all.
Himmatwali...
Watched a few movies on Netflix- Sophie Scholl: The Final Days (WW Movie on student resistance group) Arn: The Knight Templar (based on the famous Scandinavian fictional character Arn) When the Last Sword Is Drawn (Samurai movie with lil fights and lotsa drama) Reykjavik to Rotterdam (thriller, smuggling) Please Vote For Me (Chinese documentary on election in a school) Polisse(child-abuse, pedos) Barton Fink (underrated Coens') Tora! Tora! Tora! (Japs bombing Pearl Harbour, the making is well ahead of its time) Emmett's Mark (thriller, a cop orders a hit on himself) Monsieur Lazhar (children, school, drama) Sexy Beast (British gangster) Escape from Alcatraz Oslo, August 31st (drama, druggie) Shotgun Stories (countryside thriller, drama, an underrated gem) Be with Me (love, tearjerker) The Long Good Friday (awesome British gangster) Lifting King Kong (sports, drama,tearjerker) Once Upon a Time in High School (love, friendship, betrayal & more) The Quiz Show Scandal (such a unique storyline) Righteous Ties Sunny (sorta girly movie, but I liked it :nervous:) Gosford Park (mystery) The Hidden Face (good Spanish thriller, unique plot) Eight Men Out (sports scandal)
I've seen these movies. They are good. :nice: Gosford Park was a bit of a drag though.

Just watched Special 26- really liked it... Very well made slick Bolly con man film. Oceans 11 esque. One question though..

They show Rannvir (Jimmy Shergill) with a senior office at the ministers house after that minister gets robbed, they even show him at a police station (I think?) was that Senior Police officer also an actor working with Akshay and Anupam... if not, it did not seem like Ranvir could have been working with the thieves all along Also, why did they need the REAL CBI for the last big job, just so that they could get the workshop too??

Just watched Special 26- really liked it... Very well made slick Bolly con man film. Oceans 11 esque. One question though..
They show Rannvir (Jimmy Shergill) with a senior office at the ministers house after that minister gets robbed, they even show him at a police station (I think?) was that Senior Police officer also an actor working with Akshay and Anupam... if not, it did not seem like Ranvir could have been working with the thieves all along Also, why did they need the REAL CBI for the last big job, just so that they could get the workshop too??
That Senior Police officer was also working for Akshay and co, they show him begging Divya Dutta(the policewaali with Ranvir) at the end of the movie for his share of the money. Because if not for Real CBI, the jewellery would never have been shifted to the workshop.
http://www.santabanta.com/bollywood/65449/ba-pass-heres-indias-first-erotic-drama-with-explicit-content/
The film arguably India's first erotic drama with explicit content, 'A' certification from the Censor Board without a single cut Remember the 2010 film ***** directed by Q (Qaushiq Mukherjee) that never hit the marquee in India? The Censor Board found it too sexually charged and halted the film's release. However, a similar independent film has managed to bag just an 'A' certificate and is all set to release by the end of May later this year. BA Pass, arguably India's first erotic drama with explicit content, went through the Censors without a single cut. Directed by Ajay Bahl, it evaded axe despite strong sexual overtures. No wonder the director himself is pleasantly astonished. `This one came as a surprise especially because there is huge built up around censorship in our country. They are viewed as moral police and I was extremely apprehensive about the entire process as such films can be easy targets. Besides, a single cut on my film would mean a blow to the overall flow,` sighs Bahl. In 2012, the indie film has done the rounds at festival circuits across the world and even won the Best Film Award at Osian's Cinefan Film Festival. Starring Shilpa Shukla, Rajesh Sharma and Dibyendu Bhattacharya, the film's screentime is 95 minutes and about 22 minutes is spent on lovemaking scenes! The visibly relieved debutant filmmaker adds, `Like most directors, I too felt that there was no room for editing left in my film. We waited outside the Censor Board office while the show was on. And when we were called in, I was quite tense but it all eased out when they declared a no-cut. I was expecting the adult certification which is justified.`
:woot: hope this isnt a one off:pray:
That Senior Police officer was also working for Akshay and co, they show him begging Divya Dutta(the policewaali with Ranvir) at the end of the movie for his share of the money. Because if not for Real CBI, the jewellery would never have been shifted to the workshop.
yes I thought so, he says something like "i got paid.more for being an ACP
A movie like Special26, which tries to pass itself off as a 'smart' heist movie is anything but that. A CBI officer doesn't check on the credentials of a Police officer supposedly assisting him? They got Anupam Kher's phone tapped, they know where his family are. They know he's a part of the conspiracy? How does he manage to take his family out of India after the country? Can't they just red flag their passports? Its a movie full of loopholes, which anyone can see through. If you're making a 'smart' movie, it ought to be better than this. Special26 is a let down vis a vis the expectation level that it sets. Its not so special at all.
