kabira Posted January 19, 2011 Posted January 19, 2011 recently one neighborhood got sick of stray dogs, they were big nuisance at night. Entire neighboorhood complained to Ahmedabad municipality. They sent the Dog capturing vans but dogs are smart, as soon as they seem them they find places to hide. This neighbourhood had enough of this dog nuisance and they poisoned all the dogs one by one..and all were found dead..
Late Cut Posted January 19, 2011 Posted January 19, 2011 What's wrong with neutering dogs? Adopting a dog does not solve the issue that dogs are going to procreate at a much faster rate than anyone can take care of them. It's like people who are against hunting of Deer in the US. The buggers are a pest where the population is out of control and destructive to both the native habitiat and creatures. To argue that there is some "inherent right" or what not does not either offer a solution nor help the quality of life for the existing dogs. It is necessary to control the popuation, to not just ensure that there are no stray dogs (the key word being stray- these are not dogs who have owners or anyone to take care of them), but to also control other issues such as cleanliness, qualitry of living, and the control of other pests (like ticks and fleas...wait, don't they have an inherent right to procreate too?). This necessarily involves both spaying/neutering, as well as euthenasia as needed so that we can ensure that there are enough resources to take care of the stray dogs we do have. Therefore, it is both loving and compassionate to neuter the dogs; I would even argue that it's cruelty to the animals to not do this since all you are doing is reducing the resources available, straining their relations with humans, and getting the "good" dogs, killed with the bad.
jusarrived Posted January 19, 2011 Posted January 19, 2011 you throw a stone in Blore , it would either hit a stray dog or an Software Engineer , i heard lol
suma25 Posted January 20, 2011 Posted January 20, 2011 recently one neighborhood got sick of stray dogs, they were big nuisance at night. Entire neighboorhood complained to Ahmedabad municipality. They sent the Dog capturing vans but dogs are smart, as soon as they seem them they find places to hide. This neighbourhood had enough of this dog nuisance and they poisoned all the dogs one by one..and all were found dead.. that's just sad
Desi Cartman Posted January 20, 2011 Posted January 20, 2011 Even tigers , lions, Elephants, kangaroos have animal rights & some people have them as pets and keep them in their backyards but I wouldnt nor would I want 10-12 of them roaming freely in my neighborhood.
Aaku Posted January 20, 2011 Posted January 20, 2011 recently one neighborhood got sick of stray dogs, they were big nuisance at night. Entire neighboorhood complained to Ahmedabad municipality. They sent the Dog capturing vans but dogs are smart, as soon as they seem them they find places to hide. This neighbourhood had enough of this dog nuisance and they poisoned all the dogs one by one..and all were found dead.. That is just disgusting ! Nobody complained against those ignorant idiots ? Stray dogs can be a nuisance if you dont deal with them in they right manner. I have seen people picking up stones whenever they see stray dogs? Dogs donot intend to harm you! Am sooo glad to be raised in a neighborhood where stray dogs are not treated as a problem to the society. Not everyone loves dogs enough to adopt the strays.. it is not even recommended if any member of the house is hostile towards dogs.The simple approach is just to feed them milk or bread, you dont really have to be much of an animal lover to do that.. unless ofcourse you are one of those who screams at the sight of a dog! Neutering is the way to go and that is what is being done too. Am happy if that stops people from killing dogs :/
Mariyam Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 Morris ji, Your points are quite convincing. In all honesty, I wouldn't want bugs/insects running over my home even if they were once a part of the natural ecosystem of what is now Mumbai city. And thats a double standard that I am guilty of, vis a vis dogs and bugs. I have never been chased or bitten or harassed by strays. So, maybe I'm being too idealistic about the whole thing while being unaware of the menace. Though I still don't necessarily agree on neutering all strays based on the actions of a few, I don't think I have any practical long term alternatives. All I can suggest is adopting a stray and giving it a better life, if it is within the persons financial means. PS: Don't call me ji. I believe I'm much younger than you.
bihutoli Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 The government should give some kind of ultimatum, a ceasefire sort of. This period is when animal lovers and PETA activists could go on an overdrive adopting strays. Post that all still-strays to be rounded off and shipped off to Nagaland. But seriously speaking have human's not encroached on the natural habitat of dogs in developed countries. Why then is the menace and nuisance of strays not as threatening as they are in India?
