Tendulkar_Bhai Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 Sickening, he is one of our best ODI players but has gone well down in my estimation!!
Yoda-esque Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/top-stories/Gary-Kirsten-always-wanted-me-to-open-the-innings-Suresh-Raina/articleshow/17577159.cms :hysterical:
gattaca Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 ^ yup he should open innings. He cant play short ball , spin. what else can he play ?
Manny_Pacquiao Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 "Today's century was important for me. I am determined to score heavily everytime I go out to bat and be ready for national call. The main reason to promote myself up the order was to get good batting practice and put up a big score against my name," Raina told TOI after the four-day Ranji Trophy match ended in a draw at the VCA Civil Lines ground. LMAO so now we have players using ranji as "batting practice" for their own personal ends...and they are feeling good about it. great. RIP indian cricket
Pagalpanti Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 And he comes out and gloats about it? I'd be surprised if there is no backlash to this from BCCI's end, he just used a Ranji game for his personal cause.
The Outsider Posted December 11, 2012 Author Posted December 11, 2012 http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/sports/cricket/top-stories/Gary-Kirsten-always-wanted-me-to-open-the-innings-Suresh-Raina/articleshow/17577159.cms :hysterical: The article shows how deep the rot is in the system in more ways than one. After gloating about it on twitter, he comes out and gives an interview to some crony journalist of his. Just reading the article can tell you that the journalist is some chamcha of his, writing fantastical stuff like: He is scoring runs in domestic matches, working hard on his fitness and even hired a personal coach Praveen Amre to improve his batting techniques. Scoring runs in domestic matches? Really? Despite performing decently in the 17 Test matches he played so far, he could not cement his place in the star-studded Indian middle-order. Performing decently in test matches? When did this happen?
panther Posted December 11, 2012 Posted December 11, 2012 I always believed that Indian players batsman especially play for them self first and the team second.
Raghav_12 Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 I was following scorecard of that match and had had a good laugh when I saw Raina getting some cheap runs when match had already become dead. I knew otherwise he is struggling for runs even in Ranji. However, kudos to outy for highlighting the incident with an impact it should be highlighted with. It was outrightly selfish of Raina to use Ranji match as his own net practice.
philcric Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 "I think I can open the innings in every format of the game. I can defend very well and whenever the situation demands, I can play my shots. Gary (Kirsten) always wanted me to open the innings. He felt that I can do the job perfectly. I had done well at No. 3 slot for India (in ODIs and Twenty20s) and in the IPL and given a chance can open in any format," said Raina. Unbelievable !!
skindia Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 remember dhoni promoted himself and raina against hongkong and made centuries to get rid of robin
skindia Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Raina if u defend...plz see ur current scores in ranji b4 hundred
asterix Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Another bright star of CSK brigade.... :hatsoff:
Lord Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 And he comes out and gloats about it? I'd be surprised if there is no backlash to this from BCCI's end' date=' he just used a Ranji game for his personal cause.[/quote'] apart from'no' I agree
Spiderguy252 Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Despite performing decently in the 17 Test matches he played so far, he could not cement his place in the star-studded Indian middle-order. Really now?
Debutant Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Players playing for the Indian team never respect the Ranji matches. They always treat them as batting practice. Disgusting. I used to like Raina but this gloating after scoring a meaning less hundred that too at the cost of winning the match is disgusting.
Spiderguy252 Posted December 12, 2012 Posted December 12, 2012 Players playing for the Indian team never respect the Ranji matches. They always treat them as batting practice. Disgusting. I used to like Raina but this gloating after scoring a meaning less hundred that too at the cost of winning the match is disgusting. Agree. I remember Yuvraj giving an interview - must have been after that Lanka series in 2010 - in which he said that playing Ranji Trophy cricket is boring as hell and he didn't want to do it to pitch his return to the test squad. Yuvraj, Raina, Gambhir, etc. are a disgrace. Should be lined up and shot in the face.