Raghav_12 Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 One comment from the article. :hysterical: That is the problem with internet. It has given power to be heard to all dimwits who otherwise would never have opened their mouth infront of more than 2-3 people or may be his family.
putrevus Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 Top scorer in both the innings. http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/474474.html This was match saving innings. http://www.espncricinfo.com/engvind/engine/match/258468.html?innings=4;page=2;view=commentary Top scores in first innings for India. http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/489228.html Top scorer for India in first innings. http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/518951.html Compare it Matt Prior and his test exploits and can you honestly say Dhoni is better test batsman than him. One is the most famous guy and other one is relatively underrated and yet the underrated one has bailed his team more than the famous one in the toughest form of cricket.
rkt.india Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 Compare it Matt Prior and his test exploits and can you honestly say Dhoni is better test batsman than him. One is the most famous guy and other one is relatively underrated and yet the underrated one has bailed his team more than the famous one in the toughest form of cricket. I never said Dhoni is a better test batsman than Prior. I think there are only two WK who can play purely as batsmen in test cricket are Gilchrist and Prior. I just posted them because you said he does not have even one good innings in test cricket overseas.
rkt.india Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 Here pitch was difficult in Adelaide pitch was great and he was batting with Raina and also had batting power play Dhoni faced majority of balls during batting power there and forget hitting boundaries he could not take even singles. What should have been an easy chase Dhoni made into a monumental one. Dhoni is great but he drags things little too far IMO it has worked for him recently but that is wrong approach. That is because he does not want to take risks while chasing. He gives that freedom to other batsmen and he knows he can cover it up whenever he wants. He wants to make sure we reach the target whether we win by single double or by hitting sixes as he can do both while doing it by hitting 6s-4s is risky, he takes the path of first get set and rotating the strike only then start hitting once he is set.
rkt.india Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 If these are the innings all you could come up with then it doesn't do much to dispel the notion that Dhoni as a batsmen is liability overseas and yes' date=' but only in test matches. Other than Lord's 2007, other innings are just okay.[/quote'] In most of those innings, he top scored and still they are just okay, why such a bias? You also need to think there must be something that others could not score runs. He is not a great test batsman especially overseas, but saying he does not have one good innings in test overseas is unfair. As captain, he averages more than or similar to the likes of Dravid, Ganguly, and Azhar.
Yoda-esque Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 In most of those innings' date=' he top scored and still they are just okay, why such a bias? You also need to think there must be something that others could not score runs. He is not a great test batsman especially overseas, but saying he does not have one good innings in test overseas is unfair. As captain, he averages more than or similar to the likes of Dravid, Ganguly, and Azhar.[/quote'] Kyon khoon jalaa rahe hou bhai? internet par koi convince bhi hua hai kya?
putrevus Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 I never said Dhoni is a better test batsman than Prior. I think there are only two WK who can play purely as batsmen in test cricket are Gilchrist and Prior. I just posted them because you said he does not have even one good innings in test cricket overseas. I did not say you said Matt Prior was better but with all the hype surrounding Dhoni, he still is a big liability with bat especially in overseas conditions. It not just Dhoni's fault it is total batting order even in its so called glory days they were and still are prone to collapses big time. Those good innings you mentioned are like mentioning Agarkar as an all rounder based on his century at lords when everyone else failed. Dhoni is a hard guy to read it looked he changed his batting style after Chennai double hundred only to revert back to as usual in that tense Mohali chase.
Crookbond Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 So now we compare the 1st innings of a Test match with India in precarious position versus the 2nd innings of a Test match where he batted just 28 balls, to prove a point. :wall:
putrevus Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 That is because he does not want to take risks while chasing. He gives that freedom to other batsmen and he knows he can cover it up whenever he wants. He wants to make sure we reach the target whether we win by single double or by hitting sixes as he can do both while doing it by hitting 6s-4s is risky' date=' he takes the path of first get set and rotating the strike only then start hitting once he is set.[/quote'] What you said translates to dragging the match as long as possible and hope for the best in the end.
