punjabi_khota Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 Imran grew up hating India So did Fineleg. :dontknow:
Clarke Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 There was another famous leader who wanted good relations with Bhindians, her name was Benazir Bhutto
Tiger80 Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 Good post mate. Yes I don't blame Indians for their opinion of Pakistan because there are valid reasons. I just hope that we have leadership that is strong enough to take bold steps on both sides. To me Pakistan should do it's best to build trust by curbing terrorism and open trade with India, Forget the UN resolutions because too much water has passed under the bridge. India should in return take their large army out of Kashmir. Both countries should let pro independence parties contest the elections. Relax border restrictions in Kashmir. So that ppl can establish contact with their families on the side. You are talking lot of sense but Just answer one question with whom India should start peace process in Pakistan. Does Pak govt have enough control on army or ISI ? In India everybody knows Government has full control over army RAW etc but can we say same about Pak
Utalk Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 You are talking lot of sense but Just answer one question with whom India should start peace process in Pakistan. Does Pak govt have enough control on army or ISI ? In India everybody knows Government has full control over army RAW etc but can we say same about Pak Thats a good point. Honestly I don't have an answer to this question. Unfortunately Pak army over the years have proven that they are power hungry who jump at every opportunity to grab power. If they had let the democratic process evolve then by now we would have had good leadership. I am hoping that we have a period now where army stays away from power and let ppl choose who they want. Pakistani ppl have proved over the years that they don't want religious parties hence PPP and N league being the biggest parties in the country.
ganeshran Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 So did Fineleg. :dontknow: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
ganeshran Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 IMO, Complete peace between India and Pakistan will never materialize at the government level. Many players have too much to lose from such an arrangement. The only sustainable position is that of an uneasy peace where both the government and armies of India and Pakistan dont trust each other yet dont want to disturb the fragile balance with drastic actions like war. That coupled with cordial people-to-people relations is the best that India and Pakistan can reach.
Hell Raiser Posted November 15, 2011 Posted November 15, 2011 I grew up knowing that Pakistan is our enemy just like China, but I never disliked or hated Pakistan, but then Mumbai happened. I hate Pakistani's when they call these terrorists as freedom fighters.
Yoda-esque Posted November 16, 2011 Posted November 16, 2011 I grew up knowing that Pakistan is our enemy just like China' date=' but I never disliked or hated Pakistan, but then Mumbai happened. I hate Pakistani's when they call these terrorists as freedom fighters.[/quote'] Its not new .Its been happening for centuries. Read up on the histories of Timur & Babur and you'll know what I mean.
Khalpat Posted November 16, 2011 Posted November 16, 2011 I think the problem between India and Pakistan is just not related to Kashmir or cross border terrorism. Its similar to a story between two brothers who had dispute over some thing and now live apart. Deep down in their heart they both have the feeling that let me become more powerful and more rich to show that look I was correct and you were wrong. The problem with Pakistan is if India becomes a power economically and they go down more into gutter, their coming generation will raise question why humay alag kyun kiya so a typical person from Pakistan while discussing any thing related to India feels good to show look how poor India is and try to give each and every possible reason to justify himself and others that look according to this data they are poor and they have still long way to go. Same thing applies with India if PAkistan becomes economically powerful about which I am less positive then it will create a situation where muslims of our country will ask their parents aap kyun nahi wahan chale gaye aur yahan sharne ke liye humay kyun **** diya. Either you agree or disagree but this is the main reason why we and they both like to discuss negative things about each other and highlight it in our media, in our forums etc. Our relation is not like a typical neighbours but its on the basis of deep rooted bond which is some where in the past hum kabhi bhai thay par tumne nadani kiya.
Tiger80 Posted November 16, 2011 Posted November 16, 2011 I think the problem between India and Pakistan is just not related to Kashmir or cross border terrorism. Its similar to a story between two brothers who had dispute over some thing and now live apart. Deep down in their heart they both have the feeling that let me become more powerful and more rich to show that look I was correct and you were wrong. The problem with Pakistan is if India becomes a power economically and they go down more into gutter' date=' their coming generation will raise question why humay alag kyun kiya so a typical person from Pakistan while discussing any thing related to India feels good to show look how poor India is and try to give each and every possible reason to justify himself and others that look according to this data they are poor and they have still long way to go. Same thing applies with India if PAkistan becomes economically powerful about which I am less positive then it will create a situation where muslims of our country will ask their parents aap kyun nahi wahan chale gaye aur yahan sharne ke liye humay kyun **** diya. Either you agree or disagree but this is the main reason why we and they both like to discuss negative things about each other and highlight it in our media, in our forums etc. Our relation is not like a typical neighbours but its on the basis of deep rooted bond which is some where in the past hum kabhi bhai thay par tumne nadani kiya.[/quote'] I don't think jealousy is the main reason .If that is the case then Why bangladeshi's don't feel that they should be part Of India or pakistan as they are the very poor.Pakistan can never match India in military strength on the other hand if Pakistan decide then they can do very well economically as they don't have very high density of population plus they have the Earth's most fertile region.They also receive big aid from Muslim countries and USA but the problem is they spent much of their money on army.
