Lurker Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 if I am understanding your meaning of khadi boli correctly then I think Manna day saab can beat rafi in that.. He was wonderful in chalat musafir, wasnt he? Manna Dey was phenomenal in desi/khadi boli songs, or anything classical..or even mainstream love songs or sad songs. It is extremely hard to pick one over the other but come on we are talking of the best ever everrrrrr so its gotta be tough lol. Both of them terrific artists. Manna Dey was once banned from singing in college functions, he used to win all the prizes :giggle:
Desi Cartman Posted July 7, 2012 Posted July 7, 2012 I love this one .. I can listen to this all day V3g5ZJjr21c
Lurker Posted July 8, 2012 Posted July 8, 2012 Yeah' date=' I agree with that also. It comes from practice of phonetics and diction, hours and hours of practice that people like Rafi used to do. Of course the primary focus of the practice is to get the Urdu pronunciation correct, but it also enables them to pick up other diction easily. KK was more of a natural.[/quote'] I wonder how much of that goes beyond Rafi saab and holds true across generations? The other day I was listening to Veer-Zaara CD. The album comes with just movie songs, and a commemorative album with 2 discs, one of which is making of the music. I was listening to the latter. The music of course is by late Madan Mohan ji and while introducing one of the music he says the following sentence: Bhaavna kaisi bhi ho, kissi bhi kala mein dhali huyi. Uska expression chahe kaisa bhi ho, woh hardam taaza rehti hai. That single line, lasts for about 10-12 seconds and Madan Mohan ji moves so easily between chaste Hindi (bhaavna, kala) to English (expression) and then Urdu (taaza). It has to be heard to be believed but I have heard and re-heard that single line just to hear him meander between labguages
Lurker Posted July 8, 2012 Posted July 8, 2012 Both KK da and Rafi saab were great, but if I have to pick one, then that would be Rafi any day. For the songs that were KK speciality, Rafi would/could come very close, in my opinion. Contrast that to vintage Rafi songs (Tum jo mil gaye ho, Baharon phool barsaon et al), and IMHO do not think KK could have come even close. There was a phase though when KK gave such complex to Rafi that he thought of quitting singing altogether. It was the persuasive power of another legend (Naushad saab) that brought Rafi back to singing. Don't wish to start flame wars; as I said, both were legends. That is such an unfortunate chapter in India mausiki and also a lesson for everyone why we should we humble and Father Time is so unforgiving. This also happened to RD Burman and his last days is almost heartbreaking. I was reading an interview of Vidhu Vinod Chopra recently where he was coaxing RDB into giving his trademark songs for 1942 A Love Story and RDB lamented - Woh music bikta nahi hai Vinod. You can check it out if you like http://www.indianexpress.com/news/im-not-the-kind-of-guy-who-gets-along-with-very-big-stars.-they-dont-like-me-so-much.-and-i-dont-like-them-so-much/934574/
CasualVisitor Posted July 8, 2012 Posted July 8, 2012 That is such an unfortunate chapter in India mausiki and also a lesson for everyone why we should we humble and Father Time is so unforgiving. This also happened to RD Burman and his last days is almost heartbreaking. I was reading an interview of Vidhu Vinod Chopra recently where he was coaxing RDB into giving his trademark songs for 1942 A Love Story and RDB lamented - Woh music bikta nahi hai Vinod. You can check it out if you like http://www.indianexpress.com/news/im-not-the-kind-of-guy-who-gets-along-with-very-big-stars.-they-dont-like-me-so-much.-and-i-dont-like-them-so-much/934574/ Superb read and couldn't agree more.
coffee_rules Posted July 10, 2012 Posted July 10, 2012 I wonder how much of that is due to the fact that most of us have heard KK version so many more times that Rafi saab's version almost comes across as a cover version.:nervous: Another reason could be that this is one of those songs which falls right in KK's alley where he had to go all bindaas. I doubt anyone, even great artists like Rafi could touch KK in this domain. A song that immediately comes to mind is "Salaam-e-Ishq meri jaan" form Muqaddar ka Sikandar. Lata Mangeshkar sings it so beautifully and then KK ups the tempo, blows me away every single time. It is almost a whole different level that did not exist. Man Amitabh and many a heroes benefitted from that talent. I am one of those who like the Rafi version better. KK's is a sadder version while Rafi sings with a joyful/playful mood. RDB classic gives KK a preference because of the mood. Rafi is good in Ghazal/Qawwali/ songs while KK is better in Romantic/Youthful numbers. People are comparing KK in 70s with Rafi who was past his sell-by date in the 70s. Rafi at his peak in 50-60s would be any day better than KK's popular theatrics. I like both of them, but KK is unfairly given an advantage because of the popularity he gained in the 70s when Rafi was waning. Saying KK was better singer than Lata is Tauheen in my books. Lata is ultimate singer who was gifted with such superior voice quality, uttam gayaki talent makes her songs even more enjoyable. Now enjoy this slow song from Rafi at his best.. uA2FhgF6VY4 Sonu Nigam does ample justice to this song as well singing it live! :hatsoff: zQqZ5jORuB0&feature=related
Clarke Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 If there was one song that flattered the pretty ones [ame= Pucha Chand Se - Romantic Song - Abdullah - YouTube[/ame]
Lurker Posted July 11, 2012 Posted July 11, 2012 People are comparing KK in 70s with Rafi who was past his sell-by date in the 70s. Rafi at his peak in 50-60s would be any day better than KK's popular theatrics. I like both of them, but KK is unfairly given an advantage because of the popularity he gained in the 70s when Rafi was waning. Comparison between Rafi and Kishore is not correct on many levels. The world was different between the two at their best, the heroes they sang for were different, the music directors changed the baton, as did the lyricist. Rafi sang some great songs, for example, for Roshan. On the other hand KK had some great hits for Rajesh Roshan. The former the father, the latter the son..and yet their style so uniquely different. That probably sums up difference between KK and Rafi. It probably boils down to the singing style, I personally prefer KK's bindaas gaane ka style, that said Rafi saab is a terrific artist, one of the very best we produced.
jind Posted July 12, 2012 Posted July 12, 2012 Rafi singing in Punjabi : Ruske tu chali gayon kaanu ehni door ni from the movie paapi teri Anak [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ixQdfzgJMwQ]Mohd.Rafi sad punjabi song.- Ruske thun chali gayon - YouTube[/ame]
coffee_rules Posted July 12, 2012 Posted July 12, 2012 English Songs too.. EmX2BCDocDc xk94USjv2WI&feature=related
Yoda-esque Posted July 15, 2012 Posted July 15, 2012 27ASuBNWBQQ Love his attitude in this.. UP7fBsOuBPY