Speeds and Performances of Pacers and Spinners

11 minutes ago, Vijy said:

is your name chuckmal by any chance? :P

haha...I only do it occasionally when I feel lazy to take runup and bowl.

Offspin with straight arm don't turn much as I use only fingers and not my body, hence have to resort to some amount of chuck. :cantstop:

1 minute ago, singhvivek141 said:

haha...I only do it occasionally when I feel lazy to take runup and bowl.

Offspin with straight arm don't turn much as I use only fingers and not my body, hence have to resort to some amount of chuck. :cantstop:

true. contortion can aid spin

6 minutes ago, tapandrun said:

Most bowler do not chuck on-purpose, mostly do not even know they are chucking unless they see their recordings.

Bowler with natural chuck can release the ball bit faster, it like throwing and the biggest advantage is that they can change the release point ( in terms of height ) .

Batters are intuned to pre-emptively having an assumption of release point of a bowler but this changes with chuckers.

Exactly,..so the thing is if the fast bowlers whose action is tuned bowling with non chuck arm won't be able to chuck coz of their muscle memory. If they try to chuck, they will end up spraying the bowl or even injuring themselves, coz their brain isn't wired to make such changes in such a short time.

While if the bowlers who by default has a slight jerk in their action, will continue to do so without even noticing it I.e. Junaid Khan, Shabbir Ahmed. These things has to be rectified from the initial level.

Problem comes with spinners (specially orthodox ones) as they don't take a long runup, their momentum is very much in control & hence can use the bend in the arm to change factors like speed, turn of the pitch etc.

38 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

That's debatable, I have tried chucking at times with a proper runup...end up risking injury to my bowling arm.

I guess if you have a longer runup and an action which is non-chuck...it's tough to chuck or generate more pace.

Only times I was able to chuck when I was bowling off spin..it's very easy that way.

But there are folks in my corporate team, who chuck even when bowling medium pace, they find it real tough to bowl with straight arm

33 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

That depends how you approach the crease,power shifting is most important starting from impulse jump

Chucking is natural,our bodies are made to chuck,you can get anyone to throw .

On the other hand bowling without chucking is unnatural.

21 hours ago, MediumPacer said:

Bhogle is wax lyrical about mark wood 's wicket taking ability in odis and Morgan hyping atkinson's pace and venom :hysterical:

Shastri was saying that Shaheen was much more potent in 2021, when he swung the ball at 140 k+.  It doesn't give the batters time to react.

But our 3 quicks are moving the ball at 140 k+ in this tournament and the Asia Cup too. But hardly any mention from Shastri or any other commmentators.

Strange mentality. They will only enjoy and promote the pace of foreigners. 

Edited by express bowling
12 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/news.abplive.com/photo-gallery/sports/cricket-bhuvneshwar-kumar-return-india-team-for-india-vs-australia-t20-series-1641115/amp

Shri Bhuvaneshwar Kumar to lead the "pace" attack vs Australia in T20's.

All the Mayank's, Tyagi's & Umran's will be shown middle finger.

:finger:

Iss bosedk ko khila karke karenge kya?

He has no future,if freeloading had a name

Same names Avesh, Arshdeep,why not Harshal then?

Sab vahi honge dekh lena

T20s ko pata nahi kya samajhte hain

12 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Iss bosedk ko khila karke karenge kya?

He has no future,if freeloading had a name

Same names Avesh, Arshdeep,why not Harshal then?

Sab vahi honge dekh lena

T20s ko pata nahi kya samajhte hain

Agar galti se WC jeet gaye, fir dekhna.

BCCI is anyway don't care about Indian Cricket, as long as IPL is there everything else is secondary for them.

As a result we're seeing spineless puppets as selectors who choose the same washed out names from the domestics on the excuse of experience.

3 hours ago, singhvivek141 said:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/news.abplive.com/photo-gallery/sports/cricket-bhuvneshwar-kumar-return-india-team-for-india-vs-australia-t20-series-1641115/amp

Shri Bhuvaneshwar Kumar to lead the "pace" attack vs Australia in T20's.

All the Mayank's, Tyagi's & Umran's will be shown middle finger.

:finger:

What next? Harshal "24 slower balls" Patel making a comeback too. 

Will start following cricket even less if this happens. Feel stupid discussing about new promising prospects while selectors are bringing back same old "safe" bowler.