SLICKR392 Posted September 27, 2012 Posted September 27, 2012 Newly appointed selector of Indian cricket team Vikram Rathore, said on Thursday that the team led by MS Dhoni is a 'perfect' team to pose challenges to any tough opponent, however, the team needs a new fast bowler. "As a selector, it would be a challenge for me to find a cricket talent in youngsters and in the present scenario we urgently need a fast bowler who could be groomed for the team," said Rathore while talking to Hindustan Times. Rathore who played for the Indian team in 1996-97, revealed that to cater to the needs of fast bowlers, the BCCI is already organising a fast bowler's camp in different parts of the country and the National Cricket Academy was started for this very purpose. On being questioned if he was hopeful of his appointment as a selector of the Indian cricket team, Rathore says, "Yes, I was quite positive as last time also my name was there in the list but it went to veteran cricketer Mohinder Amarnath". http://www.hindustantimes.com/Punjab/Jalandhar/Team-needs-new-fast-bowler-Rathore/SP-Article1-936605.aspx
maniac Posted September 27, 2012 Posted September 27, 2012 More than bringing in a new fast bowler the focus should be to preserve and rehabilitate all the talented bowlers we have lost By the looks of it umesh yadav is being mismanaged at the same level
Number Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 :two_thumbs_up: No recycling of tried and tested dump.
Crookbond Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 I have a problem with Vikram Rathore - he is the assistant team coach for Kings XI Punjab. http://www.kxip.in/the-team/vikram-rathore
diga Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 I have a problem with Vikram Rathore - he is the assistant team coach for Kings XI Punjab. http://www.kxip.in/the-team/vikram-rathore He will most probably quit the post... BTW, Joe Dawes, Indian bowling coach too is associated with KX1P
Crookbond Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 ^ I know but Joe Dawes does not have a vote on selection!
vayuu1 Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 Shukar hai yaar kisi ne to ye socha in dando,bimaro aur bhaloun ko dekh dekh ke pak gaya tha
diga Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 ^ I know but Joe Dawes does not have a vote on selection! But he can influence Vicky Rathore, his mate
diga Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 The selectors should simply aim to win the World cup in Aus/NZ which means we require better fast bowlers/ batsman capable of playing weill in bouncy conditions... In turn this could result in better overseas performance in tests too.
MCcricket Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 Finding a fast bowler is about planning and future prospects and a bowler even if he is found will take 3 to 4 years or more, selectors should identify the talented bowlers and batters and invest in their future and not stick with tried and tested failures, also different players for different formats.
Lord Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 I have a problem with Vikram Rathore - he is the assistant team coach for Kings XI Punjab. http://www.kxip.in/the-team/vikram-rathore wasnt Cheeka a brand ambassador or something for CSK?then there is Srinivasan
Lord Posted September 28, 2012 Posted September 28, 2012 ^ So' date=' I had a problem with them too![/quote'] should hv got used to it by now.:giggle:
rkt.india Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 I cannot see any quality bowler: Dilip Vengsarkar PANAJI: Former India captain and chief selector Dilip Vengsarkar feels the absence of quality fast bowlers is hurting India in international cricket. Since winning the World Cup in majestic fashion a little over a year ago, India has not been able to replicate the same form in either Tests, One-day Internationals or, more recently, the T20 World Cup in Sri Lanka. Alarm bells are ringing, and Vengsarkar believes it is time for India to scratch the surface. "What do we have at the moment? Zaheer Khan, for one. After that I cannot see any quality bowler," said Vengsarkar. Even Zaheer has been crippled by injuries for most times and has missed quite a few assignments. The rest, according to the former chief selector, do not imbibe much confidence. "Ishant (Sharma) has done well at the domestic level in recent times but he must remain fit and prove himself internationally. Youngsters like Umesh (Yadav) and Varun Aaron are talented but have not raised the bar. They may be good but international cricket is a different ball-game," said Vengsarkar, who is in Goa to participate in a Super Sixes cricket tournament that has seen former cricketers including the likes of Mohinder Amarnath, Lalchand Rajput, Nilesh Kulkarni and Kenia Jayantilal rub shoulders with a sprinkling from Bollywood and the corporate world. As the then chief selector, Vengsarkar could afford the time and luxury of watching India's young talent come up the ranks. He admits he is "out of the loop" for the moment but is in no doubt that India has enough bowling talent that could possibly make heads turn. "There will be quality on the domestic circuit for sure. We must identify them, groom them and give these youngsters a chance to prosper on the international stage. You cannot afford to chop and change," feels Vengsarkar, a World Cup winner with India in 1983. Vengsarkar said India can permanently rid itself of fast bowling problems if state associations prepare "wickets with bounce" at the domestic level. "Bouncy wickets can serve a dual purpose. Bowlers will be encouraged and batsmen will have to measure up to the challenge," he said. He also said the Board of Control for Cricket in India ( BCCI) should make it mandatory for all international cricketers to play in the Duleep and Irani trophy, India's topmost domestic tournaments. "If all the top players play in the Irani and Duleep Trophy, it will enhance the quality and profile of domestic cricket. It would also mean that young cricketers will know where they stand, when up against the best cricketers," said Vengsarkar. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/interviews/I-cannot-see-any-quality-bowler-Dilip-Vengsarkar/articleshow/16843341.cms
yoda Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 Which top bowlers did he identify, groom and allow to prosper during his tenure? Let's face it, there isn't enough bowling talunt, period.
