Desi Cartman Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 Either dont take a stand about irrelevant things like connecting sports to politics or national security or if you take a stand then dont take a U turn. I have a feeling that this news has been deliberately leaked to sense the reaction.
Lannister Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 Is he out of his mind? If the series is allowed to happen all fans should boycott it. Have some self respect, modi. Who the **** cares about improving relationships with Pakistan. The time for it has long gone.
kubrickian Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 No point in having any diplomatic relations with a country which breeds terrorists and has no intention of curbing terror which is aimed at India and which is allowing terrorists to roam freely. Not just cricket, we should stop all diplomatic relations with Pakistan. But seeing as how the govt. is allowing Pak ex-cricketers, singers to come to India and work here and playing other sports and doing trade, just stopping cricket ties will mean nothing and exist just as an excuse from government they are doing something like the previous government. If you are going to have diplomatic ties, then playing cricket wouldnt make any difference. If you want to stop cricket, cut off all other diplomatic ties as well. That's my stand.
Raghav_12 Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 I totally agree with Narendra Modi the prime minister on his stance. But I know in all candidness that if a Manmohan had taken this decision, Narendra Modi the politician would have pronounced him a Pakistani Agent. That's why I disgust this guy even though I openly laud him for some of his decisions.
jalebi_bhai Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 I dont know, it sets a precedent. I am not a hardliner against it. But pakistan will periodically keep attacking key targets in India. Before Mumbai you had the parliamentary attacks in 2004. 1947/1948 first war 1965 second wat 1971 third war If you look at major events, 90s early its was militancy in the valley then it was cooling down and then 1999 kargil 2004 the parliamentary attack 2008 mumbai ????? ?????? its been periodic. While cricket may not the the significant factor in how people vote. The actions of allying with the PDP in JnK etc along with all this paint a picture which is not good for core BJP supporters. They might just not turnout for the polls. You know what I think of the BJP in J&K. No compromise with regards to terrorists. Mufti is a sly SOB. He will carry on playing his double game. If we can't get Pakistan to hand over terrorists to be tried in Indian courts, then no need to play them in bi-laterals. Let them try to arrange a series with someone else. 2016 and 2017 are going to be crucial in terms of policy making. If BJP mess up, which they are more than capable of, Modi can prepare himself to be leader of opposition.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 How many terror attacks since we scaled back ties with Pakistan in 2008?
Malcolm Merlyn Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 ^ In Pakistan? Or In India? India ofcourse. Today on TV a certain journalist was asking,that why should we play cricket with Pakistan?What is that we can gain?We have everything to lose nothing to gain by normalising relations with Pakistan.
Guldozer Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 How many terror attacks since we scaled back ties with Pakistan in 2008? So terrorist attacks in India occur because of India playing a cricket game with Pakistan? Lol.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 So terrorist attacks in India occur because of India playing a cricket game with Pakistan? Lol. Staying away from Pakistan helps.
Guldozer Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 Staying away from Pakistan helps. Lol you're so clever please teach me your ways.
jalebi_bhai Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 India ofcourse. Today on TV a certain journalist was asking,that why should we play cricket with Pakistan?What is that we can gain?We have everything to lose nothing to gain by normalising relations with Pakistan in its current form. I've just added the bold. Unless the civilians of Pakistan wake up and try to restore validity to their Parliamentary bodies, I expect Pakistan to descend into civil war within the next decade. Only Pakistanis can save their country, no one else. Undoing 4 decades of active radicalization is not easy, but it can be done. It will, however, require a complete revisionism of the way they look at their country's historic narrative. I believe historic revisionism is the most important step towards the revitalization of Pakistan. This is where the Pakistani civilians can start. You can see the problem our very own country faces because of the hijacking of history by vested interests (though that is rapidly changing thanks to the internet and social media). As far as what we can gain, normalizing the security situation in the sub-continent will benefit everyone, except Western governments. If there are two things that businessmen love as much as making profits, they are stable and secure environments (both economy and security wise) which allow them to earn profits. If Pakistan gets their act together, the entire sub-continent will benefit; but if they continue to consider us as an enemy nation (words of their Defence Minister) and carry on sponsoring terror on Indian soil, then they will leave us with very little choice. Sorry for bringing politics into the equation, but it can't be helped with the way things currently are. There is a big difference between having an Ali Zafar or Wasim Akram work in India and organizing a cricket series with the PCB, a Pak govt. run entity, and sharing revenue with them. I hope I don't have to spell why it is so. So unless the Pakistani govt. is willing to co-operate with us and help combat terror, all these dosti-katti series can go out of the window. If the govt. agrees to play them without some quid-pro-quo, Modi can prepare himself to be leader of opposition 2019 onwards (this won't be the deciding factor, just another nail in the coffin). The public won't care as long as they are entertained, but when there is another inevitable attempt at spreading terror by Pakistan, then everyone will be up in arms and there will be mass outrage.
jalebi_bhai Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 So terrorist attacks in India occur because of India playing a cricket game with Pakistan? Lol. Not necessarily. But there is every possibility that the revenue PCB earns from the matches could be used by the Pak govt., which runs the PCB, to finance terror. It is a possibility. We Indians don't want to take that chance, at least us civilian folk.
Guldozer Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 Not necessarily. But there is every possibility that the revenue PCB earns from the matches could be used by the Pak govt.' date=' which runs the PCB, to finance terror. It is a possibility. We Indians don't want to take that chance, at least us civilian folk.[/quote'] The Pakistan government takes money from the PCB? You do realise that Pakistan is not a village but infact a pretty decent sized country. We have better things to do than worrying about India, let alone spending money from a cricket board to finance terror. :facepalm:
Malcolm Merlyn Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 The Pakistan government takes money from the PCB? You do realise that Pakistan is not a village but infact a pretty decent sized country. We have better things to do than worrying about India' date=' let alone spending money from a cricket board to finance terror. :facepalm:[/quote'] How about we simply dont want much relations with Pakistan except the minimum diplomatic one.We cannot be compelled to play cricket with Pakistan and help PCB.Its our choice what we do.
Ironhide Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 The money from the India-Pak tour will be swallowed by the corrupt PCB administrators to their Saudi, Dubai bank accounts. I doubt any of them are religious or patriotic enough to donate that money to LeT, JuD etc.. Heck, they don't spend any money on domestic structure and their domestic player pay is similar to a majdoor/day labourer and their on-going T20 comp looks like 1990 broadcasting quality.
jalebi_bhai Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 The Pakistan government takes money from the PCB? Your do realise that Pakistan is not a village but infact a pretty decent sized country. We have better things to do than worrying about India' date=' let alone spending money from a cricket board to finance terror. :facepalm:[/quote'] Your country might not be a village, but if the below is your country's official stand, why should we trust your govt.? cuqLzMW-Bi0 "Humari jo security paradigm hai, woh India-centric hai" These are the words of your defence minister. I agree, you'll have better things to do, but why aren't you pursuing them then? Why is your security model India-centric?
jalebi_bhai Posted May 13, 2015 Posted May 13, 2015 The money from the India-Pak tour will be swallowed by the corrupt PCB administrators to their Saudi' date= Dubai bank accounts. I doubt any of them are religious or patriotic enough to donate that money to LeT, JuD etc.. Heck, they don't spend any money on domestic structure and their domestic player pay is similar to a majdoor/day labourer and their on-going T20 comp looks like 1990 broadcasting quality. Can't take any risks.