Desi Cartman Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 and you can ask me anything around Cognos BI or even Cloud based BI (like GoodData). There is a massive demand in cloud BI and its quite easy to pick so try out gooddata. If nothing else, you'll get a hang of another BI tool. BTW I am moving into social media marketing so tata to BI. Spent around 10 years doing it and was getting bored
Desi Cartman Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 damn.. i travelled to dallas last month and suckers didnt reserve room at hamptons inn even though i called them couple of days earlier.. i reached at hotel at 10:30 - 11 at night so i accepted smoking room.. got a headache next morning. BTW.. BI and BO seems like hot potato these days.. do you recommend getting training on either of those two?? I been thinking abt it but need some opinion on that.. BO is a one of the BI tools, its not either or.
veer Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 Arre hum to bas yahi kiye hain lol. When I started my career I had the option to be either on programming side (Visual Basic' date= C++) or RDBMS-BI route. Hum BI mein ghus liye. If you want to get trained on Business objects, you can either go through SAP or download their trial software on your machine, there is a 45 day free trial. I would recommend the latter. BI is quite a vast area so you may have to figure out whats your sweet spot? Data Analyst on BI side with some reporting and database exposure? Or heavy hitter on report writing, ETLing, data modelling. Feel free to drop me a PM if you want to keep certain info private and/or more details.:two_thumbs_up: Trial version will be a gud starting point but won't be Able to market that or put down in my resume for a job.. yeah I'll send u pm tomorrow morning when we both r online
veer Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 and you can ask me anything around Cognos BI or even Cloud based BI (like GoodData). There is a massive demand in cloud BI and its quite easy to pick so try out gooddata. If nothing else, you'll get a hang of another BI tool. BTW I am moving into social media marketing so tata to BI. Spent around 10 years doing it and was getting bored Hmmm I gotta lookup more info on GoodData.. how you got trained in BI? Thru SAP? After my MBA i decided not to go back to studying anymore but was wrong given the field I am in.
Desi Cartman Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 Hmmm I gotta lookup more info on GoodData.. how you got trained in BI? Thru SAP? After my MBA i decided not to go back to studying anymore but was wrong given the field I am in. I spent my own yearly 4 week vacation + $1200 9 years ago to learn cognos. Thinking about it now I have made a lot of money by spending those 1200. You can go to any of the mid size IT coaching institute and they can train you for 500 bucks or so, its not official but you can always BS that you have done couple of projects and get a junior role for 6 months or so. You dont have to go back to school and quit work, its always something on the side that you can do or learn.
maniac Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 My Schedule Login to System......Open Face Book,Check E-mail,What's goin on on ICF,BBC,Yahoo,Yahoo finance-9:00-10:00 Go For Coffee-10:00-10:30 Stare at the screen-10:30-11:00 Attend a conference call/Catch up with colleagues-11:00-12:00 Lunch-12:00-1:00 Stare at the blank Screen-1:00-2:00 Start deciding on where to begin with the work on hand 2:00-3:00 Afternoon Break-3:00-3:30 Finish all the work pending-3:30-4:00 Act tired and browse without inhibitions 4:00-5:00 Time to go home :yay:
maniac Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 ^Obviously allocate time to eat snacks that I bring from home,Rest-room breaks etc etc
Lurker Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 Hmmm I gotta lookup more info on GoodData.. how you got trained in BI? Thru SAP? After my MBA i decided not to go back to studying anymore but was wrong given the field I am in. GoodData is a promising company. Identified as one of the 3 Saas BI vendors who were not included in Gartners Magic Quadrant 2012 but promising. Quite small company, so maybe a bit of gamble but returns could be Good, pun intentional.
Prakat Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 My Schedule Login to System......Open Face Book,Check E-mail,What's goin on on ICF,BBC,Yahoo,Yahoo finance-9:00-10:00 Go For Coffee-10:00-10:30 Stare at the screen-10:30-11:00 Attend a conference call/Catch up with colleagues-11:00-12:00 Lunch-12:00-1:00 Stare at the blank Screen-1:00-2:00 Start deciding on where to begin with the work on hand 2:00-3:00 Afternoon Break-3:00-3:30 Finish all the work pending-3:30-4:00 Act tired and browse without inhibitions 4:00-5:00 Time to go home :yay: ur manager needs to be sacked! :omg:
The Dark Horse Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 ur manager needs to be sacked! :omg: Probably he must be the manager :P
Prakat Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 Probably he must be the manager :P Workplace audit time.
velu Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 I have 7+ years experience in IT . 1st year - Did overwork 2nd year till 6th year - Facebook gaming , orkutting , AOE in LAN , foruming and trading and switching companies when reputation goes bad 6th year onwards - Little work , foruming and trading :--D
Texy Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 My routine: -Must evaluate all patient charts and take care of any issues before 8 am/8 pm -Attend lecture or morning report meeting -Accompany chief resident & surgeon to patient rooms -Discuss the prognosis and changes in each patient -Check and double-check test results, compare sub-notes and discuss differential possibilities -Mostly take cases involving hypoglycemia, cardiac arrhythmia & abnormal heart rhythm -Have lunch, flirt with the new interns, older female residents -Attend meeting at ER, requests lab work and prep the paperwork for patients ready to be discharged -Schedule myself to be on call every four days shadowing chief residents -Train to be able to correspond with anxious, emotional patients -Prepare to keep stress levels under check to maintain mental sharpness -Learn to deal with matter of death, every day
Texy Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 Texy - You a doctor or nurse? working towards getting my MD. Currently in med school doing specialized resident program.
maniac Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 ur manager needs to be sacked! :omg: Prav,Simple Corporate funda i picked up---It's not how much work you do but How you sell what you do... Not applicable when you are an IT coolie working for a desi company though,becomes easier when you move on to the business side.
maniac Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 My routine: -Must evaluate all patient charts and take care of any issues before 8 am/8 pm -Attend lecture or morning report meeting -Accompany chief resident & surgeon to patient rooms -Discuss the prognosis and changes in each patient -Check and double-check test results, compare sub-notes and discuss differential possibilities -Mostly take cases involving hypoglycemia, cardiac arrhythmia & abnormal heart rhythm -Have lunch, flirt with the new interns, older female residents -Attend meeting at ER, requests lab work and prep the paperwork for patients ready to be discharged -Schedule myself to be on call every four days shadowing chief residents -Train to be able to correspond with anxious, emotional patients -Prepare to keep stress levels under check to maintain mental sharpness -Learn to deal with matter of death, every day I wonder which activity takes up most of your schedule :hmmm:
Crookbond Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 working towards getting my MD. Currently in med school doing specialized resident program. Cool :D
maniac Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 working towards getting my MD. Currently in med school doing specialized resident program. Hey Texy quick question about Med schools in the U.S for my nephew,Let me know if I can PM you