Student from Arunachal 'beaten to death' in south Delhi

May be the fact that the guy is an MLA's son is making me doubt this ......because in this country power trumps every thing else. Politicians children do tend to throw their weight around. But there is no doubt that people from the north east are discriminated against specially the woman are considered easy targets as they are stereotyped as more liberal or easy. As for being called chinki......may be because of the obvious discrimination they face the people from the north east are more sensitive to being called that. I am pretty chinki myself and would easily pass of as a Nepali ....but I have not ever found it offensive. I don't know anyone in my family who finds it offensive.Maybe having a name like Radhika makes a difference or maybe I have not faced that kind of discrimination.
:D i have a cousin who looks alot like Thailand's PM. She went to Thailand, people thought she was a local.
Yes. Attributing this death to racism is not fair and reeks of trp hunt of media. In most part of the world when you attack a person's property in his/her own area' date=' you are inviting trouble. Being mocked at hair style not enough reason for you to break somebody's shop and neither that amounts to racism. It is simply a case of crime not of hate crime. Media and morally superior persons trying to find something for their self-contentment.[/quote'] People's views are getting shaped based on highly opinionated sections of media epitomized by times now. I tend to agree with you and beetle, its a (horrible) crime but doesn't look a (horrible) hate crime on the face of it. The same happened in Khobragade case. And also in people selectively calling Delhi a disease ignoring the fact tht being the capital, it is nothing but a coming-together of people from all parts of india. And then, there is the case of people tending to draw comparisons, - AAP and PTI's start looks somewhat similar . So, people think they are gonna be the same ignoring the fact the PTI (having to) support to taliban. - thinking that calling an Indian a chinki (east asian features) is the same as calling him a Pakistani. Not accepting tht without the deriding or insulting context, people occasionally do not mind certain words. We could all learn to be a bit less influenced by the opinionated section of media.
May be the fact that the guy is an MLA's son is making me doubt this ......because in this country power trumps every thing else. Politicians children do tend to throw their weight around. But there is no doubt that people from the north east are discriminated against specially the woman are considered easy targets as they are stereotyped as more liberal or easy. As for being called chinki......may be because of the obvious discrimination they face the people from the north east are more sensitive to being called that. I am pretty chinki myself and would easily pass of as a Nepali ....but I have not ever found it offensive. I don't know anyone in my family who finds it offensive.Maybe having a name like Radhika makes a difference or maybe I have not faced that kind of discrimination.
:woot: :woot: :woot:

In Vishakhapatnam...we were often asked which country we were from....Once even when my husband was in uniform.:facepalm: Once a lady commented..."you speak very good hindi".....I was like.....:blink:it's my first language...

But Nepali people have Hindu/Sanskrit names so Radhika wouldn't be so uncommon.
ager thoda sa hasne pe dukaan ka kaanch todega, toh fatke to khaega hi. "Hey dont look at me that way or I"ll break your feckin Shop" Sochta hoga yaha bhi Arunachal wali Bhaigiri chal jaaegi aur" MLA ka beta hoon "dhamki se subki phat jaegi. Kya pata tha esay ki ye Delhi wale to en cheezo mai ense 2 kadam aage hai. Ab Bhugto.
are u serious? meanwhile the cops are totally at fault in this case
But Nepali people have Hindu/Sanskrit names so Radhika wouldn't be so uncommon.
I mean...my name is not northeastIndian......hence probably no discrimination...
In Vishakhapatnam...we were often asked which country we were from....Once even when my husband was in uniform.:facepalm: Once a lady commented..."you speak very good hindi".....I was like.....:blink:it's my first language...
:cantstop: well thats how it works,this mindset will change after several generations

Rape and racism at the same time, India only getting better, it's funny how Indians deny they are racist and yet like to claim everyone else is racist against Indians. Two Manipuri women allegedly assaulted by a group of men in Delhi "As she tried to get rid of the dog, she said, she panicked and happened to kick the animal. Seeing this, the men allegedly started beating her up. When her friend tried to intervene, she too was allegedly thrashed by the men who also made racists comments against them, the police have said. Allegedly assaulted by a group of men in Delhi" http://www.ndtv.com/article/cities/two-manipuri-women-allegedly-assaulted-by-a-group-of-men-in-delhi-478384?pfrom=home-otherstories So now tell me what the deniers are going to say about this? And this is not just Delhi's problem it is India's problem, India are a disgrace when it comes to women and women's right, India is also one of the most racist countries on Earth no matter how much Indians want to deny it.

Nex time tell them .. I'm earthling .. aren;t you :P seedhe ho jayenge :P