Raghav_12 Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 Which top bowlers did he identify' date=' groom and allow to prosper during his tenure? Let's face it, there isn't enough bowling talunt, period.[/quote'] He was the one who fast tracked Ishant Sharma. Resurgence of Zaheer also happened in his tenure. RP Singh and Sreesanth also came up when he was chief selector.
rkt.india Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 Which top bowlers did he identify' date=' groom and allow to prosper during his tenure? Let's face it, there isn't enough bowling talunt, period.[/quote'] There is no proper grooming for fast bowlers in India. Once they are picked, they are left in the lurch to improve and survive themselves unlike Australia or England who have established systems to produce fast bowlers. Look at Indian bowlers like Yadav, if his is thrashed, he is called useless, wayward, and is dropped, but Aussie bowlers like Cummins is also thrashed who has been leaking runs in most matches since WT20, but is still playing. We do too many chop and changes with our fast bowlers. We will play a batsman for 10-15 matches even if he fails in most of them likes of Rohit and others, but will drop a fast bowler at the first sight of failure. Look at Jade Dernbach who is called a death bowler, but every time he bowls at death, he is taken for runs, but he is still in England squad every series and plays most matches because this is how he will learn by playing at this level and you will most often be as good as the level you play at. CA and ECB always bring young fast bowlers who have pace and can bowl over 85 mph even if they lack control because they know there is no substitute for pace, though just pace is not everything, but other things can be taught in a grooming period. That is what we lack. Our selectors have lacked the vision and eye to select bowlers. Continuous selection of Mithun proved it and then selection of Aravind was just ridiculous, though he got injured, but if Prasad had his say he would even have played for India by now. The likes of RP Singh, Munaf, and Sreesanth are few examples of poor handling of fast bowlers.
rkt.india Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 its not because of lack of grooming its because most of the ind bowlers are either lazy or they dont have good cricketing acumen ' date='no one is gonna help you, you have to help yourself.[/quote'] Then what is BCCI's role? It is their job to make these bowlers realize that they are playing for India.
MCcricket Posted October 17, 2012 Posted October 17, 2012 There is no proper grooming for fast bowlers in India. Once they are picked, they are left in the lurch to improve and survive themselves unlike Australia or England who have established systems to produce fast bowlers. Look at Indian bowlers like Yadav, if his is thrashed, he is called useless, wayward, and is dropped, but Aussie bowlers like Cummins is also thrashed who has been leaking runs in most matches since WT20, but is still playing. We do too many chop and changes with our fast bowlers. We will play a batsman for 10-15 matches even if he fails in most of them likes of Rohit and others, but will drop a fast bowler at the first sight of failure. Look at Jade Dernbach who is called a death bowler, but every time he bowls at death, he is taken for runs, but he is still in England squad every series and plays most matches because this is how he will learn by playing at this level and you will most often be as good as the level you play at. CA and ECB always bring young fast bowlers who have pace and can bowl over 85 mph even if they lack control because they know there is no substitute for pace, though just pace is not everything, but other things can be taught in a grooming period. That is what we lack. Our selectors have lacked the vision and eye to select bowlers. Continuous selection of Mithun proved it and then selection of Aravind was just ridiculous, though he got injured, but if Prasad had his say he would even have played for India by now. The likes of RP Singh, Munaf, and Sreesanth are few examples of poor handling of fast bowlers. I agree entirely, selectors have no idea how to pick up bowling talent and groom them, Pankaj Singh he could have been elevated, groomed had some chinks in his armour but at 6 5" plus and he could move the ball, if he was nurtured properly and started bowling with confidence to up his pace from 128-133 k to 133 -140 k he could be good, Tyagi, Gony, Sreesanth, VRV, Shami, Suyal,A Ahmed they should be the group selectors should look at and not trundlers PK, VK, Unadkat, Aravind, Mithun with his ragged action, same for RP. Same thing for state associations, selections are obnoxious, Mumbai speedsters Sandhu lol, Kshemal bowl at 115 k lol, see the zonal teams, C Zone, East, West they are an embarrassment.Fast Tracks , selections are critical and picking up talent at earliest and grooming them.