Karan114 Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 4=0 doesn't reflect performance of this team. When new generation will know about this series, they will not realize this was not mere whitewash. It's worst defeat in the history of cricket. Biggest difference between performance of two top teams. A series where bowlers struggled to take 5 wickets in 2 days and batsman struggled to survive 1 session. Completely outplayed in almost all sessions of the series. If it was a real fight then it would have been like opponent kicking one person all the time and other person just trying to stay conscious. Words can't describe this performance. Defeat is too liniment word for this. You're right, the level of humiliation meted out on Indian cricket over the past month really can't be described in words.
vayuu1 Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 After the 1983 WC we lost to Windies and now after 2011 WC' date=' this :(([/quote'] indian has habbit of geting phainty after world cups do u remember the one day series after tonti tonti wc against ozi
Guest Gunner Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 4=0 doesn't reflect performance of this team. When new generation will know about this series, they will not realize this was not mere whitewash. It's worst defeat in the history of cricket. Biggest difference between performance of two top teams. A series where bowlers struggled to take 5 wickets in 2 days and batsman struggled to survive 1 session. Completely outplayed in almost all sessions of the series. If it was a real fight then it would have been like opponent kicking one person all the time and other person just trying to stay conscious. Words can't describe this performance. Defeat is too liniment word for this. You're right' date=' the level of humiliation meted out on Indian cricket over the past month really can't be described in words.[/quote'] 80% of the people on this forum probably don't realize how humiliating the 4-0 in 92 against Australia was. Similarly 10 years from now this series will be a historical footnote too. We have lost many series of this magnitude by similar margins in the past nor will this be the last such defeat. Calm down.
WC2011INDIA Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 After the 1983 WC we lost to Windies and now after 2011 WC' date=' this :(([/quote'] Won't be surprised if Indian cricket witnesses a major slump in the coming years. I am also pretty sure India aint going to win the next world cup. After every big tournament win, Indian cricket team becomes really complacent and bask in the glory of their previous wins. They forget that to be considered #1 cricket team in the world, you have to be consistent.
bulbul Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 [i want a white wash in odi's as well so that bullshit cricket control of idiots wake up:(( in which country you are living man...Does BCCI realty cares about this series ? they will do some eyewashing committe and create report ,Drop Raina,Shree and RP.....bring some new kids everything will forgotten once CL finishes
Manny_Pacquiao Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 Won't be surprised if Indian cricket witnesses a major slump in the coming years. I am also pretty sure India aint going to win the next world cup. ROFLMAO first series defeat in 3 years and the ICF bahdwas have begun forecasting indian cricket's future halfway into the decade
WC2011INDIA Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 ROFLMAO first series defeat in 3 years and the ICF bahdwas have begun forecasting indian cricket's future halfway into the decade No name calling Bhose DK
Lurker Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 After the 1983 WC we lost to Windies and now after 2011 WC' date= this :(( Okay we need to stop equating the two debacles. 1983 West Indies is one of the all time greats. Marshall, Holding, Garner etc should never be mentioned in the same breath as Broad and Trimlett. In 1983 Kapil Dev took 29 wickets on dustbowls of India, Gavaskar and Vengsarkar faced the barrage of pace bowlers and succeeded many a times. This was capitulation of highest degree against the team which is hardly one of the all time greats. Stop pulling 83 team down just because this one sucked.
bulbul Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 ROFLMAO first series defeat in 3 years and the ICF bahdwas have begun forecasting indian cricket's future halfway into the decade Couple of things... The magnitude of defeats.. there are only 2 other good TEST teams other than Us.....
Manny_Pacquiao Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 No name calling Bhose DK bhai sahab, zara ek do aur prediction dijiye hum logon ko. lottery numbers, GDP forecasts, earnings releases, 2021 olympics ka medal tally, kuch cheez jo hum ko kaam aye. aapka tantrik jaadoo ka vichar dekhne ke liye tayyar hai hum, please enlighten us.
flamy Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 cant be bothered to read the whole thread. Should we have ICF-Mourn theme? :hehe:
darkknight Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 4=0 doesn't reflect performance of this team. When new generation will know about this series, they will not realize this was not mere whitewash. It's worst defeat in the history of cricket. Biggest difference between performance of two top teams. A series where bowlers struggled to take 5 wickets in 2 days and batsman struggled to survive 1 session. Completely outplayed in almost all sessions of the series. If it was a real fight then it would have been like opponent kicking one person all the time and other person just trying to stay conscious. Words can't describe this performance. Defeat is too liniment word for this. Every team loose and win and sometimes get white washed. There is no big deal in defeat, when success in tests have no value in India. We'll regroup and come back again and this 'series' is already history now. What matters, now, is to have faith in this team and give them some time to introspect. I'm sure we have much to prove in near future, right now, team needs us. There is no glory in celebrating when your team wins, lets console when its down and out. Forget IPL, laziness, fatigue, injuries, attitude and other silly stuff for the moment. They a will be part of our cricket for ever, lets try to get to top despite them.
