cowboysfan Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 :nervous: He has his theories and loves his analysis. I remember reading his book a few years back and it covered India's tour in 2002. Crazy level of analysis on how to dismiss Tendulkar. I just hope that he adjusts to the Indian system. There is no way that he will have the same control that he had with England. interesting,can you share more on his coaching philosophies?
Cricket Tragic Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 interesting' date='can you share more on his coaching philosophies?[/quote'] Known as a great tactician and loves detailed analysis. When the England team's notes were found by the media, they found plans to how to bowl to each Australian batsman, including Glenn McGrath's batting strengths and weaknesses. :cantstop: Very good batting coach. I think Kallis still goes to him. Again he has his pet theories (trigger movements. loves the sweep, reverse sweep) Hates bowlers who can't bowl at a decent speed (late 130s to 140s min). Look at the bowlers he liked and picked (Jones, Flintoff, Harmison and even Hoggard bowled at a decent speed then). Replaced them with Mahmood, Plunkett etc since they had speed :facepalm: Keepers who can bat. No problem since we have Dhoni Bowlers who can bat, esp spinners. Hence Giles played over Panesar until they had no choice (Perth test) Loves to have a core group of senior players Works on an individual basis with players
VRV Singh Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 His ODI record with England was v. poor. Saying that they've been crappy at that format for ages even under Flower, a problem going deeper than the coach. That will be a challenge for him..
Late Cut Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 england has sucked in ODIs before and after Duncan Fletcher. It has nothing to do with the coach, but rather the culture. Let's give the man a few months on the job before ranting off about how he is "just like chappell" etc.
The Outsider Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 That and his ultra-conservative and dour approach to Test Match cricket. Infact I don't even think if the guy cares about ODIs. But the good thing is ... all he needs to NOT do is rock the boat. Don't think England's sucking in ODIs has anything to do with Fletcher - they simply stagnated in ODIs after the mid 80s when they started playing guys like David Capel in their side. Yeah, they made the '92 final, but that was on the back of the old guard. There is no way an Indian coach can survive without giving importance to ODIs given the popularity in India. Regarding the dour approach to test matches, it was again an acknowledgment of the limited batting talent he had at his disposal. The forward press, though dour, worked for them on back to back tours of Sri Lanka, Pakistan, and one can even argue India where they were not hopelessly outclassed.
asterix Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 He looks like a very unfit guy He is going to be the Inti Alam of India.. :cantstop:
Cricketics Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 Hopefully our Indian team will take this coach also to new heights. Kirstne was a lucky coach and deserved to win world cup. We gave him a world championship. Now this time English will get to see. His contract might get renewed and he will become a world champion too..
WC2011INDIA Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 I will reserve judgement until the end of the year.
Ram Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 Woah, that came out of the blue almost… Generally the board does a formal selection process where they invite interested candidates to submit an application, shortlist 3-4 people from that, interview all of them and select one from that.. But I think they learned their lessons from the infamous Graham Ford episode, when the dude did all that he was asked to do, right uptil the point when he was offered the job and he backed away! I would certainly this is a great coup that BCCI has pulled off. From all initial reports, Duncan seems to have the respect of both players and peer-coaches alike, which is very rare for anyone. Plus, we all know that he was instrumental, along with Nasser Hussein, in converting the fumbling and mumbling team of the 90s into a competitive unit in the 2000s. He’s definitely a great candidate to succeed coach Gary.
fineleg Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 Boss bhai & shwetabh, Other than the concerns you raised, one that I have is - Does he have the passion and the fire in the belly still in him? That someone younger/eager to prove will have?
anotherhawkeye Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 It's only a two year contract. We shall see how he does in ODI and tests in the mean time. If we suck, we can make one more coaching change before WC. I'll reserve judgement on this guy till the English tour is over.
yoda Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 Dhoni is capable of handling him, I believe. Remember with GC, we had RD has a captain and I believe he let Guru Greg walk all over him and the team. This won't be the case with Dhoni even if Fletcher tries to do too much.
diegovegaz Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 2 year contract for him he's a decent option we shouldn't judge him before seeing our performance under him i wish we had a new bowling coach too, instead of eric simmons and get a 'young' feilding coach, mike was a bad experience
fineleg Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 2 year contract for him he's a decent option we shouldn't judge him before seeing our performance under him i wish we had a new bowling coach too, instead of eric simmons and get a 'young' feilding coach, mike was a bad experience Once the head coach settles in, he may get other consultants roped in One thing is for sure - no one is going to lift Duncan Fletcher :--D like they (Raina) did for Kirsten - even if we win a legendary tournament/series under him, LOL! He is heavy!
Sachin=GOD Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 Once the head coach settles in, he may get other consultants roped in One thing is for sure - no one is going to lift Duncan Fletcher :--D like they (Raina) did for Kirsten - even if we win a legendary tournament/series under him, LOL! He is heavy! there is Yusuf Pathan :--D
desi pride 1234 Posted April 27, 2011 Posted April 27, 2011 how he adjusts to indian mentality and the thinking is the biggest chalenge ahead of him