Ultimate_Game Posted August 12, 2012 Posted August 12, 2012 we Indian fans generally whine for fast bowlers but when we get one we'll start cursing him for going for runs and ask him to be dropped and should never be anywhere near the indian side as like our trundlers ends up with a match figure 5 for 15 in every 3rd match. we let a trundler to play more than 100 games to learn the art of picking wkts but they never excel in that but we cant digest a fast bowler taking some time for learning. a team with such fans should never ever get a fast bowler Learning doesn't mean not even getting the basics right. Nobody should learn to bowl line & length at intl level. If you do then you should be playing domestic cricket. Did you even watch likes of Pattinson or Cummins when they broke through at intl level in their teens? You hardly saw them bowling any loose stuff and at least had the basics down with most of the deliveries on length on off. I suspect you were alluding to Umesh in your post but I'm sorry he did have enough chances against Eng, in CB series and in SL series. He clearly showed he didn't learn anything fro experience. So should we simply back a bowler who can't even bowl line & length, has no control to speal of and generally goes for 0/20 in his first 2 overs? If Umesh had showed any improvement in odis people would have backed him but I'm sorry to say that you will not find any difference in his 1st odi and his last. If anything he regressed. It it too much for us to ask an intl pace bowler to bowl with modicum of control and to simply bowl on a length on one side of the wkt? I don't think so and even afterlots of matches a bowler can't master the basics, he has to go and learn his stuff at domestic level. The reason Umesh ot so many odi games despite sucking big time was that he had speed but he has to show some improvement which he clearly did not. The Indian team is not training ground and Umesh deserved to be criticised for his shambolic odi performances. You may be ok with his lack of brains and his inability to learn anything from experience but not everyone wants to see a clearly under-prepared player play for the nationsl team.
vayuu1 Posted August 12, 2012 Posted August 12, 2012 We have the *****est under 19 attack of all test playing nation,it really pisses me off seeing 3 spinners on pitch with pace and bounce and pacers bowling 120 125 kph.
JaFanatic Posted August 12, 2012 Posted August 12, 2012 @U_G:ur rite but i din mean umesh shld be playin in odis with his current form he needs to play in list A games & in tests in which he's ok but many ppl dont like to see him anywere near the odi setup at all as you said umesh din learn anythin in odis so far how does that mean he'll never learn anythin even our trundlers just with dat line & length doesn terrorise the batsmen they 2 are going for lotta runs. and again i dnt mean we should persist wit umesh wit his current form but he shld be considered
speed_demon Posted August 12, 2012 Author Posted August 12, 2012 Abe dhakkan' date=' you call yourself a cricket fan? Sharam karo. Lanat hai tere jaise so called fans par.[/quote'] Dhakkan Hoga tu, Lagta hai tereko maze aa rahe hai in Choron ki bowling dekhke, aur sharam nahi marham chahiye mujhe, yeh bowling dekhke, meri gali ke londe isse tez bowling karlenge.
Sid Posted August 12, 2012 Posted August 12, 2012 Dhakkan Hoga tu' date=' Lagta hai tereko maze aa rahe hai in Choron ki bowling dekhke, aur sharam nahi marham chahiye mujhe, yeh bowling dekhke, meri gali ke londe isse tez bowling karlenge.[/quote'] :cantstop:
JaFanatic Posted August 12, 2012 Posted August 12, 2012 lol 125k club level thats why many of us here are frustrated
Ultimate_Game Posted August 12, 2012 Posted August 12, 2012 @U_G:ur rite but i din mean umesh shld be playin in odis with his current form he needs to play in list A games & in tests in which he's ok but many ppl dont like to see him anywere near the odi setup at all as you said umesh din learn anythin in odis so far how does that mean he'll never learn anythin even our trundlers just with dat line & length doesn terrorise the batsmen they 2 are going for lotta runs. and again i dnt mean we should persist wit umesh wit his current form but he shld be considered I think enough chances to Umesh in odis but since that didn't work out well, the next best thing to do is to ask him to work on his shorter format game and only pick him in Tests. Sometimes a player being dropped is the lesson he needs and hopefully acts like a kick up his @r$e. If you continue playing a player without any improvement how will he ever improve if not dropped? The next WC is in Aus and we will need at least 3 pacers + Irfan in the team if we have any hopes of doing well. Zak will be too old by then and hopefully Ishant, Umesh & Aaron will be the spearheads. But for that to happen Umesh will need to pick up his game and for that he needs to get the message his current standard in shorter formats is simply not acceptable. Once he improves I am sure the selectors will get him in the team ASAP as quality pacers is not something we have in abundance.
speed_demon Posted August 12, 2012 Author Posted August 12, 2012 Indian batsmen exposed by pace As the World Cup progresses, India are likely to face more teams with bowlers capable of speeds in excess of 140 kph. It's imperative their batsmen adjust quickly The West Indian fast bowlers were quick and accurate on a pitch with variable bounce at the Tony Ireland Stadium. The Indian pace attack was accurate too, but slower, 10-20 kph slower on average. That difference was a problem for India today and it could continue to be a problem if the wickets behave the way they have so far in Townsville. Australia and England had put on an impressive fast-bowling display on the opening day of the Under-19 World Cup, and West Indies continued that trend on Sunday. No one was quicker than Ronsford Beaton. Running with the wind, Beaton bowled in the early 140 kph range, while his new-ball partner Jerome Jones delivered at around 135 kph despite having to plough into the breeze. The first and second-change seam bowlers, Justin Greaves and Kyle Mayers, were also in the mid-130s. They weren't just fast. They were spot on with their lines and lengths too, when not bowling 20 wides. They kept the ball back of a length and hit the bat high and hard. Very few attacking shots were attempted against the rising ball. Denied deliveries that allowed them to play forward or with freedom, the Indian batsmen were stifled. The pitch, being used for the second match in two days, was doing a lot. Cracks had opened up and the ball moved sideways after pitching on them. Some reared up as well, while others scooted lower than they normally would have. Unmukt Chand sat on his haunches after getting struck; Baba Aparajith fell gloving a bouncer. At no time during the 39 overs of West Indian pace did the batsmen look in control of the bowling. For India, however, Sandeep Sharma bowled at around 130kph with the wind, while Rush Kalaria managed only about 120 kph running into it. Speed isn't the be all and end all of fast bowling, but it's a critical part, and more so in age-group cricket, where batsmen aren't used to facing a short-of-a-length attack at extreme pace. These Indian batsmen will probably be better players of 145kph speeds at 23 than they are now, and today's experience would have helped that progress. "A lot of people at Under-19 wouldn't have faced pace like this. So it's an adjustment. It takes a while to get used to it," said West Indies' coach Roddy Estwick. "If you can have a bowler bowling at 145 kph at this age group nobody likes pace. Some play it better than others but it can make you very uncomfortable. In Test cricket, you get to see it often so you get used to it. Not at this age group." There is a reason why West Indies have the attack they do at present. In September 2011, they had travelled to India for a quadrangular series, where they lost both games against the hosts, by 81 and 124 runs. Beaton averaged more than 50 for his three wickets in that series, while all four quicks went at more than five runs an over. "I think India was pleasantly surprised to see the improvement they've [the West Indies fast bowlers] made in the last year," said Estwick. "They've really made big strides." Having Courtney Walsh in the management team for over a year now has undoubtedly helped the development of these young fast bowlers, but Estwick said the biggest factor behind the improvement was their fitness. He echoed what Craig McDermott had said about the Australian attack after their victory against England on Saturday. "After India, we gave all the bowlers a programme, gave them a year to respond to it," Estwick said. "They had to report to the board every month on what they were doing. We're encouraging them all the time to get fitter and stronger, because we know that once you get fitter and stronger, you stay free from injury and you can sustain your pace for longer. A lot of players have come back fitter, we're a better fielding team, and we look very athletic." By the time India had respite from pace, 26 overs had passed and they were 67 for 4. They had to be wary of losing wickets during the 11overs of spin during the middle period and the quicks returned at the end to close out the innings. Beaton took 3 for 33, while Jones and Mayers had two each. Jones went for fewer than three runs an over too, and though Greaves was wicketless, his first spell was a tight 6-2-15-0. The West Indian batsmen did not have it easy at the start of the chase either. India's seamers were much slower but Sharma swung the ball sharply in both directions. He bowled a series of inswingers to the right-handed openers, Sunil Ambris and Kraigg Brathwaite, before dismissing them with deliveries that shaped away. "Well they have pace, we have swing," said India's captain Chand, when asked about the difference in speeds. "The way Sandeep was bowling today, they [West Indies] didn't move the ball that much. The toss was vital. The wicket was fresh and had we bowled first our bowlers would have also reached 130-135. Bowling in a fourth innings on this track slows you down." Sharma had figures of 6-2-6-2 in his first spell and his coach Bharat Arun said he was a bowler who could "move the ball around at will." "Well, if you have someone bowling at 140 it does add a lot of confidence to the side," said Arun when asked about the difference in speeds between the attacks. "But Sandy [sharma], though he's touching 130s, he moves the ball around at will. His control over his swing makes him a very potent bowler." Kalaria was less impressive, he bowled a tidy line and length but the lack of lateral movement meant he barely threatened the West Indian batsmen. Arun said Kalaria had bowled better on previous occasions and was a "little disappointing" today. "We have two more fast bowlers," said Arun. "Kamal Passi, who did well the last time he was here, and Ravikant Singh." Neither Passi nor Ravikant played today, though, because of India's spin-heavy composition. While West Indies played four fast bowlers and two spinners, India fielded three spinners and just the two seamers. And with Kalaria having an off day, Chand's seam options were limited. India chose that combination because they felt spin gave them the best chance of beating West Indies. "The spinners are three of the best we have, so the best five bowlers played," Arun said. "We knew West Indies were not very good players of spin bowling. The fact that we didn't get runs, that was the main reason for not doing well." As the World Cup progresses, India are likely to face more teams with bowlers capable of speeds in excess of 140 kph. And word gets around. Their batsmen will have to adjust quickly to be able to give the spinners enough to bowl at. How far India go in the World Cup hinges on it.
