asterix Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 I was cringing on my seat the moment they started booing. Graceless :headshake:
b555 Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 i dont care.. its afterall p.ricky.... i dont fkin care.. completely same opinion :two_thumbs_up:
Karan114 Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 They should have shown little class.. even for Punter. You have won it.. why don't you celebrate it gracefully like a true sports fan. + This was exactly my feeling when I heard the boos...my instinctive reaction was "is there really a need for this" after winning such a superb game. End of the day, guy is an all time great playing his last match in India...we could have shown some grace.
NareshK Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 He did his reputation no favor by claiming that he didnt know a catch he took was grounded when the ball dropped a couple of feet in front of him. Its things like these which make people hate him.
Aaku Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 punterr cheater ! punter cheater !! that catch he claimed.. omg.. i heard the most innovative gaaaliz fr him after tht :cantstop: khair i hope this was his last match in INDIA.. gandagi kumm huyi cricket ki :finger: but great ton ! :icflove:
fineleg Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 They should have shown little class.. even for Punter. You have won it.. why don't you celebrate it gracefully like a true sports fan. The Madras crowd would not have boo-ed, they are more sporting.
sharma Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 he was boo-ed not because he made a century, but because of claiming the bump catch, not walking, claiming to be an umpire, being a hypocrite etc hes a good player, but far from the ideal sportsman
cricketlover Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 England crowd consistently bood him as well! On the contrary, the English crowd gave him a standing ovation on his last innings during the Ashes 2009. The applause lasted for a couple of minutes because the classy, educated fans realised that eventhough we have a history with Ponting, he is still a world class performer and should be respected for that. So KingWhatever, please stop making things up and trying to cover the illiteracy of your fans by painting other team's fans with the same brush
Holysmoke Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 Screw you guys. Team aise hi nahi jeeti.. Hum logo ne team ko cheer cheer cheer karje jitaya hai.
Fontaine Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 There were people standing up and applauding when Ponting scored his century. Too bad it counted for nothing~!!
Anakin Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 As much as I hate :punter:, the booing was definitely not on, very disappointing.
Guest Gunner Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 Indians will never learn the finer nuances of human beahviour. This is not the first and will most certainly not be the last occassion.
Guest Gunner Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 On the contrary' date=' the English crowd gave him a standing ovation on his last innings during the Ashes 2009. The applause lasted for a couple of minutes because the [b']classy, educated fans realised that eventhough we have a history with Ponting, he is still a world class performer and should be respected for that. So KingWhatever, please stop making things up and trying to cover the illiteracy of your fans by painting other team's fans with the same brush Ok, I largely agree with your post but I think now you are going over board. I have watched the unedifying spectacle of Englishmen doing beer runs down high street so let us stop throwing out adjectives like "classy". However your overall point stands.
coffee_rules Posted March 24, 2011 Posted March 24, 2011 Every since Sydney, I have no respect for guys like :punter: and Hayden. Their win-at-all-costs behavior sometimes crosses limits of decency.
flamy Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 I woulda felt bad if it happened to anyone else. But for pwnt :hehe: I admit I didn't see the match, but CI was talking abt him whining abt Raina running in the way of Haddin blah blah :hehe:
therocky Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Our subcontinent crowds are really pathetic, AB de villiers scored a fantastic half century and the crowd was acting like somebody just died...
BERGKAMP Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 awesome player, but he is a cheating c**t, so f- him. this is karma catching up with him.
vpg0002 Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 When India were needing a wayward throw from Ponting to Haddin was not collected cleanly as Haddin was not able to sight the ball with Raina right between the all and Haddin. They went for the overthrow and Ponting was there giving his piece of mind to Raina. Raina was well within his rights to do that and things like this will not go very well with opposition, crowd etc. Nonetheless it was a great knowck today and he is a champion cricketer .. with 3 world cup wins as captain and bucket load of runs.
Prakat Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 ^^^ Not the first time the "i win at all costs" captain has felt free to give a lesson in ethics on the ground. There was an incident when he actually gave KP an earful for not walking during a match in oz recently. :haha:
ravishingravi Posted March 25, 2011 Posted March 25, 2011 Typically pathetic. This might be great man's last innings on Indian soil. Lets not keep generating the same kind of vitriol over what has happened in the past. I was very happy with the way they applauded him on a great ton. But this kind of behaviour is uncalled for and shameless to be honest. I hope it was only a section of the crowd.