carnish Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 Dhoni fans are following Sachin fans' path. When team used to win' date=' it was because of his great batting and when team lost they blamed team, bowlers, tail-enders etc.[/quote'] Bang on Head dude ... These days its like a competition between Dhoni fans and Sachin fans ... Does sachin retire from ODIs first or Dhoni leaves test first :haha:
Ram Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 Quite simply what is written there - that the kind of innings played by Mongia at Chennai or Kotla have not been bettered by Dhoni. So you're implying that Mongia's 50 at Madras in 99 was a better innings than MSD's 148 in Faislabad? Perhaps too much emotional leading for you these days? More like overcome with gut-wrenching laughter, to be honest with you. When I saw you say Suresh Raina, who played all of 60 balls in the entire tournament played a more instrumental role in helping us win the cup than MSD - a strong contender for the world's best ODI captain, a vital cog of our ODI machine being the keeper batsmen batting at no.7 and played that incredible innings in the final - it is hard for me to keep my sanity around me.
The Outsider Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 So you're implying that Mongia's 50 at Madras in 99 was a better innings than MSD's 148 in Faislabad? Yeah, much better bowling attack, much much more difficult pitch, and much more challenging match situation. Faisalabad was the baap of all pattas and I don't even consider that 148 Dhoni's best innings.
Ram Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 Yeah' date=' much better bowling attack, much much more difficult pitch, and much more challenging match situation. Faisalabad was the baap of all pattas and I don't even consider that 148 Dhoni's best innings.[/quote'] So in your opinion, even as Sachin Tendulkar soaked up literally soaked up all the pressure, cornered all the attention of the Pakistan attack, scored all the runs and all Mongia had to do was to survive and get to the other end, it was still qualitatively a better batting performance than having to spearhead a recovery by yourself, like MSD did in Faislabad?
The Outsider Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 So in your opinion' date=' even as Sachin Tendulkar soaked up literally soaked up all the pressure, cornered all the attention of the Pakistan attack, scored all the runs and all Mongia had to do was to survive and get to the other end, it was still qualitatively a better batting performance than having to spearhead a recovery by yourself, like MSD did in Faislabad?[/quote'] Enough with hyperbole. It wasn't a Laxman-Ishant partnership where the opposition was trying to get the main batsman out and neither did Tendulkar outscore Mongia by some huge distance. In fact in their partnership of 136 runs, 52 were scored by Mongia and around 70 by Tendulkar. How is that doing all the scoring? I consider that innings by Tendulkar as one of the best ever in test cricket - it was one of the best bowling attacks, difficult pitch, and the score was 80/5 chasing 275. As I said, Faisalabad was the baap of all pattas. You'll struggle hard to find flatter pitches than that and the bowling attack barring Akhtar was ordinary. The only thing going for Dhoni was the match situation, which was still much much better than the situation Mongia made his runs in. Anyhow, where did I say Mongia is a better test batsman than Dhoni?
Trichromatic Posted September 28, 2012 Author Posted September 28, 2012 SR of 70 in this match. Another poor batting effort by IPL slogger.
rahulrulezz Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 Dhoni really really need to look into his strategy.. Here is his logic. From 6-15 overs, he think 5-6 runs an over is good enuff and in last 4-5 over, one can score 9-10 runs an over.. DOES NOT WORK!! Lets say India is 50-2 in 6 overs and Dhoni with Rohit comes in.. They would score 5-6 runs from 6-15 overs ...than means 101-3 and with 9.5 runs in an over, that would be 146-150 runs in innings.. which is not good enough to defend... I see this pattern of Dhoni and our middle order(other than Raina) does this allthe time.. Its a fail plan..Firstly we need to agressive in middle overs and Dhoni is not the right player for it.even 7 runs an over is good enough... Also we need to be agressive after 14 over not after15th.. that stratgey would make it 165 runs which is a defendable score!!
Trichromatic Posted September 28, 2012 Author Posted September 28, 2012 Dhoni has played only 9 innings out of 34 at SR over 129. Massive failure.
CSK Fan Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 Often in matches, one over can completely change the complexion of the game. As much as we praise Dhoni for bowling Joginder Sharma in 2007, in making crucial changes, I also think that he should be blamed today for the game changing over. The 5th over took the momentum away from India completely
Sidhoni Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 Often in matches' date=' one over can completely change the complexion of the game. As much as we praise Dhoni for bowling Joginder Sharma in 2007, in making crucial changes, I also think that he should be blamed today for the game changing over. The 5th over took the momentum away from India completely[/quote'] 5th over of their innings? Ok. Ashwin had bowled well till then and had created some chances. So removing him was not an option. He could not have done much with the field placings also as Ashwin bowled 2 half-trackers which went fr sixes. Agreed that it was the game changing over though.
Laaloo Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 Disgraceful captain even after all we went through the last 2 T20 WC, this guy is still here Pathetic bowling changes Showed no intent with the bat and pathetic selection
Trichromatic Posted September 28, 2012 Author Posted September 28, 2012 5th over of their innings? Ok. Ashwin had bowled well till then and had created some chances. So removing him was not an option. He could not have done much with the field placings also as Ashwin bowled 2 half-trackers which went fr sixes. Agreed that it was the game changing over though. You don't force your bowlers to bowl against their strengths. It's like forcing openers to bat low and tail-enders to bat first.
maniac Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 Yes Dhoni's T20 time is up...Has been up now for 2 years...Hope the selectors see the light
The Outsider Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 You don't force your bowlers to bowl against their strengths. It's like forcing openers to bat low and tail-enders to bat first. And what option did low batsman Pahtan have when he was sent to open?:hysterical: BTW, not disagreeing with you but accentuating your point.
Shunya Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 kya paka rahe ho yaar... why dont u all make a respective players bashing thread and keep on bashing them everytime we lose... and then keep on posting in it ... everytime we lose ...same thing going on n on...
King Khan Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 He better leave Test captaincy to Kohli asap before this negetive energy against him starts effecting longer matches at home as well. Moreover he needs to be burdain free to concentrate more on clt20 to have CSK something this year.
vvvslaxman Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 He has conclusively proved he has no gears for T20 games. He neither rotates strike nor goes for shots soon enough. He is just stuck. He definitely is a liability for INdia in this format as a player. With Yuvraj not in any sort of match practice or fitness we are already 2 players down.