Utalk Posted November 16, 2011 Posted November 16, 2011 I don't think jealousy is the main reason .If that is the case then Why bangladeshi's don't feel that they should be part Of India or pakistan as they are the very poor.Pakistan can never match India in military strength on the other hand if Pakistan decide then they can do very well economically as they don't have very high density of population plus they have the Earth's most fertile region.They also receive big aid from Muslim countries and USA but the problem is they spent much of their money on army. And corruption. When country is run by the biggest crook there is no way all this aid is going to be spent properly. That's why I blame our army if they had stayed away democratic process would have evolved getting rid of Zardari n co. People of Pakistan have never voted mullahs in. Mush backed religious in 2001 but they could only win handful of seats.
bulbul Posted November 16, 2011 Posted November 16, 2011 Best option for Pak is to keep themsleves without giving trouble to others..This is not the time to make friendship...no one will suddenly make a enemy country freind.. I have watched Vajpeyi Bus yatra to pakisthan with all superstars some years back with lot of hopes..watched whole tour like .a cricket match.... kargil happened some time later...i never trusted this guys afterwords...dont want to trust in future either... No hate....certainly no Love...
ravishingravi Posted November 16, 2011 Posted November 16, 2011 Guys, watch the interview. He says he "used to" while growing up, but later after he went to India, he was bowled over the the love and adulation he received, not to mentioned his best friend in Oxford was an Indian. On the issue in general, there is hate on both sides. I believe towards and the east and large chunk of South of India is really indifferent to the whole issue. For that matter, even the common man is not concerned about Pakistan till there is another terrorist attack. As for Pakistan, I believe the situation is the same. However, what makes the situation slightly more complicated is that in order to create this rather "synthetic" identity that is "non Indian" to the extent possible, they have tried to manufacture a completely different set of reality, altering history and creating conspiracies and siege mentality to keep this narrative alive. I believe accepting and maybe embracing their past which really is one of ours is the only they can get some sort of closure. Unfortunately, Imran doesn't seem like the right candidate. He seems as right wing as they can get in some of his rhetoric. Maybe it is just a gimmick.
Yoda-esque Posted November 16, 2011 Posted November 16, 2011 Guys, watch the interview. He says he "used to" while growing up, but later after he went to India, he was bowled over the the love and adulation he received, not to mentioned his best friend in Oxford was an Indian. On the issue in general, there is hate on both sides. I believe towards and the east and large chunk of South of India is really indifferent to the whole issue. For that matter, even the common man is not concerned about Pakistan till there is another terrorist attack. As for Pakistan, I believe the situation is the same. However, what makes the situation slightly more complicated is that in order to create this rather "synthetic" identity that is "non Indian" to the extent possible, they have tried to manufacture a completely different set of reality, altering history and creating conspiracies and siege mentality to keep this narrative alive. I believe accepting and maybe embracing their past which really is one of ours is the only they can get some sort of closure. Unfortunately, Imran doesn't seem like the right candidate. He seems as right wing as they can get in some of his rhetoric. Maybe it is just a gimmick. I guess you are right about that.
vipin Posted November 16, 2011 Posted November 16, 2011 We are opening an NGO called "India Pakistan Friendship Club". The aim being to help people interact with each other, mobilize and put pressure on their governments for good constructive and cooperative ties. All the hate and wars does not benefit anybody. We have enrolled more than 100,000 people in an orkut community by the same name. And now we are registering it as an NGO with an actual office and with accounts, and a vision.
Utalk Posted November 16, 2011 Posted November 16, 2011 We are opening an NGO called "India Pakistan Friendship Club". The aim being to help people interact with each other, mobilize and put pressure on their governments for good constructive and cooperative ties. All the hate and wars does not benefit anybody. We have enrolled more than 100,000 people in an orkut community by the same name. And now we are registering it as an NGO with an actual office and with accounts, and a vision. Great initiative mate. Keep it up.
Sir john Posted November 16, 2011 Author Posted November 16, 2011 its time to move ahead we all think. but :nervous: