Sooda Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 There is a domestic cricket thread with loads of great suggestions. Chief of which is to makeZ onal tourno the main one as suggested above. Fewer teams of higher quality. Pitches is the obvious one. More than ayhthing I think a really active A team programme like England have will really spearate the men from boys and get players 'readier' for international cricket with the experience they will be getting overseas. The last A team tour was England about a year and a half ago. EPT is played vs a bunch of kids for the most part.
Karan114 Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 That is an impractical suggestion and there is 0 % chance of it happening in real life. Although it must be said that IPL is one of the main reasons why our players have lost the motivation to play test cricket and are not prepared to put in the extra hard work that is needed for tests. Even the older icons have lost test mentality after the IPL has been introduced. But, leaving aside a few thousand cricket connoisseurs, like some of us in ICF, most of the crores of our countrymen and women are watching the IPL with much more enthusiasm than tests and some are even talking about stopping test matches altogether. So IPL will stay and tests will diminish in importance over time, no matter how much we dislike it. Can't argue with that. When the average Indian adores second rate cricket in the tamasha but has zero appreciation for real cricket then its not realistic to expect the tamasha to be scrapped, no matter how toxic it is for Indian cricket. We should thank the great players we had in the 2000s for briefly lifting us to the no.1 spot because it is back to being a second rate Test nation now. The masses can continue watching Raina, Kohli and the other FTBs slog their way in IPL and ODIs.
adi B Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 pitches in mohali ,dharmsala,nagpur,indore,ahmedabad nd some cold areas should be converted to bouncy tracks with green top almost every match, then we`ll see how well the bowlers do nd how these idiot young ftbs of different states bat
zen Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 decreasing of no of teams would be unfair.. we will not see small town cricketers if there r less no of teams.. They could merge teams for e.g. there are 3 teams from Gujarat, i.e. Saurashtra, Gujarat and Baroda. we can have the cricketers from all these teams playing for one team. The three cricket asscciations can pick a team from players available from the state. And they can have a state level competition amongst the 3 teams to pick the right players. Similarly other teams can be merged into one team
panther Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 less teams 1 team per state pak also needs to implement this
Mariyam Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 They could merge teams for e.g. there are 3 teams from Gujarat' date=' i.e. Saurashtra, Gujarat and Baroda. we can have the cricketers from all these teams playing for one team. The three cricket asscciations can pick a team from players available from the state. And they can have a state level competition amongst the 3 teams to pick the right players. Similarly other teams can be merged into one team[/quote'] In principal, what you suggest is a good idea. But it is quite impractical. The reason why the state of Gujarat has 3 teams - Gujarat, Suarashtra and Baroda is because the competition out dates the present state of Gujarat and India. Saurashtra and Baroda were princely states when the Brits were around. And they have a lot of history attached to them. In fact Ranjitshinji, after whom the trophy is named, is from Jamnagar in Saurashtra. Same reason why Mumbai and Maharashtra have different teams too. Back in the day, the Bombay presidency encompassed present day Mumbai, parts of western Maharashtra and Gujarat and even Karachi and Hyderabad provinces of Pakistan.