Deleted_User_1 Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 Pakistan is better than India...........:omg:
CG Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 Why it's good India lost the No. 1 ranking Eight reasons we should all be happy with the shift at the top of the rankings Samantha Pendergrast India's dethroning as the World No. 1 hits the front pages back home, August 14, 2011 Firstly, it's a good thing for the Indian players. Defeats, especially massively embarrassing ones like this one, create discord in the dressing room. This is good, as watching any reality show will tell you. Discord leads to anger, hurt and vindictiveness, which spur sportsmen to do better (which is why Greg Chappell is the real architect of India's success). England, with their nicknames ending in "y", "daddy hundreds", and man love are already on the path to self-destruction. They just don't know it yet. The IPL is copping a lot of blame for India's poor performance. Blaming the IPL is fun. Fun is good. Hence the loss is good*. You know how Indian fans are always carping about people hating them because they are jealous of them? Well, it's true. We do hate them. And yes, we are jealous of them. Who wouldn't envy someone who pays to keep the game alive and gets squat in return? We feel envy, admiration, inspiration, affection and respect for these fans. But most of all we feel a whole lot of schadenfreude sloshing about inside us when we see them miserable, tying up bundles of old newspapers to get their effigies burning efficiently when their team fails. For that German emotion, it's worth seeing India fall from the top of the rankings. Though don't worry, England haters - and given it's a colonial game, there should be plenty - your time too shall come. Really, India fans, this defeat is for your own good. Supporting a sports team is an exhausting job, whether they win or lose. But it's only rewarding if your team is not a champion. After all what contributions can fans claim to have made to a team of invincibles? Look at Australian fans these days. True, they can't be smug or throw their weight about, but they can be sure their emotional investments are now of some value. At ICC conferences, Indian board officials may think twice before sending back the soup because it's a bit runny. Of course, the BCCI cannot be humbled, because you need to have soul for that, but we'll take what we can get. The Indian media will be relieved . Good news isn't news. A disaster is news. India are a disaster right now, and hence newsworthy. Former players will be chuffed. They'll be needed again, to slam the team and talk about how things were so much better in their day. Everyone can go back to worrying about the most important thing: Sachin Tendulkar's 100th hundred. Pakistan can feel happy that they aren't the only screw-ups in the subcontinent. cricinfo
amiret Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 4=0 doesn't reflect performance of this team. When new generation will know about this series, they will not realize this was not mere whitewash. It's worst defeat in the history of cricket. Biggest difference between performance of two top teams. A series where bowlers struggled to take 5 wickets in 2 days and batsman struggled to survive 1 session. Completely outplayed in almost all sessions of the series. If it was a real fight then it would have been like opponent kicking one person all the time and other person just trying to stay conscious. Words can't describe this performance. Defeat is too liniment word for this. seconded.
Trichromatic Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 80% of the people on this forum probably don't realize how humiliating the 4-0 in 92 against Australia was. Similarly 10 years from now this series will be a historical footnote too. We have lost many series of this magnitude by similar margins in the past nor will this be the last such defeat. Calm down. I don't know. I started following cricket from probably 96. Whatever you say, 92 series had this match http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/current/match/63565.html Australia - 313 AO. India 483, Aus - 173/8 Shastri - 206 Clearly at least one match dominated by India. Margin of defeats - 10 wickets, 8 wickets, 38 runs and 300 runs. Even if someone looks at scorecard, it not hard to guess that they were not play catching up game all the time. This series started with attempt to avoid follow-on, then failed attempt to draw the match. Then in 2nd test 2 sessions of batting would have given us draw. Team failed. 3rd and 4th test absolute annihilation. I'm sure that we had reputation of being "sirf ghar ka sher" in 90s and we didn't perform well. But this team went with big reputation and performed worse than minnows.
vvvslaxman Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 I don't know. I started following cricket from probably 96. Whatever you say, 92 series had this match http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/current/match/63565.html Australia - 313 AO. India 483, Aus - 173/8 Shastri - 206 Clearly at least one match dominated by India. Margin of defeats - 10 wickets, 8 wickets, 38 runs and 300 runs. Even if someone looks at scorecard, it not hard to guess that they were not play catching up game all the time. This series started with attempt to avoid follow-on, then failed attempt to draw the match. Then in 2nd test 2 sessions of batting would have given us draw. Team failed. 3rd and 4th test absolute annihilation. That was a crappy outing thanks to abysmal biased umpiring and clueless batting by us. But they were playing on surfaces that helped seamers significantly more than these pitches. THey used to stand yards behind keeper at Perth. And also we were never expected to do well there. Add Azharuddin's dumb captaincy.
Trichromatic Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 That was a crappy outing thanks to abysmal biased umpiring and clueless batting by us. But they were playing on surfaces that helped seamers significantly more than these pitches. THey used to stand yards behind keeper at Perth. And also we were never expected to do well there. Add Azharuddin's dumb captaincy. That's why Eng-Ind series can't be compared with any other series.
Guest Gunner Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 I don't know. I started following cricket from probably 96. Whatever you say, 92 series had this match http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/current/match/63565.html Australia - 313 AO. India 483, Aus - 173/8 Shastri - 206 Clearly at least one match dominated by India. Margin of defeats - 10 wickets, 8 wickets, 38 runs and 300 runs. Even if someone looks at scorecard, it not hard to guess that they were not play catching up game all the time. This series started with attempt to avoid follow-on, then failed attempt to draw the match. Then in 2nd test 2 sessions of batting would have given us draw. Team failed. 3rd and 4th test absolute annihilation. I'm sure that we had reputation of being "sirf ghar ka sher" in 90s and we didn't perform well. But this team went with big reputation and performed worse than minnows. The first two test matches were ferocious thrashings. At Sydney we were scared of losing so much that we played as slowly as we could. Look at how long Shastri bated to get that 200. India actually turned a win at SCG into a draw purely because of the terror of losing. Perth was another hammering, look at the 2nd innings scorecard there. At Adelaide that 38 runs margin looks closer that the match really was. When azhar got out the match was truly over, they just got some face saving runs after that. That series was a pretty good thrashing as well.
nballa Posted August 22, 2011 Posted August 22, 2011 Wow' date=' #1 team getting blown 0-4, has to be a first in all of sports.[/quote'] not really. the defending nba champs lakers got blown 0-4 by the eventual champs - dallas mavericks in a best of 7 series in the second round of nba playoffs.