I thought he was called superstar cuz he gave 15 Straight super hits in 4 yrs. a fit that has not been achieved till date.

^ I would add Salman to that list. His star status is unrivalled and he may outlast srk like tendulkar did Lara.
Salman has proved a late bloomer. Every film which has Salman in nowadays is a sureshot blockbuster. Otherwise, there was a lull time for him before Wanted which changed him fortunes. Even his own written Veer bombed at BO, after Wanted, but then came Dabangg which really started his magic at BO. I guess Duleep Kumar comes in a category of an Aamir Khan or an Ajay Devgan rather than Rajesh Khanna or Big B or SRK.
That's true that he's on a golden streak of late. He's probably the only truly successful crossover hero - from all out romance to all out action he's been phenomenal in all. SRK doesn't have action in his kitty. However his BO wasn't the reason I see him in the list. The crowd of people who gather everyday outside his house has only grown. Only AB gets that kind of fan adulation.
^ I would add Salman to that list. His star status is unrivalled and he may outlast srk like tendulkar did Lara.
Sara kachra kar diya He is nothing but manufactured star with today's media. 0 acting skills
CR has pretty much nailed it' date=' but just a slight elaboration that Raj Kapoor, Dev Anand, and Dilip Kumar were "super stars" in their own genre which seldom if ever mingled. [b']Rajesh Khanna was the first actor who brought together a female and poor following to Indian cinema - I am a huge Amitabh Bachchan romantic but I would be hard pressed to say that he had the women following in Indian cinema. Across the strata, Rajesh Khanna was the biggest star. It was a short rise to stardom, but it was one which no one has been able to replicate - not Amitabh Bachchan, nor Shahrukh Khan. But if I were to list superstars of Indian cinema they would be - Rajesh Khanna, Amitabh Bachchan, and Shahrukh Khan with Dilip Kumar, Dev Anand, and Raj Kapoor right behind.
You have to look at it contextually I suppose. Dev Anand and Ashok Kumar were the earlier heart throbs. However they were heart throbs in an era where male-female mingling was hardly the norm. The movies made back then reflected social chasm and Ashok Kumar was doing everything from a lawyer role to an educated tycoon to a musician trainer. Things like that. Women were staying mostly indoors and rarely went out, going to movies was a family event and obviously much as AK or DA were revered it was not that open or acknowledged. Rajesh Khanna comes along, by this women have become more free, if you will. More women are going to colleges. More women are meeting men and vice versa. Rajesh Khanna's roles were more of college going lover boy, or a young guy falling in love with a lonely widow, a drunkard with a soft heart etc etc. Obviously women went nuts. By the time AB comes along the society has a bent over frustration all the way from Independence and promises unfulfilled. Corruption is rampant, criminal-politician nexus has started, people hoarding goods in black market. Sure enough AB becomes the angry young man. SRK comes along and by this time Indian movie, and social structure has been hijacked by the NRI junta. I remember seeing Veer Zaara and 3 Irani girls jumping up and breaking into seetis when SRK makes an entry. Perfectly sure they didnt understand a word but hey how do you argue with that kind of appeal.
Sara kachra kar diya He is nothing but manufactured star with today's media. 0 acting skills
Lol salman is the least media savvy of the lot. Srk and Aamir manage their public image diligently and on a massive scale. Srk shows up today on anupama chopra to talk about Batman??? He has been the least planned of the three when it comes to handling his career after his success. And superstardom has precious little to do with talent sadly and often has an inverse relation with talent.
Surprised no one has mentioned Jubilee Kumar anywhere.
..in the same breath' date=' there was massive craze for Manoj Kumar, [b']Rajendra Kumar as well but I think its more to do with terminology used in 70's 80's
Surprised no one has mentioned Jubilee Kumar anywhere.
isnt it Rajendra kumar ? his name is mentioned in few posts.... also sad to see Kumar surname now going down because of people like PK,VK,BK etc :sad:
Rajinder Kumar is his son's name.
You have to look at it contextually I suppose. Dev Anand and Ashok Kumar were the earlier heart throbs. However they were heart throbs in an era where male-female mingling was hardly the norm. The movies made back then reflected social chasm and Ashok Kumar was doing everything from a lawyer role to an educated tycoon to a musician trainer. Things like that. Women were staying mostly indoors and rarely went out, going to movies was a family event and obviously much as AK or DA were revered it was not that open or acknowledged. Rajesh Khanna comes along, by this women have become more free, if you will. More women are going to colleges. More women are meeting men and vice versa. Rajesh Khanna's roles were more of college going lover boy, or a young guy falling in love with a lonely widow, a drunkard with a soft heart etc etc. Obviously women went nuts. By the time AB comes along the society has a bent over frustration all the way from Independence and promises unfulfilled. Corruption is rampant, criminal-politician nexus has started, people hoarding goods in black market. Sure enough AB becomes the angry young man. SRK comes along and by this time Indian movie, and social structure has been hijacked by the NRI junta. I remember seeing Veer Zaara and 3 Irani girls jumping up and breaking into seetis when SRK makes an entry. Perfectly sure they didnt understand a word but hey how do you argue with that kind of appeal.
You are right about women not being liberated enough to form a proper fan following earlier, my aunts tell me stories about how they would lie at home and sneak out to watch Dev Anand movies. But it still does not explain the lack of women fan following for Amitabh Bachchan or the lack of following for Shahrukh Khan in certain pockets of the society. Rajesh Khanna had a universal appeal for those 5-6 years he was at his peak. By the way, I don't agree with you that Shahrukh Khan's popularity is a consequence of his appeal in the NRI junta. Yeah, he is popular in the NRI junta, but he is a huge star in India as well and in fact was one even before the NRI junta became so important. Shahrukh Khan's rise began with Darr, Deewana, and Baazigar. At that time Hindi movies did not even get released internationally except in a handful of theaters.
But it still does not explain the lack of women fan following for Amitabh Bachchan or the lack of following for Shahrukh Khan in certain pockets of the society. Rajesh Khanna had a universal appeal for those 5-6 years he was at his peak.
Kya kahte ho Shwetabh? Ek baar ek bandi ne kaha tha, late 90s ki baat hai, There are two men I would marry in a heart-beat even today - Imran Khan & Amitabh Bacchan. Kasam se man kiya ussi samay dono ke naam se supari nikalwa doon! Yaar Amitabh had a pretty decent female following but you are right, it was not in the same league as Rajesh Khanna. Probably because Rajesh Khanna was a lover boy and Amitabh a man's man. This is same with folks like Dharmendra and Vinod Khanna. Both very handsome and having huge female following but also manly hero and hence not as popular within female group.
By the way, I don't agree with you that Shahrukh Khan's popularity is a consequence of his appeal in the NRI junta. Yeah, he is popular in the NRI junta, but he is a huge star in India as well and in fact was one even before the NRI junta became so important. Shahrukh Khan's rise began with Darr, Deewana, and Baazigar. At that time Hindi movies did not even get released internationally except in a handful of theaters.
I do think overseas has a role to play in SRK's success. Take DDLJ, by all accounts a decent movie and a big hit. Still I find it on almost all of NRI girls top list and not so much back home. Not saying nobody liked it back home, but not on same level. You can pick other movies as well. Darr reminded me of how popular "Jadoo teri nazar, khusboo tera badan" was. That song would play non-stop in Boys and girls hostel. Movie to chaupat tha, even with Sunny Deol was in it, lekin that song was top class.
Kya kahte ho Shwetabh? Ek baar ek bandi ne kaha tha, late 90s ki baat hai, There are two men I would marry in a heart-beat even today - Imran Khan & Amitabh Bacchan. Kasam se man kiya ussi samay dono ke naam se supari nikalwa doon! Yaar Amitabh had a pretty decent female following but you are right, it was not in the same league as Rajesh Khanna. Probably because Rajesh Khanna was a lover boy and Amitabh a man's man. This is same with folks like Dharmendra and Vinod Khanna. Both very handsome and having huge female following but also manly hero and hence not as popular within female group.
Sure, Amitabh was popular among women - my post was to emphasize the fact you stated that Rajesh Khanna was much more popular among women than Amitabh. And as you've rightly stated during Amitabh's time his female popularity was split by Dharmendra, Vinod Khanna, and a name that you missed Rishi Kapoor. During Rajesh Khanna's peak he had a universal appeal. Sure Dharmendra and Vinod Khanna were still around but they were seldom the top rated stars for someone.
I do think overseas has a role to play in SRK's success. Take DDLJ, by all accounts a decent movie and a big hit. Still I find it on almost all of NRI girls top list and not so much back home. Not saying nobody liked it back home, but not on same level. You can pick other movies as well.
A role, yes. But a major role, I can't agree. Even DDLJ is before the NRI boom of making a substantial contribution to the success of a movie. From what I remember Kal Ho Na Ho was his movie to be released and marketed with a significant NRI contribution, but by that time Shahrukh Khan was already a huge star. If anything, I would say Hritik Roshan is closer to your definition of a NRI star, right from his debut film. I am yet to meet anyone in India who rates him as his favorite actor, but have met many NRIs who have him as his favorite.
Darr reminded me of how popular "Jadoo teri nazar, khusboo tera badan" was. That song would play non-stop in Boys and girls hostel. Movie to chaupat tha, even with Sunny Deol was in it, lekin that song was top class.
You didn't like Darr? I really liked it. An interesting anecdote about the movie is that Yash Chopra offered Shahrukh's role to Aamir Khan earlier who refused because he did not want to play a negative character.