Mariyam Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 ^ Aren't dogs just domesticated wolves ie. dogs' date=' as we know them today, did not exist in the wild? It's only after some kinds of wolves were domesticated that dogs came into being? Don't think the dogs we see in urban surroundings have the ability to survive in the wild.[/quote'] No, I don't know. This site has some inconclusive answers http://www.differencebetween.net/science/nature/difference-between-wolf-and-dog/ Even tigers ' date=' lions, Elephants, kangaroos have [b']animal rights & some people have them as pets and keep them in their backyards but I wouldnt nor would I want 10-12 of them roaming freely in my neighborhood. By 'back yard' do you mean the African Savannas and by 'some people' do you mean the Maasai? :P
Mariyam Posted January 27, 2011 Posted January 27, 2011 The government should give some kind of ultimatum, a ceasefire sort of. This period is when animal lovers and PETA activists could go on an overdrive adopting strays. Post that all still-strays to be rounded off and shipped off to Nagaland. But seriously speaking have human's not encroached on the natural habitat of dogs in developed countries. Why then is the menace and nuisance of strays not as threatening as they are in India? Nagaland doesn't have access to the sea coast. :P I say ship them off to Lakshwadeep. The developed countries have been 'developed' for the last 300 years. Maybe when they were developing, they too had issues with strays.
Sir_Afridi Posted January 28, 2011 Posted January 28, 2011 A woman in the Romanian capital, Bucharest, has died after being mauled by a pack of stray dogs. http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-12311489
Mariyam Posted February 7, 2011 Posted February 7, 2011 This is from today's ToI http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/mumbai/Youth-brings-a-stroke-of-Luck-to-Calamity/articleshow/7439571.cms Just an average citizen going out of his way to tend to a stray. :hatsoff:
Sachin=GOD Posted February 18, 2011 Posted February 18, 2011 IIM-A seeks foreign help for stray dog menace AHMEDABAD: While the city still awaits a solution on the stray dog menace that has turned fatal for many, the country's top management school has already geared up to manage the issue within its campus. The Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad (IIM-A) will sign an MoU with an international non-government animal protection organisation called the Humane Society International (HSI) to handle dog menace on the campus. IIM-A also proposes to build a kennel and employ a person to manage the stray dogs. It will take several other measures to tackle the issue. Talking about the MoU which will be signed on Friday, chief administrative officer of IIM-A NV Pillai said, "Through the MoU, HSI will take care of monitoring, immunisation and welfare of the dogs. The person employed to take care of the kennel will also take note of complaints relating to dogs inside the campus. While the institute will pay salary to the person employed, all other expenses such as the sterilisation and treatment of the dogs will be borne by the HSI." After some instances of dog biting on the campus, in which faculty members and staff members were injured, the institute had adopted control measures like sterilisation of stray dogs on the campus. But these failed to keep the situation under control as new dogs kept venturing into the campus. Following complaints of dog menace from different quarters of the campus, the institute held a series of meetings with the institute's community members during the last few months. The proposals that emerged from these deliberations are now being implemented. Link
Ram Posted February 22, 2011 Posted February 22, 2011 Morris ji, Your points are quite convincing. In all honesty, I wouldn't want bugs/insects running over my home even if they were once a part of the natural ecosystem of what is now Mumbai city. And thats a double standard that I am guilty of, vis a vis dogs and bugs. I have never been chased or bitten or harassed by strays. So, maybe I'm being too idealistic about the whole thing while being unaware of the menace. Though I still don't necessarily agree on neutering all strays based on the actions of a few, I don't think I have any practical long term alternatives. All I can suggest is adopting a stray and giving it a better life, if it is within the persons financial means. Hyegine PS: Don't call me ji. I believe I'm much younger than you. Once again, you come across as a compassionate/humane person, my kudos to you for that. However, this is civic policy we’re talking about, not personal ethics. For me the choices are pretty clear – Either clear our streets of the stray dog menace (or) let them roam free in our streets so that they continue to pose not just a terrible civic problem, but also a hyegine risk. I wish we could get rid of them in a reasonable and considerate manner, but unfortunately, we just don’t have the resources to accomplish that. P.S; A'right, no more Ji's