shinchan Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 In principal, what you suggest is a good idea. But it is quite impractical. The reason why the state of Gujarat has 3 teams - Gujarat, Suarashtra and Baroda is because the competition out dates the present state of Gujarat and India. Saurashtra and Baroda were princely states when the Brits were around. And they have a lot of history attached to them. In fact Ranjitshinji, after whom the trophy is from Jamnagar in Saurashtra. Same reason why Mumbai and Maharashtra have different teams too. Back in the day, the Bombay presidency encompassed present day Mumbai, parts of western Maharashtra and Gujarat and even Karachi and Hyderabad provinces of Pakistan. :dito: & also consider case of maharshtra & mumbai,both reached quarters,vidarbha almost made it.If there is only one team imagine no of players missed to showcase their talent.. even if u look at mumbai they r doin great without rahane,rohit,nayar,aagarkar,saalvi even baroda & hyderabad r always strong sides consider England even though they r such small country they have 18 counties..n they r doin reasonably well(thnx to SA:winky:)
zen Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 In principal, what you suggest is a good idea. But it is quite impractical. The reason why the state of Gujarat has 3 teams - Gujarat, Suarashtra and Baroda is because the competition out dates the present state of Gujarat and India. Saurashtra and Baroda were princely states when the Brits were around. And they have a lot of history attached to them. In fact Ranjitshinji, after whom the trophy is from Jamnagar in Saurashtra. Same reason why Mumbai and Maharashtra have different teams too. Back in the day, the Bombay presidency encompassed present day Mumbai, parts of western Maharashtra and Gujarat and even Karachi and Hyderabad provinces of Pakistan. I wouldn't like to see those teams go. But moving forward, to improve the standards, we need to consolidate the teams and have like 8 teams or less (one of the points). If we can have a couple of overseas players too, improve the pitches, have a system where teams are encouraged to go for wins, etc Take IPL for e.g. i liked it more when it had 8 teams. Adding just 2 more teams saw the quality of local pool get diluted
f.b.m Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Just a suggestion but would a point for wickets taken be more effective than one for a first innings lead? The only 'loophole' would be that teams would look to declare as soon as they pass the opposing team's score and try to get more wickets. Then again thats not such a bad thing because the game will move forward. Legit or not?
zen Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 :dito: & also consider case of maharshtra & mumbai,both reached quarters,vidarbha almost made it.If there is only one team imagine no of players missed to showcase their talent.. even if u look at mumbai they r doin great without rahane,rohit,nayar,aagarkar,saalvi even baroda & hyderabad r always strong sides consider England even though they r such small country they have 18 counties..n they r doin reasonably well(thnx to SA:winky:) Not really as the players play in a sub league say of teams involving Baroda, Gujarat and Saurashtra. They can show case their talent in it. next step is we pick players from those who have done well in the sub league to a consolidated team may be we don't need to replace Ranji but have a premier test league where ranji teams are consolidated :dontknow:
zen Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 Just a suggestion but would a point for wickets taken be more effective than one for a first innings lead? The only 'loophole' would be that teams would look to declare as soon as they pass the opposing team's score and try to get more wickets. Then again thats not such a bad thing because the game will move forward. Legit or not? that's a good suggestion as well but that might make teams want to pick batsman who are not likely to be flashy .... the run rate could fall to as guys are more focused on not giving wkts away Another option is to have a point system like the one below: * 30-35 points for every wkt taken to the bowling side (obviously) per inning * 1 point for every run to a max of say 300-350 runs per inning Take 35 points per wkt and 350 runs and say the score is is 250/5 at the end of day one batting side has 250 points bowling side has 175 points (35*5) This creates interesting scenatios for day 2: 1. Does the batting side want to concede points by getting any thing more than 350. Say they reach 350/8. it has 350 points but the bowling side has 280 points. In trying to get to a 400+ score which could help them get a psychological advantage and put more pressure on the opposition, they also run the risk of giving the bowling side full points too as the batting side has already reached it max of 350 for the inning And say the team is 250/3, does it want to bat on and on to not bat again or declare at a competitive total to not give points to the bowling side And if you win the game, you double your points or something like that
1983-2011 Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 merge this 27 ranji teams in to 8 teams, play home and away so no finals etc...
BeautifulGame Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 The best thing to do would be make Ranji trophy a 2nd tier tournament and make Duleep trophy the national domestic competition. Play both these tournaments simultaneously so that matches are 5-day games and space out games so that bowlers arent burnt out.Make Duleep trophy home and away format so that every player gets 8 matches and faces same competition to prove his worth.Ranji trophy format can left the same too so that its history isnt affected. Right now we play 2 domestic competitions for tests ODIs and T20.There is no organization or planning.This is a joke. Making Ranji trophy just a ladder for Duleep trophy and not National team will increase our domestic talent enormously IMO. Thus u dont even need to blame IPL to address the issues of our domestic cricket. But i am 100% sure would never even think any of the suggestions made in this thread.
coffee_rules Posted January 6, 2012 Posted January 6, 2012 pitches , pitches and pitches. change them and we would improve 40% I say balls. balls and balls. Change them to Kookaburra and we would improve.
