The Outsider Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 IMO Dhoni should not be the captain because there is too much for him to do- he is far and away the safest keeper india has produced since Nayan Mongia (when was the last time Dhoni dropped a clanger ?) and though he is under-performing with the bat' date= IMO he can hack it as a #7 if he doesnt have to also be captain. Does it every match on average for the past 2 years.
diga Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 if dhoni retires then make karthik the WK and Pujara the captain for at least 2 years' date=' hes more level headed than kohli[/quote'] I would pick Parthiv... Lefty & can open as well. I believe he has improved his wicket keeping as well. If he can maintain his Ranji like consistency, it can open the spot for a fifth bowler or an allrounder
Muloghonto Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Does it every match on average for the past 2 years. Seems like we watch very different matches then. Dhoni is the safest pare of gloves i've seen play for India since the days of Nayan Mongia.
asterix Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Seems like we watch very different matches then. Dhoni is the safest pare of gloves i've seen play for India since the days of Nayan Mongia. :hysterical:
Pakistan Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 It will have effect on his income so there is no chance of Dhoni retiring from test cricket. BCCI/Selectors does not have the balls to drop two World Cup winning captain as well.
The Outsider Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Seems like we watch very different matches then. Dhoni is the safest pare of gloves i've seen play for India since the days of Nayan Mongia. Dariyaganj mein dimaagi bawaseer ke ilaaj ke free day chale hue hain aaj kal, go for it.
Lord Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Dariyaganj mein dimaagi bawaseer ke ilaaj ke free day chale hue hain aaj kal' date=' go for it.[/quote'] :haha::haha:
adi B Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Seems like we watch very different matches then. Dhoni is the safest pare of gloves i've seen play for India since the days of Nayan Mongia. :hysterical::hysterical: this really made me laugh
Muloghonto Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Dariyaganj mein dimaagi bawaseer ke ilaaj ke free day chale hue hain aaj kal' date=' go for it.[/quote'] To fir batao kaun hai wo wikutkeeper jo dhoni se behtar catch karta hai ? Patel ka naam ho gaya that 'Dropthiv' aur uski batting ki unnati hui lekin keeping ka kya hua ? Saba karim ? Dasgupta ? Kaun hai jisko din ke bad din Dhoni se behtareeen catching karta hai ?
diga Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Seems like we watch very different matches then. Dhoni is the safest pare of gloves i've seen play for India since the days of Nayan Mongia. :hysterical: If MSD has the safest pair of gloves, then Sreesanth is the fastest bowler in the world
Muloghonto Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 :hysterical: If MSD has the safest pair of gloves' date=' then Sreesanth is the fastest bowler in the world[/quote'] So tell us who is a safer pair of hands behind the stumps as far as India is concerned. Its less than two years ago we were all singing praises of his glovework. Are there any actual cricket watching educated fans here or is this a site of teeen/tween groupies who hardly understand any cricket ? Say what you will about Dhoni ( he is a bit of a clueless captain currently, underperforms with the bat, etc.) but he is by far the safest pair of hands behind the stumps that India has produced in the last 10-15 years.
diga Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 So tell us who is a safer pair of hands behind the stumps as far as India is concerned. Its less than two years ago we were all singing praises of his glovework. Are there any actual cricket watching educated fans here or is this a site of teeen/tween groupies who hardly understand any cricket ? Say what you will about Dhoni ( he is a bit of a clueless captain currently, underperforms with the bat, etc.) but he is by far the safest pair of hands behind the stumps that India has produced in the last 10-15 years. Are you paid by MSD to defend him to death? While everyone in this thread have been laughing at your foolishness, you are propping up MSD endlessly.. All of us agree that MSD is more of a batsman-wicketkeeper than a pure wicketkeeper Check the match thread of Ind-Aus in Sydney & you will know which keepers are rated ahead of MSD.
Muloghonto Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Are you paid by MSD to defend him to death? While everyone in this thread have been laughing at your foolishness, you are propping up MSD endlessly.. All of us agree that MSD is more of a batsman-wicketkeeper than a pure wicketkeeper Check the match thread of Ind-Aus in Sydney & you will know which keepers are rated ahead of MSD. Which *INDIAN* keepers are rated ahead of Dhoni for glovework ? You do realize that Dhoni came into the team not because we needed a better bat than Parthiv but because we needed a better gloveman than Parthiv ? You do realize that as recently as 2 years ago Dhoni was widely rated by commentators and former cricketers as the best gloveman in India ? So please, tell us, which gloveman India has had since Mongia who trounces Dhoni in glovework ? Deep dasgupta ? False. Saba karim ? False Parthiv ? Nope. So if i am causing you lot so much laughter, the list of names that are better keepers than Dhoni should be abounding, no ?
Muloghonto Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Saha for one Pulling names out of a hat, i see. So who has Saha kept to well and where exactly did Saha make his mark as a watertight keeper ? Not in Bengal team, i know that for a fact!
Tridibans_16 Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Pulling names out of a hat' date=' i see. So who has Saha kept to well and where exactly did Saha make his mark as a watertight keeper ? Not in Bengal team, i know that for a fact![/quote'] :cantstop: Well I don't think he pulled anything from a hat. Look at the number of posts he has and then judge. On current form, Saha is a better keeper than Dhoni. Add to that, whatever teeny meeney score Saha will score will be more than what Dhoni is managing these days.
Tridibans_16 Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Dariyaganj mein dimaagi bawaseer ke ilaaj ke free day chale hue hain aaj kal' date=' go for it.[/quote'] :two_thumbs_up:
Lord Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 :cantstop: Well I don't think he pulled anything from a hat. Look at the number of posts he has and then judge. On current form' date= Saha is a better keeper than Dhoni. Add to that, whatever teeny meeney score Saha will score will be more than what Dhoni is managing these days. thanks for making me realise that I've crossed 20k:woot: party time:party:
urbestfriend Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Dhoni is a decent keeper , no doubt! But his batting in tests have gone from bad to worse, and rightfully we cannot have a keeper who cannot bat. We are putting up with Dhoni for long time by giving a phony reason that we have no alternatives, but this is time to try someone else who has an ability which is comparable to Dhoni , but better in bat.
Eternal Atma Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Still want him as keeper-batsman at 7. He may even focus better if not captain. But captain must be Tendulkar if Dhoni is to go.