Ok, let me try to answer as best as I can (and I apologize for not doing that in the first place, instead of just dismissing your post). First of all, I dont think the movie ever pretended to be 'smart' or 'different'. Its only a movie like any other These are the things I really loved about the movie 1) The acting - Just take a look at the subtelty of Anupam Kher. From the expression he has during Khan's interrogation, to the way he speaks his dialogues. Sublime Acting at its best. Sometimes you need to praise and reward good actors too! Add the performance of Manoj and a subdued Akshay, and you have a movie which can only be watched to enjoy the acting. Even Jimmy Shergil and his lady companion fit their roles to a T and act well 2) The dialogues - I found the dialogues extremely witty. From Anupam Kher's helpless performance, to Manoj Bajpai's matter of fact statements (eg, when he tells his seniors - "Promotion ka kya hua, ghar chalana muskil ho raha hai, kaho to rishwat lena suru kar do?") Or how Anupam Kher's dialogue - "Asli Power Dil me hota hai", was used as a plot point later, On the whole, the dialogues were very well written 3) The Direction - There is not one scene I can say was over the top. The right amount of back story was added to make charecters believable. For example, the back story of the hen-pecked guy, that added an extra dimension. Some say that the love story was a distraction, I believe it was a ploy to garner sympathy for Akshay's character, to make him more human and also to show that how much was riding on the last heist. I have watched and rewatched the movie to find one flaw in the movie as far as setting in the time period of the 80s is considered. The amount of detail is astounding. From the cars on the road, to the period dressing, even the extras were flawless. Delhi in the 80s looked amazing. Extra points for that I understand the need for entertainment in cinemas and the need for movies such as Dabang. However, movies such as Special 26 deserve all the accolades and money they can get. We cannot afford a world where we do not criticize mindless movies and give a blank check to movies such as Dabang, just because they cater to the lowest form of entertainment and then in the same breath overly analyze 'smart' movies to the point that we ignore all of its finer points and nitpick. Thats hypocrisy. The strength of a movie industry is its diversity. Now to try to answer specific points you have raised
I will answer point 2 first. The movie is set in the 80s. The passport and visa rules were very lax during those times ( pre global terrorism days.). There are scores of actual criminals who fled the country to Arab countries during that time on fake passport. Plus, the leads are shown to be master forgers, surely forging passports would be child's play for them, particularly when they are going to a place like Sharjah/Dubai. Add the fact that they have been shown to have used good disguises when needed, and this doesnt seem to be a big loop-hole As for your point 1, yes this is dodgy. Manoj Bajpai's character was shown to be a competent officer, so the first thing he would do would have been to check Jimmy's credentials. I do not know how the CBI worked in the 80s and how much say it had in the local police affairs. But it is a fact that the true story this movie is based on, the actual criminals did have moles in the police industry and did hood-wink the CBI on more than one occcasion. Truth sometimes, is indeed stranger than fiction
Ok, let me try to answer as best as I can (and I apologize for not doing that in the first place, instead of just dismissing your post). First of all, I dont think the movie ever pretended to be 'smart' or 'different'. Its only a movie like any other These are the things I really loved about the movie 1) The acting - Just take a look at the subtelty of Anupam Kher. From the expression he has during Khan's interrogation, to the way he speaks his dialogues. Sublime Acting at its best. Sometimes you need to praise and reward good actors too! Add the performance of Manoj and a subdued Akshay, and you have a movie which can only be watched to enjoy the acting. Even Jimmy Shergil and his lady companion fit their roles to a T and act well 2) The dialogues - I found the dialogues extremely witty. From Anupam Kher's helpless performance, to Manoj Bajpai's matter of fact statements (eg, when he tells his seniors - "Promotion ka kya hua, ghar chalana muskil ho raha hai, kaho to rishwat lena suru kar do?") Or how Anupam Kher's dialogue - "Asli Power Dil me hota hai", was used as a plot point later, On the whole, the dialogues were very well written 3) The Direction - There is not one scene I can say was over the top. The right amount of back story was added to make charecters believable. For example, the back story of the hen-pecked guy, that added an extra dimension. Some say that the love story was a distraction, I believe it was a ploy to garner sympathy for Akshay's character, to make him more human and also to show that how much was riding on the last heist. I have watched and rewatched the movie to find one flaw in the movie as far as setting in the time period of the 80s is considered. The amount of detail is astounding. From the cars on the road, to the period dressing, even the extras were flawless. Delhi in the 80s looked amazing. Extra points for that I understand the need for entertainment in cinemas and the need for movies such as Dabang. However, movies such as Special 26 deserve all the accolades and money they can get. We cannot afford a world where we do not criticize mindless movies and give a blank check to movies such as Dabang, just because they cater to the lowest form of entertainment and then in the same breath overly analyze 'smart' movies to the point that we ignore all of its finer points and nitpick. Thats hypocrisy. The strength of a movie industry is its diversity.
