We are losing this test match

The 4th Test that we drew (at Sydney) had Ashwin, but we nearly lost that match. BK dug in real deep and played very well. Even on the Eng tour, his form (with bat and ball) dipped in the later stages but his batting was more solid than Ashwin's. I believe that Ashwin is the more complete player as his stroke making is excellent, and he has the dash of a genuine batsman. But, I'd rater BK a bit higher in the toughness stakes. As for Saha, he has not fulfilled his promise yet with either bat or keeping; but, one must of course remember that he hasn't played Tests over an extended period (5 tests in 5 yrs) - given enough time, I think he will adjust well. He won't avg in high 30s like Dhobi but an avg in the low-mid 30s is quite feasible.
In the other thread, you said Ashwin's batting is declining. Its not. Its just that he has the ups and downs phases which may be due to lack of practice or seriousness. For example - After averaging 50+ against Swann and Panesar in rank turners, Ashwin struggled to put bat on ball against Lyon (who is no match for Swann). But nothing was at stake during Aus series when he batted. Then worked on his game and scored a 100 against Shane Shillingford who was chucking and reduced us to 160-6. The same Ashwin saved the 3rd test in Aus didn't he (along with Dhoni). He made 1 small mistake (Watson dropped his catch) but was solid otherwise. I am not confident about Ashwin's batting (dunno which version will turn up but the good version usually turns up in clutch situations). But its not that his batting is declining but he is not applying properly. Its a cycle with him. Look at the breakup of scores against Aus in Aus recently and its not really bad even though the average may not indicate it.
Yeah with MS Dhoni at the helm' date=' I would have been more confident with his penchant of winning test matches[/quote'] Didn't win that may in tests, esp abroad.
Vijy you turned out to be right. In fact, Indian team did better than what you said. Won't even win it unless God does something.
We didn't need God's intervention. Not choosing Bhajji and Maggi would have been sufficient to win; that and improving the stamina and fitness of Ashwin and Mishra, who looked jaded at the end of their spells - lost their zip and revs.
MS Dhoni ka effect aaj bhi team par pad raha hai.
Nahi ji apni team Hi khaddi hai. How difficult is that to understand? I am not defending MSD but this team sang so many folklores on aggressive cricket but when it mattered they had there tail between their legs. It's not kohli MSD or anyone. It's the players. Your bowlrs go at 5 rpo in a test match! Your batsmen are found wanting as soon as the ball deviates more than an inch. MSD effect and all are lame excuses. We are a poor cricket team and its a fact.