Desi Cartman Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 He made it to the Jon Stewart's tonight show and John Oliver's HBO show :) General public in the US cares about it as much as Indians care when Sri Lankan president visits. Having said that, he was taken seriously by people who mattered and IMO he got a lot done on this trip. Indians usually dont accept the fact that we are not a superpower or even close to it and we want the world to tell us that we are so it boosts our egos.
someone Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Ignorance? Certainly Modi fanatics and the hype followers gathered at Madison Square Garden. 18,000 isn't really that big a crowd for an event so well hyped considering the entry was free as long as one registered beforehand. I am personally a Modi supporter but its important to keep the reality in check. Modi is NO ONE internationally but the Indian media made a HUGE deal about it. I can bet you that close to a 100% of Americans have no idea about this visit. There were some 183 UN leaders in NY for the UN assembly. Think about Amitabh Bachchan, SRK or even Sachin, these are big and global superstars, their events are fully booked when they travel to USA and have a avid following. And yet very little Americans, would know them. We had a journalist who did a special video with strangers if they recognize Modi, was very stupid. With Modi as PM, now we have PM whose words are taken seriously and many want to hear him. A PM after a long time, who has created a worth to the leader postion and country.
The-Ramones Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 He made it to the Jon Stewart's tonight show and John Oliver's HBO show :) General public in the US cares about it as much as Indians care when Sri Lankan president visits. Having said that, he was taken seriously by people who mattered and IMO he got a lot done on this trip. Indians usually dont accept the fact that we are not a superpower or even close to it and we want the world to tell us that we are so it boosts our egos. Which Indians ? If you are an NRI, must be fellow NRIs. Indian in India have no illusions. We see it in our daily lives.
Guest PrancingHorse Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 http://daily.bhaskar.com/news/NAT-TOP-pm-narendra-modis-5-mistakes-in-un-speech-for-which-he-is-being-criticised-4759531-PHO.html 5 mistakes in UN speech for which NaMo is being criticized.
gattaca Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 http://daily.bhaskar.com/news/NAT-TOP-pm-narendra-modis-5-mistakes-in-un-speech-for-which-he-is-being-criticised-4759531-PHO.html 5 mistakes in UN speech for which NaMo is being criticized. Lol
Jersey #10 Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Think about Amitabh Bachchan, SRK or even Sachin, these are big and global superstars, their events are fully booked when they travel to USA and have a avid following. And yet very little Americans, would know them. We had a journalist who did a special video with strangers if they recognize Modi, was very stupid. With Modi as PM, now we have PM whose words are taken seriously and many want to hear him. A PM after a long time, who has created a worth to the leader postion and country. That is certainly not true. His words maybe taken seriously in India. He in fact has a bad image elsewhere. People may have taken Manmohan Singh more seriously because it's better to have no image than a negative one. In fact Manmohan Singh came off as a sincere leader to rest of the world. Modi is still considered a religious extremist and his party a Hindu association . He talks a lot but his identity is defined by 2002 riots. I know he has great potential but are we just going to make assumptions or wait till he in fact makes India a great county? O Ya and Modi is not a celebrity like rest you mentioned. He should be known for more than entertainment. Its a completely different profession and responsibility.
velu Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 one thing everyone can agree here.. modi's PR team is damn good.. he overshadowed barack obama too :hehe:
someone Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 That is certainly not true. His words maybe taken seriously in India. He in fact has a bad image elsewhere. People may have taken Manmohan Singh more seriously because it's better to have no image than a negative one. In fact Manmohan Singh came off as a sincere leader to rest of the world. Modi is still considered a religious extremist and his party a Hindu association . He talks a lot but his identity is defined by 2002 riots. I know he has great potential but are we just going to make assumptions or wait till he in fact makes India a great county? O Ya and Modi is not a celebrity like rest you mentioned. He should be known for more than entertainment. Its a completely different profession and responsibility. I don't agree. Firstly, MMS may come as a sincere person but leader, absolutely no. This is where Modi comes, a leader who is a great communicator, and precise in his thinking. Already, that has created a belief of a leader who works hard and has a clear vision. Investors showing greater confidence in this new government. The CEOs breakfast USA meeting is another such example of it. Business are showing a keen interest in meeting with Modi. That's not hype but a success of the USA tour. Imo, primary objective of these foreign tours in his 1st year is all in changing the perception and improving our nation image. He did that also in Nepal with showing genuine friendship for our neighbor which had often been neglected by our previous governments. And many local Americans won't know Modi, much like local Indians won't know Obama. That doesn't mean that these leaders are weak world leaders. Riots issue is only a media issue, it doesn't hold any sort of importance or implications in our discussion in world platform and leaders.
