velu Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 BCCI Vice President Rajeev Shukla was full of praise for Sachin Tendulkar and how he held the Indian team together, but his anecdotes were all seemingly at the expense of former India captain Sourav Ganguly. Shukla said had it not been for Tendulkar, most of the players would have taken off their shirts and waved after the magnificent victory in the Natwest Trophy against England. "Sourav wanted that all the players do it. Maybe he wanted to pay back Andrew Flintoff in the same coin. But Sachin came and whispered in my ears that 'this should not be done. It's a gentleman's game and if Sourav wants to do it let him do.'," Shukla said. The BCCI Vice-President also revealed that it was Tendulkar who saved then coach John Wright from embarrassment as Ganguly wanted the New Zealander to apologise to Virender Sehwag for "slapping" him during the Oval match. "I saw Sehwag in a bad mood. When I asked him he said that John had slapped him. It became an issue and Ganguly insisted that they will not leave (dressing room) unless Wright apologises to Sehwag. Then I found Wright and asked him if he did it. John said that 'he wanted Sehwag to score a century but Sehwag repeated his mistake of lifting the ball and got out, so I was angry. And he is like a disciple to me so I just pushed him out of anger'. "Sachin came to me and said that 'you must ensure that John does not apologise, otherwise the coach will lose his respect'. I got back to Sehwag and explained that it was just like a father chides his son, John did it. He understood and let it go," Shukla said. SRC
CSK Fan Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Lol, what a pu$$y. Reminds me of the goody two-shoes kids complaining to teacher about the plans of the cool students
Pagalpanti Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 lol Sachin sab ki chugli Shukla se kar raha tha kya?
CSK Fan Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Every player taking their shirt off would have been quite a scene at Lords. Guess Sachin didn't want to show his man boobs
GoldenSun Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Man , this guy really is the ultimate professional. We are really going to lose that vocal leader when Sachin leaves.. I hope after Sachin takes some time off from the game, he returns(batting coach) to influence youngsters in the best way possible in terms of discipline, temperament, and integrity. Him and Dravid influencing youngsters and getting involved with the development of the game in India would be one of the best things that can happen to Indian cricket.
saneindian Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Shuklaji also said "Sachin is a RS MP due to Sonia Gandhi" yeah right not because of his gignatic achievements but because Madamji wanted him to be a RS MP!
maniac Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Every player taking their shirt off would have been quite a scene at Lords. Guess Sachin didn't want to show his man boobs Sachin, sehwag, muscleheads vvs, srinath, sir aggy, kaif, dravid ....sachin saved us an embarassment .....would have been sight to behold for the benchmark of how arhletes look :giggle:
Zanjeer Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Imagine laxman taking his shirt off from the balcony...:hysterical: Man, it would have spoiled the fun...:haha:
DomainK Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Neither Sachin nor Ganguly had the body to sow off.
Detonator Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Every player taking their shirt off would have been quite a scene at Lords. Guess Sachin didn't want to show his man boobs
Magneto Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 I can well imagine Ganguly taking a cane and saying: "All you feckers are gonna take your shirts off and do a half monty" And people thinking - "Aila, hamari izzat'.
Yoda-esque Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 So it was planned then and not impulsive as it seemed
Desi Cartman Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 And why is it important shukla ji mention all this in public especially when everything he has mentioned shows that srt and SG had disagreements.
adi B Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 shuklaji`s chugalkhoring like fat poonjabi aunties :giggle:
Desi Cartman Posted November 14, 2013 Posted November 14, 2013 Maybe shukla ji convinced others not to do it in order hide his own awesome body :woot:
Executioner Posted November 14, 2013 Posted November 14, 2013 I dream of a day when Dwayne Leverock will take his shirt off in Lords. no!!