EnterTheVoid Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 What is this, religion as a service? In return for my prayers, I want to a nice car/job/house etc
jalebi_bhai Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 Religion is a very conflicting concept. I'm neither atheist nor overly religious, but as long as religion serves as a reason for violence between people, I'll always be highly skeptical. The war-mongers at the top will always use religion to divide people. Ultimately, religion means different things to different people, a fact I acknowledge and respect. However, I absolutely hate it when others start trying to enforce their beliefs on to me like it is some sort of fact, this includes atheists as well.
Raghav_12 Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 OP comment is extremely immature. Birth and Death are process of nature (of God, if you believe in one) and God is not going to intervene in processes which He himself has set up. On ther side, many religious old people would prefer to go and stay closer to God in their last time. A true beliiever in God would rather have died in peace as it happened at a place which they believe is abode of God.
PriyankaSR Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 Agree with OP.A God that looks the other way when little babies are being hurt is useless. And lets not even talk about the various kinds of Gods who find the most monstrous ways to test their followers. +++
Detonator Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 Agree with OP.A God that looks the other way when little babies are being hurt is useless. And lets not even talk about the various kinds of Gods who find the most monstrous ways to test their followers. the 'gods' are just a few powerful characters in many myths.. thay r not meant to be literal... our mythologies and the idea of god were wrongly interpreted today...
div Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 According to Hinduism, there is neither death nor birth.Hindus know First Law of Thermodynamics.:wink_smile: Jai Hinduism :om:
Clarke Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 OP comment is extremely immature. Birth and Death are process of nature (of God, if you believe in one) and God is not going to intervene in processes which He himself has set up. On ther side, many religious old people would prefer to go and stay closer to God in their last time. A true beliiever in God would rather have died in peace as it happened at a place which they believe is abode of God. That wasn't anywhere close to a peaceful passing away.
Raghav_12 Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 That wasn't anywhere close to a peaceful passing away. Peaceful death is mental state. You can't be sure about that.
CSK Fan Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 Peaceful death is mental state. You can't be sure about that. Not with the tales of suffering actually being told by the survivors. Temples were littered with dead bodies who suffered agonizing death.
CSK Fan Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 @OP, I cannot understand how you claim it was superstition which caused the death. They were there on a holiday and pilgrimage and disaster happened. If they had gone to Shimla for the holiday and disaster struck, would you blame them? It was just an accident? Since accident can happen anywhere and they had no fore-warning how can you blame superstition? Now if these people knew there would be a calamity and they went thinking God would still protect them, then you can blame superstition for their deaths.
Desi Cartman Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 10000 people died : it was their destiny. Mandir still stands : chamatkar I had to visit vaishno Devi last year and it was a terrible experience, I had to go because I had promised out of courtesy and love to someone. Never again and I wish I had never gone. Religion or no religion, till the authorities can't make proper arrangements, it's not worth risking lives.
Muloghonto Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 If anything is possible for god' date=' is it possible for him to do something which is impossible?? [img']http://cdn.androidblip.com/icn/com_amf_philosoraptor____29509.png Can God make a rock so heavy that he himself cannot lift it ? The answer to this question should demonstrate how silly the idea of an infinitely-powerful God is.
Muloghonto Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 Eff u dude.. You can be as much Atheist as u want but don't degrade my religion. Nothing, not even your religion, is unquestionable. Truth can withstand scrutiny. Its BS that needs to shut down critical thinking to propagate, because when people think, they can spot BS. Therefore, it is my stance that that which is unchallengable /taboo to speak of, is actually , BS. That which stands the test of critical thinking, is legitimate.
beetle Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 10000 people died : it was their destiny. Mandir still stands : chamatkar I had to visit vaishno Devi last year and it was a terrible experience, I had to go because I had promised out of courtesy and love to someone. Never again and I wish I had never gone. Religion or no religion, till the authorities can't make proper arrangements, it's not worth risking lives. +1 I stopped going to temples where the entrance to the temple is made small which results in long queues. This is just an artificial problem created to increase the "bhav" of the temple. Then I stopped going to temples with crowds. Now if at all I do go ...it is only to the isolated small temples without even a pujari.