The Outsider Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 Like I said before Dhoni want to drag match as long as possible and hope for the best and that is not correct one. I don't think it's about hoping for the best, but a calculated strategy for the most part. Dhoni knows he can hit the big shots and with the target getting closer and match coming to an end, it's not only the batting side but the bowlers and fielders who come under pressure as well. Specially, the second rung bowlers seeing someone like Dhoni still at the end become more prone to crumbling under pressure. Just look at the what happened to Eranga - he bowled three length deliveries in succession to Dhoni. It's in these tight circumstances that Dhoni feels he has better odds of success than the bowlers. Like any strategy, it might not always work, and I agree that there is an inherent risk in the tail getting out before Dhoni gets a chance to do his thing, but I would say it has worked more often than failed over his career.
rkt.india Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 What you said translates to dragging the match as long as possible and hope for the best in the end. What is best try to finish it early and lose in 45th over or rather keep ticking and win in 50th over?
rkt.india Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 So now we compare the 1st innings of a Test match with India in precarious position versus the 2nd innings of a Test match where he batted just 28 balls' date=' to prove a point. :wall:[/quote'] People usually forget that there is a thing called bat according to the situation.
rkt.india Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 I did not say you said Matt Prior was better but with all the hype surrounding Dhoni, he still is a big liability with bat especially in overseas conditions. I know and realize that for some reasons he never really convinced me as a batsman in tests overseas. Sometimes, while batting, I found him lacking the kind of intensity and concentration he shows in ODIs, even overseas. Some times, he does not display the same calm and nerveless attitude and looks impatient in tests overseas while batting. He needs to address these things till he is playing test overseas and show more responsibility on SA tour as a batsman.
putrevus Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 I know and realize that for some reasons he never really convinced me as a batsman in tests overseas. Sometimes' date=' while batting, I found him lacking the kind of intensity and concentration he shows in ODIs, even overseas. Some times, he does not display the same calm and nerveless attitude and looks impatient in tests overseas while batting. He needs to address these things till he is playing test overseas and show more responsibility on SA tour as a batsman.[/quote'] I feel there are two reasons for it, the position he bats he is either facing second new ball or he is in very early on a juicy pitch due to top order collapse.Both of them require technique to survive. He is better than likes of Raina and Yuvraj when it comes to technique but still is very suspect against swing .He carries additional burden of playing with our tail enders who offer little resistance. That's why we have lot of scores from 150/3 to 260/270 all out or if pitch is juicy 170/180 all out. That's where guy like Matt Prior stands out he can walk in 85/5 and still score a hundred.Even though their career stats are not that different.
rkt.india Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 I feel there are two reasons for it, the position he bats he is either facing second new ball or he is in very early on a juicy pitch due to top order collapse.Both of them require technique to survive. He is better than likes of Raina and Yuv;raj when it comes to technique but still is very suspect against swing .He carries additional burden of playing with our tail enders who offer little resistance. That's why we have lot of scores from 150/3 to 260/270 all out or if pitch is juicy 170/180 all out. That's where guy like Matt Prior stands out he can walk in 85/5 and still score a hundred.Even though their career stats are not that different. One more thing is because their tailenders are better batsmen. Look at the matches I posted above. He has been not out in a few of them. He could probably have scored a hundred at least if in one of them people from other end had stayed with him. Other than that we have rarely find a wk who can bat well even at home in tests leave alone overseas. He is an impact player at home.
vvvslaxman Posted July 16, 2013 Posted July 16, 2013 Prior has vast first class experience compared to DHoni Dhoni Prior That is some experience for Prior compared to Dhoni. Dhoni developed most of his skills at the international level. ALl he had was incredible temperament. For sussex alone he has played 141 first class matches.
Detonator Posted July 17, 2013 Posted July 17, 2013 One comment from the article. :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: Comments are always hilarious, if you don't take them seriously. Esp in Rediff and youtube.