If there was a general election tommorow, who would you vote for?

King Tendulkar

If there was a general election tommorow, who would you vote for?  

1 member has voted

• Congress
    • BJP

Heck' date=' India lags behind most other nations in all major indices including governance. But then you have UPA/INC/Vadra defenders on this forum, what's to expect from the "mango people of the banana republic" ?[/quote'] Exactly. Some simply just keep barking without any substance.

Heck' date=' India lags behind most other nations in all major indices including governance. But then you have UPA/INC/Vadra defenders on this forum, what's to expect from the "mango people of the banana republic" ?[/quote'] As if it wasn't under NDA rule. Thing is India is a 3rd world country and to become a 2nd world and then a 1st world country will take time. I trust ppl like Chidambaram, Manmohan, Montek, Khurshid,Nilekani,Pitroda etc far more than Modi (who is doing good work in Gujarat - his GIFT city/Dholera are out of this world but I don't believe he has it in him to run a nation). Also UPA govt has delivered far better on economic/terrorism fronts than NDA. Mind you, I am not justifying the immense corruption by the UPA govt but thing is "No country gets honest before it gets rich". This does not mean we have to accept the corruption. We should fight and take appropriate action (which may voting out the party which may be your choice as well as plenty of other people's which is perfectly OK) but I believe that the INC is better for India rather than BJP and so I will vote for them. As for Sonia/Rahul etc none of them do governance, Sonia just handles the politics part. Wooing allies, passing bills. The bills etc are all done by the central committee who are extremely competent. Economic Stats: Growth Rates Data taken from World Bank - http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/NY.GDP.MKTP.KD.ZG NDA 98 - 6.2 99 - 8.5 00 - 4.0 01 - 4.9 02 - 3.9 03 - 7.9 UPA 04 - 7.8 05 - 9.3 06 - 9.3 07 - 9.8 08 - 3.9 09 - 8.5 10 - 10.5 11 - 6.3 12 - 5.3 Terrorism Stats: Casualties Data taken from SATP - http://www.satp.org/satporgtp/countries/india/database/indiafatalities.htm

^^ These are wonderful statistics. I am sure those who understand economics will clearly understand these numbers. Unless we understand these numbers, it would be hard to attribute these to specific government. There are many who claim Gujrat is not growing. I just wonder why everyone except congress think otherwise. So which indices do they really look for in this growth factor?

Gujarat is growing. In growth factor they look at GDP growth rates (I've given all India ones in my last post). As you can see, Gujarat has got double digit growth figures since last few years. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Indian_states_by_GDP Modi is also building this really ambitious Shanghai kind of thing. gift-city-gujarat-NH8.jpg Two of the skyscrapers are done (finished earlier than the deadline). Entire thing will be ready by 2017-18. 538555_521492524549774_848730885_n.png

Well, Maharashtra has been the #1 state obviously. So it will be easier to compare Guj with Mah. Before Modi took over, Gujarat's economy was Mah's 44% based on GSDP. In 2011 it grew to 54% of Maharashtras total economy. Maharashtra has mumbai's economy with added software export which is a huge booster but Gujarat has managed this growth in industrial production and agriculture. Gujarat was always known for industrial growth since 2-3 decades. Still, in that sector it has done much better than what was in earlier decades. As compared to India's economy, Gujarats share was 5.77% of total economy in 2001. It almost grew by 2% to 7.5%. That is a huge increase if you look at in a perspective, the population size, per capita and overall growth. Obviously, other indices will show the progress as Modi is taking very serious note of those as well. In coming 5 years, we will have very different picture. All these figures are based planning commission of India web site.

By 2030, Gujarat,Maha, the 4 southern states, Delhi, Haryana, Punjab will be very good places with 100% literacy, almost no poverty, bullet trains etc. The BIMARU states will also improve but they'll lag behind somewhat. 95% of India's poor will be from BIMARU.

By 2030' date=' Gujarat,Maha, the 4 southern states, Delhi, Haryana, Punjab will be very good places with 100% literacy, almost no poverty, bullet trains etc. The BIMARU states will also improve but they'll lag behind somewhat. 95% of India's poor will be from BIMARU.[/quote'] And it's all about Uttar Pradesh. If India ever needed a focused approach, UP will be the main thing. For political parties itself, UP is the greatest prize and if only BJP can reach its level some years back, they will be twice stronger.

I am not a Modi fan...but I am tempted to see what he can do at the national level.Aur choice kya hai...the same bloody Gandhi sponges or that bloody antinational communal,castiest ,terrorist sympathiser yadavs from UP.

As for Sonia/Rahul etc none of them do governance, Sonia just handles the politics part. Wooing allies, passing bills. The bills etc are all done by the central committee who are extremely competent. Economic Stats: Growth Rates Data taken from World Bank - http://data.worldbank.org/indicator/NY.GDP.MKTP.KD.ZG NDA 98 - 6.2 99 - 8.5 00 - 4.0 01 - 4.9 02 - 3.9 03 - 7.9 UPA 04 - 7.8 05 - 9.3 06 - 9.3 07 - 9.8 08 - 3.9 09 - 8.5 10 - 10.5 11 - 6.3 12 - 5.3 Terrorism Stats: Casualties Data taken from SATP - http://www.satp.org/satporgtp/countries/india/database/indiafatalities.htm
Achha, you have the numbers on inflation, scams & corruption index or are they irrelevant as long as Gandhis are in power ?