^ The interesting anecdote actually has multiple versions - while Aamir insists, he did not do the role because Yash Chopra would not give him a joint narration along with Sunny so that they all knew exactly how much each other's roles were. The other side of the story says he wanted to know exactly how many punches Sunny would hit him in the climax, and he did not want it to be more than 3, since his female fan following would dwindle otherwise. I liked Darr. Following closely on the heels of Baazigar, both these movies took me personally by storm. I still remember the theater experience. To see an entire room full of people cheering on the bad guy over the hero, was just weird for that time. You cannot pin all of Shahrukh's popularity on the NRI audience. It sure has helped him a lot - look at the diverse audiences for any of his films' screenings in the US - souls that have to completely rely on subtitles for everything. But he was the first of his kind, to take hindi cinema outside of India. DDLJ was India's first film to really tap into that market. But by the time DDLJ released and ran like mad, he had become India's first bonafide superstar since Amitabh. This, at a time when Aamir and Salman were already huge stars in their own right. Even for people in India, I would find it strange not to find it on most people's top 10 lists. Specifically ones that grew up in India around the DDLJ came out. Of course, there are the Aamir converts that always seem to think it is a reflection of their dumbness if they even name any of Shahrukh's movies, supposedly not "intellectual" enough.

SRK became popular with hits from Baazigar, Darr, Anjaam type roles. But until DDLJ he never was considered the super-star he is now. Since DDLJ once SRK got his success mantra he is not able to get any success beyond his NRI loverboy characters. A one-trick pony. His Asoka was laughable. SRK is also a NRI super-star with the muslim diaspora from the Asian sub-continent following because of his last name.

But if I were to list superstars of Indian cinema they would be - Rajesh Khanna, Amitabh Bachchan, and Shahrukh Khan with Dilip Kumar, Dev Anand, and Raj Kapoor right behind.
You mean hindi cinema...