Sir john Posted May 21, 2011 Posted May 21, 2011 Infant girl’s mauled body found at Metro station On a day when the Prime Minister’s Office convened a high-level ministerial meeting to discuss the declining child sex ratio in India, the Capital bared its ugly anti-girl child face, with the recovery of a mauled body of a two-day-old girl from a Metro station in West Delhi. Dumped in a blood-soaked gunny bag, the body caught the eye of passersby at the Ranjit Nagar Metro Station. Though the station sees heavy passenger rush throughout the day, no witness of the dumping act was available. From the state of the body — it had severe injuries on the neck and one leg and hand were half-severed -- it was evident that the newborn had been abandoned right after birth. Strangely, police investigating the matter hastened to conclude that the injuries were caused by dog bites. Their claims are yet to be corroborated by a postmortem. The case is not an isolated one though the ACP in-charge of the area, BR Mann, today admitted that it was one of the most shocking in terms of injuries to the child. As happens in most cases involving abandonment of newborns, mostly girls, FIR in the current case has been registered under Section 318 of the IPC, which deals with infanticide and concealment of birth by secret disposal of a newborn’s body. Ironically, this Section makes a mockery of the victim by providing for a painfully meager penalty. The offence under it is bailable and, if proved, punishable only with a maximum imprisonment of two years and a fine or both. That explains why child rights activists want the disposal of a newborn’s body under Section 318 to be treated at par with murder in terms of punishment and Section 302 of the IPC to be attached along with. “Though we have a very strict law -- the Pre Conception and Pre Natal Diagnostics Techniques Act — to prevent foeticide, we have none to curb infanticide. Because there is no fear of punishment, parents choose to abandon girl children and get away. Section 318 needs an urgent amendment so that the disposal of a child’s body can be equated to murder,” Bharti Ali of HAQ, a centre for child rights, told The Tribune. She admitted there was tremendous underreporting of abandonment cases because the police lodge FIRs only in those few where they think they can find the culprits.
beetle Posted May 21, 2011 Posted May 21, 2011 The dog population explosion is more due to the lack of a natural predator in the towns and cities that they would have to deal with in the jungle.Since a predator cannot be introduced ,there population has to be kept under check by using other means.In this case humans have to take over .If the dog lovers want unlimited reproductive rights for dogs like the other animals in the wild ,then they should accept the role of a predator like in the wild just to keep the balance in nature.(and please don't get the sterilize or kill the poor too argument because humans are not dogs) The most humane would be Neutering.If that doesn't work then they have to be relocated and as an extreme step even put to sleep. Dogs are dangerous in packs and the local authorities should be responsible for making sure that their numbers in an area does not become out of control. It is not practical to expect people to take stray dogs home .Not everyone likes dogs and a lot of people do not have enough space for humans in urban spaces.And why just dogs?Why not the cute cats or the furry rats ?Where do you stop? I like dogs but I like human babies more.
Desi Cartman Posted June 29, 2012 Posted June 29, 2012 CHANDIGARH/NEW DELHI: An opposition Congress MLA in Punjab has kicked up a controversy with his remark that stray dogs be sent to the northeast for "whatever they do to them" as a way to tackle the growing menace of these canines. The suggestion by Ajit Singh Mofar was condemned by animal rights activists including BJP leader Maneka Gandhi who said it was "derogatory" to the people of the northeast. The Congress too ticked off Mofar. "He (Mofar) is an avid skater and it will be better if he sticks to skating," AICC spokesman Manish Tewari told newsmen in Delhi. Mofar moved a resolution in the assembly yesterday seeking to tackle stray dogs in the state by sending them to China, Nagaland and Mizoram for "whatever they do to them". "We can make arrangements to catch such dogs, put them in jungle or zoos. Maybe we can then send them to Nagaland, Mizoram and China where they are more needed," he said in a veiled reference to the practice in some communities in northeastern states where dogs are killed for their meat. "Stray dogs are such a big nuisance; even going on a walk has become dangerous because of them," he said voicing concern at the sharp rise in cases of dog bites in Punjab, with an estimated 15,000 such cases reported annually. The resolution, which was moved to the amusement of the House, has angered animal rights groups. "I find the remark derogatory for the people of North-East and like coming from an illiterate. Punjab government should take steps like sterilisation programmes, Maneka Gandhi said. People for Animals president Saurabh Gupta said that no doubt, the issue raised by the MLA needs to be addressed at the earliest, but the 'solution' suggested by him is "not practical and ethical". "It is inhuman and unethical. Dogs have the right to live as well," he said. If the Punjab government attempts any such thing, we will drag them to court, he added. Sunil Jakhar, legislature leader of Congress party, distanced himself from his colleague's remark. "A dog is a man's best friend. Saying such things trivialises the issue. Personally, I am against this attitude," he added. :hysterical: On the issue : I dont care what they do with the dogs but there are way too many street dogs in North India. More than a decade ago the municipality actually cleaned it up and was picking up all street dogs and killing most of them but Madam maneka had an issue with it.