Muloghonto Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 Religion is a very conflicting concept. I'm neither atheist nor overly religious, but as long as religion serves as a reason for violence between people, I'll always be highly skeptical. The war-mongers at the top will always use religion to divide people. Ultimately, religion means different things to different people, a fact I acknowledge and respect. However, I absolutely hate it when others start trying to enforce their beliefs on to me like it is some sort of fact, this includes atheists as well. religion may mean different things to different folks but what religion boils down to, is this: To be religious, of any religion, you *must* accept that certain stories pertaining to the said religion must be 100% true and there can be no ambiguity or error in its recording or interpretation. Ie, religion and religious mentality essentially boils down to choosing belief over facts, choosing rote memory over critical thinking. If there is a God- and that is a big If- he/she/it/they gave us a brain to use. I am sorry but there isnt a single religion on this planet that stands up to any critical thinking. Christianity is BS, Islam is BS, Hinduism is BS, Judaism is BS, 99% of religious thinking is BS. Logic and critical thinking dictates this. And this is no big revelation, there are philosophers from over two thousand years ago who've come to the same conclusion: that religion is dishonest & BS.
Detonator Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 Can God make a rock so heavy that he himself cannot lift it ? The answer to this question should demonstrate how silly the idea of an infinitely-powerful God is. You got exactly what I meant to say :hatsoff:
EnterTheVoid Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 Nothing' date=' not even your religion, is unquestionable. Truth can withstand scrutiny. Its BS that needs to shut down critical thinking to propagate, because when people think, they can spot BS. Therefore, it is my stance that that which is unchallengable /taboo to speak of, is actually , BS. That which stands the test of critical thinking, is legitimate.[/quote'] Outstanding debating skills, I really have to hand that to you.
Desi Cartman Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 +1 I stopped going to temples where the entrance to the temple is made small which results in long queues. This is just an artificial problem created to increase the "bhav" of the temple. Then I stopped going to temples with crowds. Now if at all I do go ...it is only to the isolated small temples without even a pujari. Do you know most of the mandirs are privately or via trustee owned by families. The kalka mandir in Delhi is owned by a family and they are ****ing filthy filthy rich. The family actually divides the donation out of borees of money.
beetle Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 Do you know most of the mandirs are privately or via trustee owned by families. The kalka mandir in Delhi is owned by a family and they are ****ing filthy filthy rich. The family actually divides the donation out of borees of money. Sick...:((
Muloghonto Posted June 30, 2013 Posted June 30, 2013 OP comment is extremely immature. Birth and Death are process of nature (of God, if you believe in one) and God is not going to intervene in processes which He himself has set up. On ther side, many religious old people would prefer to go and stay closer to God in their last time. A true beliiever in God would rather have died in peace as it happened at a place which they believe is abode of God. Ever heard of Blaise Pascal ? He came up with the perfect explanation of why religious people think this way. Its called Pascal's wager. The premise is, human beings gamble with their lives on whether God exists or not. There are two possibilies: God exists or God does not exist. There are two choices we have: We believe in God or we dont believe in God ( we shall ignore the third choice, the agnost/Buddhist choice of God's irrelevancy because it aligns well with the disbeleiver's perspective on this equation). This leads to four possibilies: a) We believe in God, God exists b) We believe in God, God does not exist c) We dont believe in God, God exists d) We dont believe in God, God does not exist. The consequences of these four pathways are(Assuming that we live up to the criterias, ie, if we believe that God exists, we lead Godly lives, if we believe God doesnt exist, we lead a non-Godly life): a) We are in heaven/we are rewarded (Positive re-inforcement) b) MInor harm done. We spent our entire lives wasting energy to a non-existant entity. lost a little time and effort in our lives, but no giant penalty at the end. c) We are boned. God is gonna punish us for breaking his tenets- either by sticking us in hell, ending our souls or condemning us to become lesser life-forms. d) No harm done, we spent our lives as we see fit, nobody to answer to and no time wasted in our lives. A) and B) are subset of 'we believe' and has one positive & one slightly negative consequence. C) and D) are subsets of 'we dont believe' and has one neutral and one huge negative consequence. Voltaire later analyses this to demonstrate that essentially faith boils down to cowardice & greed because logically the existence of God cannot be substantiated. The choices A) & B) are superior to choices C) and D) because of the reason explained above. But empiricism says God is a) illogical and b) unsubstantiated. But choice A) & B) of the 'we believe' club has an incentive that appeals to the greedy and choices C) & D) of the 'we dont believe' club has a negative scenario that deters cowards fearing penalty. Therefore, religion boils down to cowardice and greed of the individual because the incentive to believe and the possibility of being wrong (and its consequences) are appealing to the greedy & cowards to 'hedge their bets' over what is dictated by quantifiable & discernable logic & empericism.