Indeed! cant agree more. Especially about the recreation of 80's India, acting and dialogues I agree that there are loop holes and the ones you have pointed out Mariyam did strike me too. However with ANY film some element of disbelief has to be suspended. And with this one in any case the storyline is still more logical than most rubbish bollywood generates- even amongst films that are supposedly smart and not masala flicks.
Ok, let me try to answer as best as I can (and I apologize for not doing that in the first place, instead of just dismissing your post). First of all, I dont think the movie ever pretended to be 'smart' or 'different'. Its only a movie like any other These are the things I really loved about the movie 1) The acting - Just take a look at the subtelty of Anupam Kher. From the expression he has during Khan's interrogation, to the way he speaks his dialogues. Sublime Acting at its best. Sometimes you need to praise and reward good actors too! Add the performance of Manoj and a subdued Akshay, and you have a movie which can only be watched to enjoy the acting. Even Jimmy Shergil and his lady companion fit their roles to a T and act well 2) The dialogues - I found the dialogues extremely witty. From Anupam Kher's helpless performance, to Manoj Bajpai's matter of fact statements (eg, when he tells his seniors - "Promotion ka kya hua, ghar chalana muskil ho raha hai, kaho to rishwat lena suru kar do?") Or how Anupam Kher's dialogue - "Asli Power Dil me hota hai", was used as a plot point later, On the whole, the dialogues were very well written 3) The Direction - There is not one scene I can say was over the top. The right amount of back story was added to make charecters believable. For example, the back story of the hen-pecked guy, that added an extra dimension. Some say that the love story was a distraction, I believe it was a ploy to garner sympathy for Akshay's character, to make him more human and also to show that how much was riding on the last heist. I have watched and rewatched the movie to find one flaw in the movie as far as setting in the time period of the 80s is considered. The amount of detail is astounding. From the cars on the road, to the period dressing, even the extras were flawless. Delhi in the 80s looked amazing. Extra points for that I understand the need for entertainment in cinemas and the need for movies such as Dabang. However, movies such as Special 26 deserve all the accolades and money they can get. We cannot afford a world where we do not criticize mindless movies and give a blank check to movies such as Dabang, just because they cater to the lowest form of entertainment and then in the same breath overly analyze 'smart' movies to the point that we ignore all of its finer points and nitpick. Thats hypocrisy. The strength of a movie industry is its diversity. Now to try to answer specific points you have raised
I will answer point 2 first. The movie is set in the 80s. The passport and visa rules were very lax during those times ( pre global terrorism days.). There are scores of actual criminals who fled the country to Arab countries during that time on fake passport. Plus, the leads are shown to be master forgers, surely forging passports would be child's play for them, particularly when they are going to a place like Sharjah/Dubai. Add the fact that they have been shown to have used good disguises when needed, and this doesnt seem to be a big loop-hole As for your point 1, yes this is dodgy. Manoj Bajpai's character was shown to be a competent officer, so the first thing he would do would have been to check Jimmy's credentials. I do not know how the CBI worked in the 80s and how much say it had in the local police affairs. But it is a fact that the true story this movie is based on, the actual criminals did have moles in the police industry and did hood-wink the CBI on more than one occcasion. Truth sometimes, is indeed stranger than fiction
Top post :hatsoff: