I don't know if you meant that as a snide remark towards me? I'm a non Marathi myself. And historically speaking, everyone who came to Mumbai apart from the Kolis ( that is the local fisher folk) are non locals in the strictest terms, as they too have been migrants from 400 odd years ago. And most of the Gujaratis and Parsi in Mumbai today have been here for 4 or 5 generations. Anyway, my point was not about local or not locals, which you seem to have misunderstood. It was that the day time population of Mumbai is much higher than the number you've posted. Meaning that there is more strain on the resources and infrastructure of the city. No other city has such a large discrepancy during the day time and night time population.
In terms of percentage of population ( resident vs floating ), Tirupati will beat every city. And no, I was not making any comment on locals vs non-locals. I am myself a non-local wherever I go as I left my hometown for good in childhood.
I once took local train from Dadar station during evening time' date=' have to say it must have required some special kind of talent to travel by local during peak hours...[/quote'] Man u bring back memories. Once i got pushed out of the train by 2 fat Gujarati ladies onto the platform even thought it wasn't my stop:haha: After i went abroad and came back i forgot all my train experiences and happily looked out the train window to see the landscape and i saw all the naked butts/bottoms with the lochas :haha:
Man u bring back memories. Once i got pushed out of the train by 2 fat Gujarati ladies onto the platform even thought it wasn't my stop:haha: After i went abroad and came back i forgot all my train experiences and happily looked out the train window to see the landscape and i saw all the naked butts/bottoms with the lochas :haha:
Mmts trains to lingampally etc are a piece of cake in comparison.
People get pushed to death on Mumbai trains. No one cares about people dying even next them in that city.
I once took local train from Dadar station during evening time' date=' have to say it must have required some special kind of talent to travel by local during peak hours...[/quote'] Years back i was travelling to Delhi from Chennai. Bunch of Thugs got aboard at Nagpur and pushed a old couple from their seats and took their seats. Old couple had come by standing until they reached the destination. There was distinct lack of culture and lot of rudeness attached to their behavior.

Here goes my list. Have stayed in all places except Kolkatta. Bangalore, Pune, Delhi ( NCR), Mumbai, Hyderabad, Kolkatta, Ahmedabad, Chennai pasand apni apni. Although I put Bangalore above Pune, I would personally prefer to stay in Pune anytime.

All Indian cities are big sh!tholes. Arguing over which is the best city among them is like a bunch of retards arguing which one of them is more intelligent.
even amongst them one will be most intelligent :hysterical:
Gujratis, Parsis and other non-marathi, non-locals who actually developed Mumbai into an economic hub. Point is to celebrate the diversity of India where non-locals step in when the locals are clueless or do not know how to manage and develop a city. United we stand as a Nation.
Huhhhh?!?!?! Lame and inflammatory argument.
Years back i was travelling to Delhi from Chennai. Bunch of Thugs got aboard at Nagpur and pushed a old couple from their seats and took their seats. Old couple had come by standing until they reached the destination. There was distinct lack of culture and lot of rudeness attached to their behavior.
unfortunately some rude and insensitive people are everywhere n people get confronted with them from time to time. few days back I had to bear a rude phone call from Mumbai(i had some shares and hadnt received dividend money into my a/c) and had me ending up replying rudely and sending following email to the company - "Dear Mr. A, Mr. B and Mr. C, I received a call from Mr. X from Ycompany regarding the dividend today, after 17 days of my query. I am shocked at the rude tone in which he talked. I was talking as softly as one can but the replies were filled with anger and shouting which put me off . You may check it if you play the voice-recording of the calls made. It was made from 022-XXXXXXX from your Mumbai office. It was a small matter of only 2000/- that has become secondary/irrelevant after having to bear such rude phone calls. I request you to pls look into the matter and take appropriate action. Otherwise this experience is only going to be repeated with other investors of your company. Regards" :giggle: Mr. A called back(also frm mumbai), tried to resolve grievance, talking in a nice way that we are all used to.
Na.. for me that was new.. I had visited all south india.. did not face such cold hearted behavior. I asked my southie friend who settled in Delhi about it. He said it is fairly common here. They literally bullied everyone in the compartment for no reason. I have come across lot of rude people down in Delhi. Only good thing about Delhi.. It is a well designed city.. And another thing.. got beautiful girls.. :winky:
you were talking abt Nagpur?:dontknow: Pushing people off their seats in trains is nowhere common(in delhi or nagpur) I am 100% sure. Delhi gets unwarranted condemnation sometimes. There are as many rude people elsewhere too including South India of course (I have lived there for 5 years). Many times, the language also contributes. Check out this Haryanvi Joke - http://picosong.com/4jgm This is their natural language, not meant to be rude or anything. On a different note, Hyderabadi auto-wallas always press horns whenever they see any woman(good looking or not so much) walking on the side of the road even if on the opposite side of the road, I wonder why:giggle:. Its like their hands automatically reach towards the horn as involuntary motion on seeing women (n then they check her out if there is time).. horn._vintage-style-taxi-horn-bhopu-bugle-cheering-horn-musical.jpg
Population of urban agglomerations in India ( 2011 census ) 1) Mumbai - 18.41 million 2) Delhi - 16.31 million 3) Kolkata - 14.11 million 4) Chennai - 8.69 million 5) Bangalore - 8.49 million 6) Hyderabad - 7.74 million 7) Ahmedabad - 6.35 million 8) Pune - 5.04 million . . . 16) Coimbatore - 2.15 million . . . . . . . . 52) Chandigarh - 1.05 million link IMO, the top 3 should be one group > 1 crore, next 5 should be one group - 50 lakh to 1 crore and others as one group. Not sure how Chandigarh with 1 million population can be compared to say Mumbai with 18 million population. I think it is not fair.
There is a catch in this. In case of Delhi Bombay and Madras the actual size of metro area is smaller than the actual size. In case of Bangalore and Hyd some rural districts have also been considered part of metro area. In terms of cities only Delhi and Bombay are more populous than bangalore. Madras and Calcutta are much smaller city surrounded by much bigger metro area. In fact there is some discussion going on in Chennai to convert parts of kanchi dist into a sister city. Ncr and Bombay are 22 million + and Chennai is 12 mil + so it's worse than it looks in Wikipedia. I think this will never stop till all of them become megapolises with derelict infra.