Many generals, few soldiers

It’s that time of the electoral season again when politicians’ thoughts turn to that predictable pastime — the formation of a third front. And this time is no different. With the two main formations not exactly covering themselves in glory, the UPA after a series of scams and the NDA after an unseemly power struggle, many parties are justified in thinking that a new formation could be the answer. Ideally it could be. Many of the allies have good reason to be disillusioned with both the NDA and the UPA. Already BJD chief Naveen Patnaik while maintaining that he would like to be equidistant from both the NDA and the UPA has raised the possibility of a third front. The JD(U) has also hinted at it. The Left is perpetually in favour of a third front as are others like the Telugu Desam Party’s Chandrababu Naidu. The Trinamool Congress’ Mamata Banerjee too would want a third front, the only person who has not raised the issue is the AIADMK’s J Jayalalithaa. It starts off quite predictably. All the leaders will talk of the need to bring in better governance, sweep out the old rickety formations and so on. They will, to a man or woman, say that they are absolutely not interested in being prime minister of a third front. But past experience has shown that a third front suffers from the problem of too many generals and too few foot soldiers. Despite claims to the contrary, it is obvious that each party leader feels that he or she has a better claim to the top slot than the other. Then there is the question of ideology. Whatever else their faults the NDA and the UPA are held together by their respective ideologies. In a third front, disparate parties have differing ideologies and vastly different methods of functioning. In such a situation, it becomes difficult to choose a first among equals. A third front cannot really have a campaign plank that goes beyond saying that the big two must be shown the door. Given the manner in which the Left behaved while it was part of the UPA coalition, it is unlikely that anyone will buy the theory that it can co-exist with parties whose ideologies are at vast variance with its own. Then there is the question of personalities. Any formation, which has a volatile person like Ms Banerjee, is bound to run into trouble very soon. Both Nitish Kumar and Mr Patnaik have very differing styles of governance. The weight of all these contradictions militates against a third front. All in all, the third front is an idea whose time keeps coming and also goes just as soon.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/editorial-views-on/Edits/Many-generals-few-soldiers/Article1-1075340.aspx

Nitish confirms 'federal front' move

Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar on Thursday confirmed he was in touch with his West Bengal counterpart Mamata Banerjee and Odisha CM Navin Patnaik to explore the possibility of a 'federal front'. On Wednesday, JD(U) MP KC Tyagi had met Mamata Bannerjee in Kolkata to discuss the possibilities of a coalition comprising the regional parties of the three eastern states - Bihar, Odisha and West Bengal. Banerjee reportedly got in touch with Kumar over phone while Tyagi was in Kolkata. Kumar also said that he spoke to Patnaik and congratulated him on the success of his swabhiman rally in New Delhi. Talks over the 'federal front' are believed to have cropped up during the conversation. The three states are exploring the possibility of the 'federal front' to find a shared approach to their problems vis-à-vis the Centre, Kumar said. He said a joint front will empower these states to negotiate issues with the Centre more forcefully. JD(U) president Sharad Yadav, however, played down the 'federal front' talk, saying it was Bannerjee, not Kumar, who floated the idea. Patnaik also didn't elaborate much on the move. "Let's see what the future holds," he said. Meanwhile, Kumar admitted BJP leaders LK Advani, Rajnath Singh and Murli Manohar Joshi discussed with him the JD(U)-BJP ties, but he remained non-committal on whether or not his party would continue its 17-year-old alliance with the BJP. "Our decision on the JD(U)-BJP ties will be made public only after considering all aspects of the issue at a party meeting," he told reporters. The JD(U) on Wednesday asked its legislators to be present in Bihar on Friday and Saturday when Nitish will return from a party rally to take the final call on the ties with the BJP, which came to a breaking point after the elevation of Narendra Modi as the BJP's election campaign head. However, minutes after Kumar spoke about his talks with the BJP leaders about the fate of JD(U)-BJP alliance, Yadav told reporters in New Delhi, "Talks with the BJP (to salvage the NDA) are on. There's nothing more to say as of now." He echoed Kumar that the final call on JD(U)-BJP ties would be taken at a soon-to-be convened party meeting.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/India-news/Patna/Nitish-confirms-federal-front-move/Article1-1075658.aspx abhi bhi yeh log 3rd front ke sapne dekh rahe hain :rofl:

news reports are saying that Nitish has given BJP 2 days to name its PM candidate (who obviously cannot be Modi) while the Bihar Deputy CM Sushil Modi has stopped all work in his office and is not signing files etc - sure shot signs of a split in 2-3 days.

news reports are saying that Nitish has given BJP 2 days to name ots PM candidate (who obviously cannot be Modi) while the Bihar Deputy CM Sushil Modi has stopped all work in his office and is not signing files etc - sure shot signs of a split in 2-3 days.
whats "ots PM"? unless its a typo