diga Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 Do you work for the government ? nope.. I am just doing the opposite of what S!=G /1983 do
Ram Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 What is the height of irony? When a bunch of Non-Resident Indians yell 'Bharat Mata ki Jai' in Madison Sq Garden in NYC.
Jersey #10 Posted October 1, 2014 Posted October 1, 2014 I don't agree. Firstly, MMS may come as a sincere person but leader, absolutely no. This is where Modi comes, a leader who is a great communicator, and precise in his thinking. Already, that has created a belief of a leader who works hard and has a clear vision. Investors showing greater confidence in this new government. The CEOs breakfast USA meeting is another such example of it. Business are showing a keen interest in meeting with Modi. That's not hype but a success of the USA tour. Imo, primary objective of these foreign tours in his 1st year is all in changing the perception and improving our nation image. He did that also in Nepal with showing genuine friendship for our neighbor which had often been neglected by our previous governments. And many local Americans won't know Modi, much like local Indians won't know Obama. That doesn't mean that these leaders are weak world leaders. Riots issue is only a media issue, it doesn't hold any sort of importance or implications in our discussion in world platform and leaders. I don't disagree with any of this. Modi does fit everything you said and hopefully more. The context of my post was to mostly show that Indian media had a premature ejaculation.and the fanatics need to slow down a bit.
coffee_rules Posted October 2, 2014 Posted October 2, 2014 What is the height of irony? When a bunch of Non-Resident Indians yell 'Bharat Mata ki Jai' in Madison Sq Garden in NYC. As if you have not rooted for India's victory in WC2011 sitting in USA.
gattaca Posted October 2, 2014 Posted October 2, 2014 nope.. I am just doing the opposite of what S!=G /1983 do Saw the india placard on the desk thought may be you were working for the government.
Raghav_12 Posted October 2, 2014 Posted October 2, 2014 hkYzuHMcP64 Look at the reactions of bhakts in comment section. No wonder they assaulted Rajdeep sardesai for asking some uncomfortable questiosns.
The-Ramones Posted October 2, 2014 Posted October 2, 2014 hkYzuHMcP64 Look at the reactions of bhakts in comment section. No wonder they assaulted Rajdeep sardesai for asking some uncomfortable questiosns. Arrey. Aapne bhaang mara hai Kya gandhi Jayanti key shub avsar par. After the video also you are going on about this.
FischerTal Posted October 2, 2014 Posted October 2, 2014 Rajdeep assaulted the guy first yet the spin doctors keep telling story other way around. Thank god for the guy who shot the video footage so their lies can be exposed. These people will stoop to any level for Modi bashing
Raghav_12 Posted October 2, 2014 Posted October 2, 2014 Arrey. Aapne bhaang mara hai Kya gandhi Jayanti key shub avsar par. After the video also you are going on about this. another bhakt reaction. Didn't you see videos where bhakts were hounding him, harassing him like pack of stray animals while he was handling all that with smile? And the incident which happened on 7th Avenue which is not available on video but was reported by Dainik Bhaskar reporter where Rajdeep Sardesai had to come out under human shield? Picking a random video where RS lost composure for some time under continuous, incessant, prolonged harassment, abuse and heckling won't change the fact how unruly and uncivilized bhakts were.