Food Bill is necessary. You can argue on nitty gritties of the bill or even the intentions or even the timing. BUt there are poor people sleeping hungry on the streets as we speak.
I kind of understand that. My next hope is its implemented properly and we carry on with economic reforms as well to grow the tax base and support the bill. It was really bad timing no matter how left of center you stand.
Food Bill is necessary. You can argue on nitty gritties of the bill or even the intentions or even the timing. BUt there are poor people sleeping hungry on the streets as we speak.
the bill should have focused on those poor people, not 800 million people! are all 800 million people going hungry? this bill has failed before even starting. made by monkeys for monkeys
They failed to do so for DBT, wonder how they'll execute the FSB through the existing PDS which is full of leakages at every level. What they will surely do though is a carpet bombing of print and visual ads to promote FSB and DBT. Has already started with the tagline being "Bhookh ko bhagana hai"
By now, they should have learned tht social security schemes should be such that there is minimal scope of the scheme not working due to mismanagement, inaction by gov. employees and corruption. In this regard, if we provided unconditional cash benefit to any 15 yr+ individual who needs it - say giving 1000/- p.m. in urban and 820/- in rural areas,it would have been ideal. 1000/- pm being official poverty line in urban and ~820/- in rural India. Use a device like a micro-Atm to disburse the cash after taking the biometric data from it. 1. There is no scope of mismanagement, inaction by gov. employees and corruption in such a scheme. 2. No time needed to start. This could have been started within 15 days across India and would have yielded results within no time.
It comes with huge costs for which govt has no money. Sharad pawar type agriculturalists will be fixing prices for their own crop. There was ration card available already so what was the need of this new bill ? Doesn't ration card provide food grains at a subsidized cost ? Why not help really poor with even cheaper price? Homeless people need something like a soup kitchen where they can go and eat for free. See its an ideal thing to do but reality is that we can't afford it because it covers almost 80% population.

One of the economists on TV argued that the cash transfer would work out cheaper (around 80k crores instead of 140k crores) and offer more improvements in nutrition. The idea is that grain consumption between lower and middle classes isn't that different, what separates them is milk, eggs & vegetables. The direct cash could cover some of that gap although offering subsidizing foodgrains should also free up some cash.

One of the economists on TV argued that the cash transfer would work out cheaper (around 80k crores instead of 140k crores) and offer more improvements in nutrition. The idea is that grain consumption between lower and middle classes isn't that different' date= what separates them is milk, eggs & vegetables. The direct cash could cover some of that gap although offering subsidizing foodgrains should also free up some cash.
Good point. My opinion is that poor get exploited in this country, the daily-wage laborers who work in jobs requiring physical labor or field work, they are made to work extremely hard and in harsh conditions for little money. One can see its ill-effects and stress on their faces. Cash transfer will solve both the nutrition point that you gave and also reduce the exploitation to a great extent,the poor will have a security that they will atleast get a 1000/820 Rs a month no matter what. EDIT: Not just one, but all members for the family over 15 yr old would be eligible for cash benefit.
Bill will help economy in long run' date=' Indian man-power will become very strong physically and result in greater productivity. We need [b']healthy, taller, sharper India.
Whats the difference between you & Horlicks?:haha:
What if the cash transfer ends up on daru?
Some of it my end up in daru but not too much because 1. All food and fuel subsidies will be revoked, so food and travel will become expensive and so not too much money will be left for daru out of the free money. 2. Women will also get their 1000/820 Rs. and will get empowered, they won't let men spend money on daru while they spend theirs on house. Many countries hand out unemployment-doles of $150-200 per week, which is multiple times more than the proposed monthly sum for Indians. It should be affordable for the gov. I am pretty sure tht if we had the tech. to verify and store biometric data on cloud ( as in cloud computing) in year 1950, we wouldn't have gone for subsidies in the first place.

I am amazed that no one is asking "who will pay for it ? " its a huge mess as govt will buy rice at market rate and sell it for less than 10% price. Who will pay for 90% and for how long ? I am shocked that even on ICF posters living in India are not asking this question

Some of it my end up in daru but not too much because 1. All food and fuel subsidies will be revoked, so food and travel will become expensive and so not too much money will be left for daru out of the free money. 2. Women will also get their 1000/820 Rs. and will get empowered, they won't let men spend money on daru while they spend theirs on house. Many countries hand out unemployment-doles of $150-200 per week, which is multiple times more than the proposed monthly sum for Indians. It should be affordable for the gov. I am pretty sure tht if we had the tech. to verify and store biometric data on cloud ( as in cloud computing) in year 1950, we wouldn't have gone for subsidies in the first place.
:giggle::giggle::giggle::giggle::giggle: :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Our GDP per capita is less than 4k and US is 50k , our tax of GDP is 17% and US is 25%+.
I am amazed that no one is asking "who will pay for it ? " its a huge mess as govt will buy rice at market rate and sell it for less than 10% price. Who will pay for 90% and for how long ? I am shocked that even on ICF posters living in India are not asking this question
That was a question before it was passed. Ab chidiya aur chiddu chug gaye khet :nervous:
beta chugna to ab shuru hoga, abhi to sirf planning hai wait till the bills come. Then the next issue will be farmers accusing govt of taking advantage of them and then govt will buy at even a higher price. All wholesalers are like Sharad Pawar so they will make more money, poor will supposedly get it for almost free and taxes will go up :two_thumbs_up:
Our GDP per capita is less than 4k and US is 50k , our tax of GDP is 17% and US is 25%+.
I was aware of the low GDP per capita and low tax rates. Check this out for unemployment benefits in different countries. There are many countries with substantially lower GDP per capita than the US who give substantial benefits. In US, The average weekly payment is $293. Multiply by 4.5 for avg monthly payment, then multiply by exchange rate(65) 293*4.5*65 = 85702 rupees per month Even after taking low GDP per capita(nominal not ppp) and low tax rates in account, the sum of Rs. 1000/820 for Indians is small only.