Crookbond Posted July 3, 2014 Posted July 3, 2014 You asked for those who were known for their sarcasm/satire. Sorry!
Crookbond Posted July 3, 2014 Posted July 3, 2014 now i know that you are not from goa and you know bit of tamil :sherlock: whether "Vanja Pugalchi ani" in tamil is sarcasm ?? Dude! You know much more about me than that ( and vice-versa). Next time, I am in the same city as you are - we will definitely meet. Last time, the business trip and scheduling constraints made it quite difficult. :)
velu Posted July 3, 2014 Posted July 3, 2014 Dude! You know much more about me than that ( and vice-versa). Next time' date=' I am in the same city as you are - we will definitely meet. Last time, the business trip and scheduling constraints made it quite difficult. :)[/quote'] sure .. we ll have beer and i will invite slicker too as a joker card :giggle: last time i was not busy .. infact i had no seriosu work , but i was tasked to send the status report for every 2 hours from morning 9am to next morning 1am :haha:
hhunaeh Posted July 3, 2014 Posted July 3, 2014 I think Kannada is another language which doesn't follow the Devnagiri script. Right? I hope we are not confusing sarcasm with satire. Yes it is not devanagari. I don't know i thought what i was talking about was sarcasm. But sometimes i get confused between the two. So i am not sure. :cantstop:
velu Posted July 3, 2014 Posted July 3, 2014 indians are less sensitive when comapred to koreans.. when koreans are offended , they will chop their own fingers and then toss it over their target :facepalm: http://www.foxnews.com/story/2005/03/14/korean-protestors-cut-off-fingers/
akshayxyz Posted July 3, 2014 Posted July 3, 2014 I don't know about the Dravidian languages. Lets take the example of Hindi - Does old literature have sarcasm/satire in Hindi? hhuaneh, I am taking a step back. May be, the lack of understanding stems from the fact that their own language doesn't use it as much as English does. vyangya (व्यंग्य) I am sure there are many examples of this from Hindi literature. It would be naive to assume that Hindi literature did not have this element. I remember watching 'hasya kavi sammelan' shows on DD National in 80s/90s. There used to be all kind of comic poetry, especially sattire/irony ones used to be on politicians/govt.
akshayxyz Posted July 3, 2014 Posted July 3, 2014 It is more typical of Indian middle class, especially from our parents' generation. They are always worried about others'/society's opinions/remarks. Koi kya kaha, keh raha hai, kahega, usne aisa kaise keh diya - waali mentality. I remember people in my neighborhood getting offended on trivial remarks.
Yoda-esque Posted July 3, 2014 Posted July 3, 2014 It is more typical of Indian middle class' date=' especially from our parents' generation. They are always worried about others'/society's opinions/remarks. Koi kya kaha, keh raha hai, kahega, usne aisa kaise keh diya - waali mentality. I remember people in my neighborhood getting offended on trivial remarks.[/quote'] Most of the comments are by youngsters
maniac Posted July 3, 2014 Posted July 3, 2014 What about the people getting riled up on these internet warriors what about them.....Either the right wing nuts get riled up or the left wing nuts do...It is a cycle that exists everywhere not just in India...stop overanalyzing stuff OP please read comments on Yahoo,CNN,Fox News etc or Twitter of celebrities who have a divided fan base like Reality stars,actors,Sportspersons etc
Mariyam Posted July 4, 2014 Posted July 4, 2014 I think this is the right time and you are the best person to ask you this question. Do you think that the language in itself has little or no room to use sarcasm? In English' date=' sarcasm is both the content and tone. In the Indian languages which I know of (3), I see that sarcasm is mainly induced by the tone. Since the Internet doesn't have a "tone" or it is easy to misinterpret the tone, may be this amplifies the issue. I might be wrong though![/quote'] I don't think its a linguistic limitation. There are many Indian traditions which rely on sarcastic and at times witty remarks to rile up the audience. There is this tradition of Dastangoi, which is basically storytelling with impromptu improvisations. Most of the humour there is content based, keeping a straight face and a regular tone. In fact most Indian sarcasm ( if there is such a thing) is mainly saying outrageous things in a normal tone. In that way its more content driven than tonal. My little hypothesis is that, say till 30-40 years ago, people weren't so openly abusive. As in gaali galoch types. So mocking others was always in a formal, satirical way. Now that abusing has become acceptable in the mainstream, we don't need to observe such subtleties anymore. An regular Joe would just resort to abuses among friends to bond and not try and come up with something sarcastic. Not how it was, say a few decades ago. Historically, we've had cases where Kings used to write each other official letters which were quite mocking in a very sarcastic manner. As in, what may seem outward praise would actually be pointed mockery etc.
Vilander Posted July 4, 2014 Posted July 4, 2014 I think this is the right time and you are the best person to ask you this question. Do you think that the language in itself has little or no room to use sarcasm? In English' date=' sarcasm is both the content and tone. In the Indian languages which I know of (3), I see that sarcasm is mainly induced by the tone. Since the Internet doesn't have a "tone" or it is easy to misinterpret the tone, may be this amplifies the issue. I might be wrong though![/quote'] English uses tone as well as words to convey sarcasm, this is probably because it is much more evolved a language with highest prose usage. I bet among indian languages Hindi urdu Bengali must have some form of words that convey sarcasm.
Vilander Posted July 4, 2014 Posted July 4, 2014 I don't think its a linguistic limitation. There are many Indian traditions which rely on sarcastic and at times witty remarks to rile up the audience. There is this tradition of Dastangoi, which is basically storytelling with impromptu improvisations. Most of the humour there is content based, keeping a straight face and a regular tone. In fact most Indian sarcasm ( if there is such a thing) is mainly saying outrageous things in a normal tone. In that way its more content driven than tonal. My little hypothesis is that, say till 30-40 years ago, people weren't so openly abusive. As in gaali galoch types. So mocking others was always in a formal, satirical way. Now that abusing has become acceptable in the mainstream, we don't need to observe such subtleties anymore. An regular Joe would just resort to abuses among friends to bond and not try and come up with something sarcastic. Not how it was, say a few decades ago. Historically, we've had cases where Kings used to write each other official letters which were quite mocking in a very sarcastic manner. As in, what may seem outward praise would actually be pointed mockery etc. An other way to look at it is that the language allows for this to happen as in to convey sarcasm or witty double meaning wise cracks for instance a language like German will not allow that mostly since they have a very verbose structure, they have a template for creating new words, whole sentences in other languages form words in Deutsche leaving much less room for creative manipulation with hidden meanings and formulate satire.
Mariyam Posted July 4, 2014 Posted July 4, 2014 An other way to look at it is that the language allows for this to happen as in to convey sarcasm or witty double meaning wise cracks for instance a language like German will not allow that mostly since they have a very verbose structure' date=' they have a template for creating new words, whole sentences in other languages form words in Deutsche leaving much less room for creative manipulation with hidden meanings and formulate satire.[/quote'] Doch jaaaa aber we are schpeaken of normal menschen. Nisht about ze Germans. Ze Germans are physically incapable of humour. understandensiebinichrechtsja?
Vilander Posted July 4, 2014 Posted July 4, 2014 Doch jaaaa aber we are schpeaken of normal menschen. Nisht about ze Germans. Ze Germans are physically incapable of humour. understandensiebinichrechtsja? lol true germans are abnormal but i like them, love few of them :) i lived with Germans for more some time, a family in their home in baden wurttemberg. Very open family not at all steeped in tradition much exposed to English and other cultures what they said is that for Germans humor is in action theatrics not in linguistics, its such an opposite to English and Indian humor its very interesting. Their linguistic humor/ satire felt a little less evolved, for instance they find simple repetitive satire very amusing they have whole traditions woven around such expressions, some poor forgetful old ladies Christmas night with some satirical overtones makes for a hillarious time for them, i had more fun looking at them than at the piece, also told them if they ever understood mainstream Indian comedies they will die of laughter.
Temujin Khaghan Posted July 4, 2014 Posted July 4, 2014 Indian media are obsessed with west, more than ourselves. Sadly most indians follow media. Our media morons ask every international celebrity like, "do u like to act in bollywood", they will say "yes" for namesake and it will becomes a news like "Hugh Jackman want to sing and dance in a hindi movie" When someone says otherwise, they lay a smackdown. the female anchors literally killed hayden, hussey and other foreign players in the 1st, 2nd IPL seasons about who is their favorite captain ponting or dhoni?... and they are like "ehhhhh Ponting of course" its so embarassing for every one. i think its the indian need to be identified with white people all the time. if bravo, gayle, pollard say that they love dhoni, kohli , yuvraj and sachin to bits like their own players, no one cares. atleast bravo has some following among the CSK fans. do watch koffeee with karan with richard gere, if you want some entertainment. as long as richard gere is talking about the poor people in india, the aids patients and the charity work he is promoting here, johar is not at all interested. i guess he wants to know more about what people at the oscar awards night talk about who they think will win the filmfare best actor award!!! moron wants to sell this idea of exciting new and rich classy india.
AmreekanDesi Posted July 4, 2014 Author Posted July 4, 2014 ^ For the avg Indian, validation by the white man, is one of the great achievements in life. I see indians suck up to white americans here all the time
randomGuy Posted July 4, 2014 Posted July 4, 2014 ^ For the avg Indian, validation by the white man, is one of the great achievements in life. I see indians suck up to white americans here all the time I doubt highly that this happens in America. In india maybe, as white people are exotic here.
Mariyam Posted July 4, 2014 Posted July 4, 2014 ^ For the avg Indian, validation by the white man, is one of the great achievements in life. I see indians suck up to white americans here all the time Don't extrapolate your behaviour to that of all Indians, average or otherwise. Besides, the 'avg Indian' doesn't stay in the USA.
Sachin=GOD Posted July 4, 2014 Posted July 4, 2014 Don't extrapolate your behaviour as that of all Indians, average or otherwise. Besides, the 'avg Indian' doesn't stay in the USA. It may not be true for "all" Indians but its true for a lot of them.