Needforspeed Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Apart from the stupid piitches, the points system in Ranji Trophy also sucks. A win gets 5 points and a first innings lead 3 points. Most teams target the 3 points and select their teams accordingly. There is no real motivation for going for an outright win. Suppose a win is given 10 or 12 points, teams will play hard and strive for wins.
express bowling Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Apart from the stupid piitches' date=' the points system in Ranji Trophy also sucks. A win gets 5 points and a first innings lead 3 points. Most teams target the 3 points and select their teams accordingly. There is no real motivation for going for an outright win. Suppose a win is given 10 or 12 points, teams will play hard and strive for wins.[/quote'] :two_thumbs_up:
ChanaLal Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Apart from the stupid piitches' date=' the points system in Ranji Trophy also sucks. A win gets 5 points and a first innings lead 3 points. Most teams target the 3 points and select their teams accordingly. There is no real motivation for going for an outright win. Suppose a win is given 10 or 12 points, teams will play hard and strive for wins.[/quote'] The answer is batting and bowling points instead of first innings wins. Points for runs scored and wickets taken up to a limit. If you bat past a certain number of overs you lose those points. Second innings is then all about winning the match with a large bonus points number for a victory. This will encourage open matches, aggressive declarations and teams trying to take 20 wickets - most of the things the TEST team should be doing
bharat297 Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 Well, I guess, many would share your frustrations with ranji To improve standards, may be they could try * reducing teams to 8 or less. In this way more quality players can play against each other * allowing a couple of overseas players in a side * encouraging teams to go for wins. By doing so captaincy is more attack oriented, along with batsman and bowlers playing to get results Agree with all the above, but also add one more: * Encourage curators to prepare a variety of pitches so that we can more accurately judge the quality of batsmen and bowlers in the domestic scene.
f.b.m Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 that's a good suggestion as well but that might make teams want to pick batsman who are not likely to be flashy .... the run rate could fall to as guys are more focused on not giving wkts away Another option is to have a point system like the one below: * 30-35 points for every wkt taken to the bowling side (obviously) per inning * 1 point for every run to a max of say 300-350 runs per inning Take 35 points per wkt and 350 runs and say the score is is 250/5 at the end of day one batting side has 250 points bowling side has 175 points (35*5) This creates interesting scenatios for day 2: 1. Does the batting side want to concede points by getting any thing more than 350. Say they reach 350/8. it has 350 points but the bowling side has 280 points. In trying to get to a 400+ score which could help them get a psychological advantage and put more pressure on the opposition, they also run the risk of giving the bowling side full points too as the batting side has already reached it max of 350 for the inning And say the team is 250/3, does it want to bat on and on to not bat again or declare at a competitive total to not give points to the bowling side And if you win the game, you double your points or something like that Right. A further complication of rules is precisely what we need
ChanaLal Posted January 7, 2012 Posted January 7, 2012 First innings only: Batting: 1 point for 250, 275, 300, 325 and 350, making 5 points max Bowling: 1 point for 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10 wickets making 5 points max An outright win gives you an EXTRA 14 points. Draw 3 points each team Example; Team A: 330 all out and 229 Team B: 380-7 dec and 110-4 Points: Team A 11 points (5 batting, 3 bowling and 3 drawn match) Points: Team B 13 points (5 bowling, 5 batting and 3 match drawn) Had Team B chased successfully then they would have 24 points (14 for win plus 10 batting and bowling). Team A would have got just 8 points.