jairamesh Posted August 12, 2012 Posted August 12, 2012 As the World Cup progresses, India are likely to face more teams with bowlers capable of speeds in excess of 140 kph. And word gets around. Their batsmen will have to adjust quickly to be able to give the spinners enough to bowl at. How far India go in the World Cup hinges on it. I think word has got around long before this U19 team, seniors are leading the way in that department. :giggle:
vvvslaxman Posted August 12, 2012 Posted August 12, 2012 Compared to previous under-19 world cups this is a very poor pace bowling options.
Ultimate_Game Posted August 12, 2012 Posted August 12, 2012 I don't know when BCCI will do anything other than pay lip service to solving our fast bowling woes. The MRF pace academy is a joke and NCA to be honest is waste of money. If they couldn't even help the likes of Zaheer when he was out of form in 2006, what can they be expected to do with upcoming youngsters?
ShebbySB Posted August 13, 2012 Posted August 13, 2012 Everyone is saying he needs to bowl faster. I think the key for him is consistency and accuracy. If you can be accurate and swing the ball both ways' date=' you will be a very tricky prospect. The moment you drop short though or start bowling wide, the swing no longer matters or is effective.[/quote'] He's as good as Praveen at the age of 19.He swings it even more & understands his game.I was impressed with the way he set up the WI opener.After bowking a series of banana inswingers he bowled a peach & his delivery to Braithwaite was also a jaffer.He has enough time to build his pace upto mid 130s.If he does that he'll be a good prospect.We've Umesh & Aaron who are out & out fast bowlers, we've a big,tall bowler with pace in Ishant.He's still only 23 & with all the talents & hardwork he needs to be smart & that'll make him 'lucky' rather than 'unlucky'.There is Shami,Awana for backup.So Sandip has a long way to go if he wants to get in the test squad.What we really need a good left arm quickie who'll replace Zak when he retire. At this moment Irfan is the best option available.Maybe Suyal but I haven't seen him bowl.This FC season will be crucial for Suyal & Anwar Ahmed.
adi B Posted August 13, 2012 Posted August 13, 2012 Dhakkan Hoga tu' date=' Lagta hai tereko maze aa rahe hai in Choron ki bowling dekhke, aur sharam nahi marham chahiye mujhe, yeh bowling dekhke, meri gali ke londe isse tez bowling karlenge.[/quote'] haha.very true..i can bowl at least 10kmph faster than these undernourished kids.. these kids must eat a lot 1st,make their forearms,shoulders stronger...with 120sh speed and no height ,ur in deep trouble.. these players are too much patla,sukra,ghittha ,have to focus on building good health 1st
CSK Fan Posted August 13, 2012 Posted August 13, 2012 haha.very true..i can bowl at least 10kmph faster than these undernourished kids.. these kids must eat a lot 1st,make their forearms,shoulders stronger...with 120sh speed and no height ,ur in deep trouble.. these players are too much patla,sukra,ghittha ,have to focus on building good health 1st Haan mere kagaz ke shero, sofe par baith kar teer par teer maar rahe ho
Clarke Posted August 13, 2012 Posted August 13, 2012 Give them some time for ffs. That's your suggestion in a WC thread ?
Sooda Posted August 13, 2012 Posted August 13, 2012 Having Courtney Walsh in the management team for over a year now has undoubtedly helped the development of these young fast bowlers, but Estwick said the biggest factor behind the improvement was their fitness. He echoed what Craig McDermott had said about the Australian attack after their victory against England on Saturday. "After India, we gave all the bowlers a programme, gave them a year to respond to it," Estwick said. "They had to report to the board every month on what they were doing. We're encouraging them all the time to get fitter and stronger, because we know that once you get fitter and stronger, you stay free from injury and you can sustain your pace for longer. A lot of players have come back fitter, we're a better fielding team, and we look very athletic."
ShebbySB Posted August 14, 2012 Posted August 14, 2012 Kamal Passi is a good prospect,got some hitting talent with the bat,swings the ball & bowls around 127-131kph.He's just 19 years old & can get 5-6ks quicker.
jairamesh Posted August 14, 2012 Posted August 14, 2012 Ravikant Singh bowling at good pace too 135kph plus god! what were selectors doing benching passi and ravikant in the 1st game. :headshake: